Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This hotel is within walking distance to everything. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. The front desk staff can communicate in English well and they are polite and helpful. If I were to return to Florence I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The hotel was a great stay. Was only about a 15 minute walk to the Duomo. Lots of great places to eat around. Lots of Gelato places which was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Stayed from 13th-17th Sept whilst visiting Florence as part of my 60th birthday celebrations. As an earlier reviewer has stated, don't be fooled by the initial impression from the reception and breakfast areas, most (?) of the rooms have been completely refurbished to a high,boutique-style,standard. Our bedroom at the front of the 4th floor even had a jacuzzi in it! Very welcome after a long day's sightseeing. Good coffee and pastries in the continental style breakfast. The Orcagna is situated in a quiet area about 20 - 25 minutes walk from the centre. There's a regular bus service into Florence if the weather is bad and a selection of shops, cafes and a couple of good restaurants nearby.The staff were always efficient, friendly,courteous and helpful. The lift is a possible downside for any guest with mobility problems as its very small and will only fit 2 people or (1 person with luggage)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location, good breakfast

Posted Aug 27, 2014
good location to visit all the attractions, helpful staff and good brekfast on offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Lovely Rooms

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Great size rooms really modern
Cons: Water pump in the hotel is a bit noisy
Location: Quite close to all the main sites
We had a 3 night stay in Florence. On arrival to the hotel the outside is in need of a face lift and the reception area. We was checked in nice and quick and taken to our room. Once we went to our floor 2nd we began to realize the hotel was in the process of a re- vamp. Once we opened the door the room was lovely and a good size as we had a quadruple room, 1 double and 2 singles. It was all very clean and really modern. Really nice bathroom with lots of soft towels. Good size TV and lots of storage space. Maria who normally works the afternoon and night was amazingly helpful with where to go and eat. Breakfast was adequate to start the day. The hotel is about 20mins walk to town or like what we did opted with taxi which is only 10 euro. Overall when we return to Florence which we will because its so beautiful and friendly we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Beautiful updated rooms. Shower is in the bedroom with only a glass wall; if you want privacy while you shower, you'll have to send others out of the room. Modern recessed lighting including mood lighting above bed headboard, but no good vanity mirror light. Mini bar, good-sized flat panel t.v., in-room safe, and deck round out the room's features. The only thing not upgraded was the desk chair which was old and rickety. No chairs on the deck. Good free wifi. Excellent breakfast. Front desk staff want you to leave your room key (tap card) with them when you go out. No front desk staff after 10 so you have to go across the street to Hotel Jane to get your card key after hours. This hotel is far away from the train station and tourist sights. Take the 14A bus from train station and 14CD bus back to train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, updated hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: A lot!
Location: Easy walk to pontevecchio and duomo and uffizi. Safe area
Great experience overall!! The hotel is not right next to the main sights, BUT its only a 20 minute walk to Duomo. That is really the only drawback to this hotel. Given the rooms, cleanliness, friendly staff, free breakfast, lower price, and overall experience, we did not find it a problem making the longer walk and thought it was a great choice. We were greeted nicely when we checked in. We were given a map with directions to all the major sites. We were told about the bus line (and if you are worried about the walk the bus was really cheap- i think 1.20 euro-and they sold tickets to you at the hotel! It also stopped right around the corner. On our last day we opted for this bus rather than walk because we had our luggage. The room has a great A/C, big new shower, comfortable bed and large flat screen tv. Honestly, we spent two weeks in italy- stayed in two other hotels- and this was probably the best deal we had. Great price for what you get! Oh and the staff helped us call a taxi one day and the breakfast was good. Tray of croissants, jellies, scrMbled eggs, pastry tray, cereal, fruit, orange juice, milk, coffee. Plenty to get you going. What can I say, my group missed it when we checked out and moved to a new city!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
My family rally enjoyed hotel Orcagna. Close to everything but nice and quiet. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The hotel staff was very friendly! The hotel is a short walk to the major attractions in Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jaime from NYC

LOVED This Hotel!

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at five different hotels in various regions of Italy during our honeymoon, and Hotel Orcagna was by far the best! The staff went out of their way to accommodate us (and even left us some chocolates and a note congratulating us on our wedding). Also, it appears that they are redoing or have redone the rooms, because we had a fully modernized room with a newly redone bathroom and shower. We also had a cute balcony overlooking some classic Florentine style properties, which made us feel like we were in our own private Tuscan villa. Florence hotels are very expensive and Hotel Orcagna had reasonable prices for a great room, in a great location, with a fabulous staff. Arrividerci, Hotel Orcagna---we will most certainly be back!