Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff :)

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Amazing and welcoming staff right from the start. The room was just what we needed in a wonderful location. I felt very comfortable and at home at Santa Croce. The staff helped us find are way around the city and even helped us book a bike tour over the phone. Great breakfast and service every morning. Overall a fantastic experience :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we're very happy you enjoyed all of our facilities and appreciated everything of your stay at Hotel Santa Croce. Thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience here. We hope you'll be back as soon as possible. Sincerely, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Plains, NY

Small rooms, big hearts

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We stayed in Hotel Santa Croce in June 2015. The rooms appeared to be small, but the kindness of Mario and Gabriele who run the hotel more than made up for it. The hotel is centrally located, very close to the Uffizi gallery, with the Duomo, Pitti Palace, Boboli Gardens and The Cathedral of Santa Croce all a short walk away. We travelled with our kids, and they got personalized toys, the hotel helped us with laundry and got us taxis at a very busy time in Florence.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Swami, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Santa Croce. We are so glad that you appreciated our services, including our warm welcome, the reservations for the most important Museums and the little presents for your nice kids. We hope to have you back here as soon as possible. Thanks to you for choosing our Hotel for the stay of your beautiful Family in Florence. Sincerely, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient hotel with lovely staff!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price, well sized room, fast wifi, tasty breakfast. Hosts were very accommodating - we would definitely recommend it!
Cons: The only drawback was the beds, which need more cushioning of some sort.
Location: The hotel is in a great location - walking to everything. Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio, Piazzale Michelangelo, Duomo, etc.
The hosts of this centrally located hotel are two brothers who are more than gracious. They welcomed us with juice and fixed our hotel reservation (we reserved the wrong type of room). They recommended good restaurants and pointed out all of the key sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you very much for sharing your lovely review. We are delighted that you liked every detail at Hotel Santa Croce. Thank you for choosing us and for appreciating our facilities and all the services we offer. We hope to see you again. Many Greetings to your nice Family, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you very much for sharing your lovely review. We are delighted that you liked every detail at Hotel Santa Croce. Thank you for choosing us and for appreciating our facilities and all the services we offer. We hope to see you again. Many Greetings to your nice Family, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value and location, budget hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Quaint, 2 star by their own rating, compact, clean, stairs to climb, helpful pleasant staff, Continental breakfast, good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, we are glad that you enjoyed everything during your stay at Hotel Santa Croce and soon we hope to have you back as a Guest. Best wishes, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Tiny but personal attention

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, good value, clean with updated bath.
Cons: Our room was very small but due to the age of the building, it cannot be helped.
Location: Walking distance to all the major attractions, shopping and restaurants. We felt very safe in the neighborhood.
We were greeted warmly at check in. Mario was awesome - he was able to help us in getting tickets to the Academia Museum and the Uffizi Gallery as we were unable to reserve them online. Gabriel stored our luggage as it was too early for check in. When we returned later, he had taken it up to our room for us (3 flights of stairs). The room itself was super tiny which we did expect but there was literally room for a bed and maybe 2 ft. to walk around it. The bed was comfortable and the AC was wonderful as it was very hot during our stay. The bathroom was clean and updated, good shower. Gabriel made us coffee in the morning and there was an adequate assortment of breakfast items. So, although the room was not spacious, the personal attentiveness of the staff more than made up for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Barb, Thank you for posting your good review about your stay at Hotel Santa Croce and for pointing out some important details. We hope to have you again as a Guest. Sincerely, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2015
The hotel was very small but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Very centrally located just five minutes walk from all the major attractions. For the price a wonderful deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: posizione, cortesia del personale
ottima posizione, personale gentilissimo, prezzi in linea con la zona. Ho avuto la sfortuna di avere la stanza al piano terra e purtroppo questo l'ho scoperto solo all'arrivo in hotel. Data la posizione centralissima dell'hotel, anche chiudendo le finestre, i rumori della strada sono stati molto forti almeno fino alle 3 di notte, per cui sonno disturbatissimo, senza contare al mattino presto i rumori della sala colazione appena fuori dalla stanza.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Gentile Ospite, La ringraziamo per aver inserito la Sua recensione e per aver apprezzato la nostra ottima posizione, la professionalità e disponibilità del nostro Staff ed il nostro rapporto qualità/prezzo. Ci spiace solo che non abbia gradito la posizione della camera ma soprattutto che non ci abbia fatto presente la cosa durante il soggiorno, avremmo cercato di risolvere qualora fosse stato possibile, come facciamo sempre con tutti i nostri Ospiti, in modo tale da farLa partire ancora più contenta. Ci teniamo a far presente che essendo in un palazzo storico del 600 nel cuore del centro storico, tutti gli spazi sono ottimizzati al meglio e la camera in cui ha soggiornato è stata ricavata nella parte bassa di esso. Molti Ospiti che ritornano spesso ci fanno esplicita richiesta di quella specifica camera proprio perché la ritengono più comoda alle loro esigenze, quindi la cosa è molto soggettiva. Comunque, per la prossima volta ci ricordi questa Sua esigenza preventivamente e saremo ben lieti di offrirLe una camera ai piani più alti. Augurandoci di riaverLa presto come nostra Ospite, Le inviamo i nostri più cari saluti, Mario, Gabriele e Staff Hotel Santa Croce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel, muy buen desayuno!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Desayuno y ubicación.
Location: Como su nombre lo indica, está a 1 cuadra de la Iglesia de Santa Croce. Igualmente queda cerca de todo también.
Muy buen trato del personal del hotel, atentos a lo que necesitábamos e indicándonos muy bien dónde ir y qué recorrer. El desayuno era muy bueno y rico. Muy buena ubicación. Lo único malo es que nos tocó la habitación en el último piso (4°) y no tiene ascensor. Igualmente, nos ayudaron a subir y bajar las valijas.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Caro Cliente, estamos muy contentos de que haya disfrutado de nuestro servicio durante su estancia en Hotel Santa Croce. En cuanto a el ascensor, nos complace que usted ha especificado que nuestro personal llevar maletas a la llegada y salida y sin costos adicionales, aunque esto no es un servicio que se ofrece en un hotel de nuestra categoría. Gracias por su preferencia, esperamos contar con usted como nuestro invitado. Los mejores deseos, Mario, Gabriele y Personal Hotel Santa Croce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

If only all hotels were like this...

Posted Apr 20, 2015
...the basics done right - great service and recommendations by the staff, clean room, great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Santa Croce and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel, and that you were pleased with everything we have to offer, from the rooms, to location, clean, service and our advices. I will you be back very soon and thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoughton, MA

The Hidden Jewel of Florence!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding, it is located within walking distance of all the major sights, and the staff is attentive and gracious.
Location: Located in a very historic section of Florence. You can walk to great shops, major sights, restaurants, and piazzas.
Recently, my husband and I went to visit our son who is spending a semester abroad studying in Florence, and we were fortunate enough to stay at a little hidden gem tucked away on a charming street just a few steps from the Piazza Santa Croce called the Hotel Santa Croce. Run by two very hip and hands-on brothers, Mario and Gabriele, along with their very hard working, charming and intuitive staff: Simona, Romana, Riccardo, and Tullio – this hotel delivers fantastic service at a great value and sets the standard for hospitality in every way. The list is lengthy, but deserves mention. There is always someone at the front desk 24/7 to attend to your every need or just to greet you cheerfully as you enter or leave. They are helpful in every possible way- whether it is to make a restaurant reservation/recommendation, give you directions, call a taxi, guide you through a bus or train route, or offer you a glass of juice as you pop in and out throughout the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Mario - Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Miss Marilyn, your review is simply AMAZING :-D Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are very happy to see that you had a very great time here and that you were pleased with everything we have to offer in our Hotel. Thanks again for choosing to stay at Hotel Santa Croce, we hope you'll be back very soon and for this lovely review. Sincerely, Mario, Gabriele and Staff Hotel Santa Croce