Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Excellent location - 3 minutes from the Duomo!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities need upgrading - a little money needs to be spent on the place!!
Location: See above
Brilliant location - so central! 3 minutes from Duomo/7 minutes from Ponte Vecchio!! The facilities in the hotel could do with some upgrading - very shabby & tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West London

Amazing location, apartments very near hotel itsel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Due to a mixup I got to see two amazing apartments a couple of streets from the hotel itself & to stay in one of these. It was huge & with a view!
Cons: The Continental breakfast is very small & basic, with no choice. But what do you expect for this star rating? An OK start to the day; no more, no less
Location: You're absolutely central, walking distance from everything. Even Museo Stibbert & San Miniato al Monte - two must-visits - are not all that far away
A friendly and amazingly well-placed hotel just round the corner from arguably Florence's main attraction/most famous sight: the cathedral. And when you go up to the terrace on the hotel's top floor, you surely have one of the best views of the Duomo and Campanile in town. I can't comment on the rooms, as I ended up in an apartment two streets away and only came to the hotel for breakfast each day - and to check into social media/emails using the free Wi-Fi! The apartment was stunning. Its own view of the Duomo - especially during a deafening early morning storm when I watched it repeatedly struck by lightning(!) - will stay with me forever. Being right in the centre of a bustling city with a near round-the-clock culture, church bells and rebuilding/conservation work ongoing, this was not a peaceful location - so earplugs are essential if you are used to quiet nights. But the location is what makes the Medici so special; I cannot fault the hotel for its rating and price band.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Customer service
Location: It is near all major sites and shopping. In walking distance to the main train station.
Hotel staff were not helpful. They made no attempt to help me with my luggage. Room was so noisy, from both outside and inside, that I had difficulty sleeping. Not a memorable experience to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Outstanding location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The roof top terrace was definitely the best thing about this hotel and the great location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: You can oractically touch the duomo from there. Plenty of shopping, Uffizi & Accademia galleries both within easy walking distance
This hotel was in a fantastic location, so close to everything. And the roof terrace makes this place special - go there with a relaxing glass of wine and enjoy the best view of the duomo. Just beautiful. In the afternoons, it was empty & so peaceful. Breakfast is ok, can't rave about the cappuccino out of a machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great hotel near the Dome!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Great location from the train station and central to the Dome. Friendly and knowledgeable staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florencce

Great value and location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The staff and the character of the hotel.
Cons: Some variation in breakfast
Location: Very close to Duomo, but everything is in easy walking distance in any case in,Florence
Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was mediocre and the same every day, but still good for the price and in a pleasant first floor dining area. Hotel is in central location a couple of streets away from the Duomo, however still seemed relatively quiet and peaceful inside. We were given one of the apartments close by, which turned out to have the best combination of old-fashioned furniture in the living and bedroom areas with a clean and modern bathroom. Both the hotel and apartments had great character and what I guess you might expect/hope for in somewhere like Florence. Maid service was also very good and regular. I suppose some people may think there were not many facilities, but who cares when you're out all day anyway?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Florence Hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very convenient location in the middle of everything! Older building but modern facilities. Walking distance to the Duomo in Florence! Hard to find if driving; roads are narrow and crowded! It is better to take a taxi to get there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

good location. terrible shower

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Close to everything, literally a minutes walk to the cathedral and all the designer shops. Great view from roof and luckily out of our room window. Some staff lovely some rude. Shower was literally a drip. Wouldn't really recommend but if you find it cheap enough like we two poor students did and you aren't expecting much then it's alright probably would find somewhere else next time though
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Okay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great location. Not bad for the price however air con didn't work well and walls were thin and linens were old and scratchy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

excellent location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Cons: Breakfasts, see above. Perhaps ttea/coffee making facilities in rooms
Location: A few meters from the Florence Duomo. Florence is very walkable and the hotel is excellently placed for the sights.
we arrived at the hotel, few thanks to Ryanair, who managed to take off an hour late, to get the wonderful news that we had been given a room overlooking the Duomo in Florence. The welcome was very good, the room for the three of us was fine - reasonable size (no TV if that worries you and no tea/coffee making facilities, but comfortable beds, a good balcony and a clean bathroom (although the shower drainage could have been better!). Unfrotunately, the breakfasts were rather poor - bread rolls only, a few biscuits and packets of butter and jam and juice from a machine which, if you were at the later end of breakfast, was so weak as to be almost water. However, coffee, again from the machine, was good and the waitress, although harried, was very polite and helpful. All in all a good stay and thanks Expedia. (Ryanair also an hour late with the flight home! )