Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashjuk from Surrey UK

Ideal central location

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel that is in a good location for exploring all the sights of Florence then you can't go far wrong with the Olimpia. There are a few things that one should bear in mind though. Firstly the hotel is actually located on the 4th floor of the building which is not apparent on first view. This is not a problem as there is a lift albeit a small one with manual doors. The only drawback with this is if someone forgets to close the doors after leaving the lift, a walk down the stairs is then required. Secondly, whilst there is an on-suite bathroom it is actually a wet room. This means that having showered the whole floor is wet and a little uncomfortable. Personally I did not find either of these a major problem and was very happy with my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent position in centre of Florence

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast.
Cons: Strange shower facilities.
Pleasantly surprised overall, especially as reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim from Salt Lake City, UT

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location right on the square. Very helpful staff and nice rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, Great hotel!

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
What can be said, the price was great and the location was perfect. You couldn't ask for an easier place to be in one of the best cities in Europe. Right in Piazza Republica and very clearly marked so you can't get lost. The room was spacious and we had a small pseudo-balcony thing that you could stand on to look out at the piazza and Duomo. My only complaints are that the breakfast was very subpar, the wifi is not free and doesn't reach the rooms, and the staff doesn't help with bookings or anything like that at all. I speak a bit of italian and french so I was very able to communicate, but if you don't it could be a challenge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jesus from Chandler, AZ

Great location. Hotel Ok.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Great location (warning: on New Year's eve thousands of people will be partying in Piazza de la Republica all night.....).
Cons: Improve rooms. One of the staff guys not so friendly but ok...
Location: Everything to do in Florence is within minutes.
Loved our visit to Florence and this hotel is in the middle of the action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel , close to all museums and duomo

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: it provides breakfast and extended stay (a couple of hours more to relax if you needed) at no charge
Cons: The lobby personal should be a little more quiet during night time , keep it down with their conversation as my room was located closer to the desk
Location: location is great , closer to Duomo and Baptistery , Michelangelo's museum and good food ( delicious pasta)
Firenze is a breathtaking Italian city. It is very beautiful with such ancient history. The downtown is so amazing with such art and all the places such are Michelangelo's art work is a must to be seen. My family had a wonderful time in Firenze. It is full of tourists expecially on the New Years Eve with beautiful concert and people coming from all over the world. It is also famous for the art but also for shopping such are leather purses and bags with great quality and good price. I would love to go back to the city of art and fashion another time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Older Facility that is clean but spartan

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very accomodating and helpful. Most of the guests were younger. Centrally located to everything in Florence - that is the main appeal. This is an old hotel in central Florence that has not been upgraded in a long time. Clean and fairly comfortable and very convenient to walking. Nothing wrong with the hotel, its just older and spartan. If value and convenience is your goal - this is it. If you like more in the way of creature comforts, maybe not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sakshi from Mumbai

Fantastic Location

Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location...you go in any direction once you get down from hotel and you are in the must see place of Florence!!! the staff is good, courteous and help us with the maps, where to go, what to do...great place to be...just that it needs better identification for the floor it is located on once you get into the building, but otherwise superb place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wendy from New York

Olimpia Was Fine

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place suited our purposes well - a 2 night stay in Florence - and we were happy with it. Room for 3 was quiet and reasonably comfortable. We knew from other reviews about the cozy bathroom but really it was fine. You pull the shower curtain around the shower and nothing else gets wet. Desk service was friendly and helpful; English spoken. Breakfast room was pleasant, service and food were fine. Internet available in the room for a small fee; choice of plans was offered to meet a range of needs. If you've traveled in Europe you know that elevators will be small and rooms not enormous. In short, great location, reasonable price, decent place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by aprilgibb1989 from Essex, UK

Excellent location, comfortable, and friendly

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed for three nights with my Mum on a girls sight-seeing weekend. The room was extremely comfortable, spacious, and the large doors onto the Juliette balcony let us soak up the sounds and atmosphere of the area even when we were away from it. Too noisy? Just closed the doors and it was quiet. The bathroom was basic but certainly sufficient and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The selling point of this hotel however is it's location... the Piazza della Repubblica is close to all the major sites, and hosts several restaurants ranging from the cheap and cheerful to the luxurious Savoy! We couldn't have asked for more from this hotel and I would definitely recommend it and visit again.