Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derrick from UK

A quiet no fuss hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: It is small and quiet in a convenient location.
Location: This hotel is within easy walking distance to all the major historical sites in Florence
A stay at the Bargellino is a pleasure. This small family run hotel is a comfortable walking distance from all the major historical sights in Florence as well as being near to the railway station. It is in a quiet street with little or no traffic. In fact the noisiest thing during the day is probably the pet parrot. There is a large terrace available to guests on which they can enjoy an aperitif though this would have to be their own drink as there is no bar. The owners have, however, conveniently provided cork screws. The hotel does not provide food but there is a good selection of restaurants and bars close by and they are on the edge of the tourist area so prices are low and quality high. We would certainly try to stay at the Bargellino should the opportunity arise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Vancouver Island, BC

Nice Hotel, Close to Everything

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: The rooftop terrace, proximity to everything and owners
Location: Near Central Market, Train Station, Duomo
This hotel was a perfect introduction to Italy. The owner (Pino) was great with advice to get around and always pleasant. The rooftop terrace is a fantastic way to start or end your day. No crazy luxuries but just a very welcoming place that you are happy to call home while in Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Friendly Place

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: The terrace -- made you want to return and just stay there all evening. Which we did. Also, close to train station, supermarket, laundromat.
Location: Most items of interest to tourists were in walking distance -- art museums, palaces, churches. Near train station and buses.
I chose this hotel because of mentions of its terrace in several reviews -- and it is a marvelous plus. It's a small hotel (10 rooms) run by a very friendly couple (wife raised in Boston so English is good) -- guests gathered on the terrace in the evening and visited and shared wine and snacks, got to know each other, etc. No breakfast is served but there is a supermarket about 2 or 3 blocks away where we bought pastries, fruit, and juice which we ate on the terrace. We also bought food for dinner (pizza or ham and rolls) and ate our dinners there too -- most others went out to dinner but we were too hot and tired after walking all over Florence all day. All rooms are off the second floor so lack of elevator is not a problem. Bathroom was small but there were shelves to put things on and plenty of hot water (items lacking in our much more expensive room in Venice). About 3 blocks from train station (also, airport bus). Free Wi-fi. Fairly spacious room with large closet -- shelf in closet large enough for both of our large suitcases to open on. Small refrigerator. Hair dryer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Thanks

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great v friendly owners and extremely personal service which was just what I needed when traveling alone. Perfect for my few nights in Florence. Would stay here again next time. Good location with plenty around, very near central market so could go and get fresh fruit everyday.
2 out of 5
by Jen from Seattle, WA, USA

Disappointed and Mislead

Posted Sep 6, 2012
Location: 7 min walk to train station
1st id like to start by saying this was my 1st trip to Europe, so take all comments as you will. My husband and i were traveling though Italy on our honeymoon and i would have to say this was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. I think the over all dingy and old hotel over powered whether or no this place was actually clean or no so i wont really talk about the... my husband was semi pleased with the cleanliness so i'll leave it at that. Upon booking our hotel we read that there was AC and bought and paid for a room with a private bath and terrace entrance. Upon arrival we were given the option of a terrace room or a private bath... We opted for the private bath which lead us to our second MAJOR disappointment... No AC in our room. Apparently there is AC in the upper rooms that you have to purchase the usage of at an additional price. Mind you it was 100+ degrees the entire time we were in italy. We never would have stayed in a hotel with no AC willingly on our honeymoon. I could keep making a list but i guess over all we were disappointed in the fact that we were mislead in what this hotel had to offer. The one plus side to this hotel was the terrace, It was very nice to layout after a long afternoon of sight seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, friendly people!

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful; made me feel very welcome.
Location: Great location, walking distance to train station and many of the sights in Florence.
Very friendly staff, made me feel at home. Rooftop terrace was lovely and a great way to meet other travelers. Clean and well-maintained. Easy walking distance to train station and other public transport. Very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrea

Convenient

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was literally out of the room from 8 to 11 so the room was just fine. The owners were friendly and funny and there was a nice outdoor terrace for guests. The best point of this place is that it's close enough to the station but on a street with less traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gayle from London, UK

Great hotel, great location, great price

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Location and ambiance
Cons: Noise from outside
Location: Very central
Great location, minutes from the main train station and a short walk to the city centre. The hotel manager Pino was exceptionally helpful. The hotel also has a roof top terrace with beautiful flowers - a place to relax after a hard day's walking around the city. The only less positive thing to say is that the noise from the road at the front of the hotel can be disruptive, but all in all, a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

II Bargellino

Posted Apr 13, 2012
Such a wonderful, quaint place to stay in Florence. Would definitly come back to this hotel. Carmel was wonderful to have made reservations at some of the galleries for us. Wish we had been able to stay longer. A small breakfast would have been nice, since we had trouble finding a place to eat at an early hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Venice, IT

Il Bargellino

Posted Nov 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great place with very friendly staff.