Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire, England

Nice family run hotel, very close to train station

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Small family run, close to all amenity s
Cons: A lift
Location: Very central, loads to see and do all within walking distance
Close to everything, very central. Only problem was you had to climb three floors of stairs to get to it. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very good. We would stay again, but not for anyone with mobility problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by B. Daley from California

The Real Deal

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small no frills hotel close to to train station. Owner is warm and enthusiastic. He helped us with reservations multiple times. After 5 days he was really sorry to see us go. Hotel is up 3 flights of stairs, which is consistent with rates. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and killer view of the Duoma. This was our largest room in Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patty from Minneapolis, Minn, USA

Return After 25 Years

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Merlini had everything I needed. The owners made my early morning departure easy. They humored me when I spoke Italian. The breakfast room is a treasure. Twenty-five years ago I stayed there in my pension days. The addition of bathrooms in the room were welcome to my middle age self. The rooms were recently updated and attractive. It was wonderful to fins something affordable in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs! I can still do it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lots of stairs if travelling alone

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: i had help with my bags leaving
Cons: as a solo traveller, it would be good to get help with the bags before the 4 flights of stairs
Location: ok, but no lift so never again
I was led to believe that there would be help with luggage but no response to the bell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jonathan

Excellent place to stay

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Family run and lived-in place, always very helpful. Room spacious and comfortable. Third floor with no lift was a bit of an effort with pushchair and bags.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

The Merlini Hotel very central to all the must see

Posted Jul 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
We visited Florence for 3 nights in July 2011& stayed at the Merlini. After we got over the initial shock of having to climb 88 steps to our hotel we were very happy with our accommodation This hotel is family operated.They are very friendly & helpfull.The place is exceptionally clean.Air conditioning very good.Shower area a bit tight but adequate.When asked the owner recommended excellent local restaurants,very reasonably priced.Owner speaks good english& very willing to carry luggage & down stairs.Amazing that it is only a 1star hotel. Will return there & would recommend it .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oak Park, CA

Great value, close to train, family owned with TLC.

Posted Jul 12, 2011
If you are looking for a convenient location near the train station and basic accommodations with a great cappuccino and breakfast, then this is the place for you! The room was a good size with air conditioning and a beautiful breakfast room down the hall. Rosario, the owner was very friendly and helpful. We were only in the room to sleep, so we were happy to save on hotel cost and spend the money on my new leather purse and some great dinners (check out Pepo's for dinner and get the steak Florentine and Gusto Pizza-supposed to be the best pizza, didn't get to try because it is closed Mondays.) As a note, there is no elevator and many steps to the hotel. Rosario will help take up your luggage, but this may be a consideration for anyone with difficulty walking up stairs. We took a tour of Tuscany with Walk About Tours which included Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa and a stop for lunch at an organic farm/vineyard. It was a great way to see a lot in 12 hours, really affordable, beautiful views of Tuscan countryside like out a movie, and with a wonderful guide, Agata, and separate guide in Siena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Merlini - more than a 1 star

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
Just got back from a lovely stay in Florence at the Merlini. Really close to the train station and only a short walk to the Duomo. Its down a quiet pedestrian street so an excellent location. The room was clean and the B&B overall was really well kept and decorated nicely. Everyone was really friendly and helpful to us and I would definately recommend this hotel to others. It certainly seemed more than a 1 star to us and we were pleasantly surprised when we got there. All the good reviews on here are true!