Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very small rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pleasant hotel in Florence. Satisfactory rooms but too small and dated. Bed and bedding second rate, lacking freshness and crispness of other hotels. Did not sleep soundly because bed was not comfy. Would not recommend to friends, I assume there are better hotels in Florence. Pictures of hotel look much grander than in real life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The hotel is clean and has everything you'd need. Staff was friendly and helpful, grounds were very pretty. If I had one complaint, it would only be that breakfast isn't included. We paid for it several times, but for 20 euros a person it should really be better quality. The quality of the food was okay, don't get me wrong, but it wasn't as nice as the free breakfast we got at some "lesser" hotels on this trip. But if the food is the only thing I have to complain about, it's clearly a nice hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Pleasing to the eye

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Set in a quiet location and not too far from the centre; good choice of restaurants nearby; airy and clean.
Cons: Not enough plug sockets in rooms, particularly as today's traveller will have an iPhone, iPad (times that by two for your partner) and only one socket
Location: Good location and easily accessible to major sights, trains, buses, restaurants etc
I recently stayed at the Montebello with my family during a short stay in Florence. The hotel was pleasant enough with beautiful attention to detail on the floors and walls. Staff were okay, they didn't go out of their way to welcome you or extend greetings as you entered the foyer unlike other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. I was In the deluxe rooms which were airy and boutique in style. Bathroom nothing to write home about - only a shower cubicle which was ver small in area, thus causing water to leak out. Unlike other 5 star hotels, where bathrooms are well equipped and spacious, this one did minimal - not enough towels, not enough toiletries etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not a 5 Star Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Cons: Only one electric plug in the room and no internet! Very poor house keeping.
Location: The river is just two blocks away.
I travel to Florence twice a year for work and booked the Monetebello since my husband was joining me I thought it would be nicer to stay somewhere more luxurious. The hotel is a very mixed bag, some of the staff are great but others are absolutely not. Some of the hotel rooms are renovated, most are not.The internet works on the first floor, but does not work on the upper floors at all which was a disaster for being on a work trip. The location is also a little out of center city. I booked a queen but when I checked in the room was two twin beds pushed together. The room was dark and very old feeling. The front desk argued that there was no such thing as a queen sized bed in Italy before moving us to a better room. The new room was nice however the carpet was wet, there was a single electric plug for the whole room and there was trash in the drawers in the bureau. The Montebello is a totally fine hotel and much of the staff is friendly and goes above and beyond to help. That being said, it is not a five star hotel. There are no bath products like conditioner, everything comes wrapped in plastic, the sheets were comfortable but frayed and had been repaired, the showers were really sub par and old. Having stayed in much nicer, more central hotels in Florence, this one is extremely expensive for what it is. It badly needs an upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Good location Nicely designed
Location: Within a 10 to 15 minutes walk from the very centre of Florence , lots to do
Positive overall , Good location, clean, good food, Room was smaller than expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful setting

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: on a previous stay was at a 5 star large hotel chain which was very nice, but this hotel has a more Tuscanny ambience...
Cons: buffet breakfast a bit pricey...I think that 15 Euros is a more appropriate price.
Stayed with my daughter for 4 nights...absolutely loved everything about this hotel...service was great from the reception staff to housekeeping...within walking distance of all Florence attractions...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay - we were 3 couples and all received free upgrade to junior suites which were gorgeous. Lovely garden to sit in and drink a beer / coffee. Didn't eat at hotel. Pleasant walk into historic centre - only a few mins away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in a quiet neighborhood

Posted May 28, 2014
A little bit away from city center, but still walkable. Not many restaurant or cafe options within 1-2 blocks. Rooms were reasonably sized and in good condition. The breakfast buffet was over-priced. The outside areas of this hotel were very pleasant with outside seating, fountain, and lots of well-kept greenery. Hotel staff were pleasant and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paula from New York City

a great hotel off the beaten path

Posted May 27, 2014
hotel was great. gorgeous lobby and outdoor 'garden'/lounge space you couldn't get in the center of florence. booked most basic room and got upgraded to a room with a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. housekeeping/cleanliness of hotel and room was impeccable. also not a fan of 20 Euro breakfasts in the hotel but we ate there the final day before leaving and it was great. very abundant, and includes american hot food- eggs/sausage/potatoes etc. it takes 15 minutes to walk to via tournabouni, the first street you hit considered the 'center' of florence. walk along borgo ognosenti which is one block over from the arno river and is gorgeous filled with very high end antique shops or via scala if you're headed more towards santa maria novella. don't take via palazzuolo. it's a bit shady and depressing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurel from Sydney

Beautiful hotel in lovely position

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: Not applicable, everything was supberb.
Location: Location quieter than the heart of the City which we liked. Could walk to the river, main shops and sights.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. It was not far from the river, quieter part of the City but still in walking distance. The room was extremely comfortable and had a luxury feel. Staff were friendly and helpful and food and bar was great.