Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Lovely hotel excellent for exploring Florence.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel was lovely. Small but just perfect for sightseeing. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room (deluxe) was beautiful overlooking the small garden. Breakfast was wonderful on the terrace or inside overlooking the terrace - a good selection of food. In reception there was a freezer of ice lollies for residents to help themselves - very welcome after a day in Florence in August! No complaints at all about our stay - just perfect. Only niggle was that there was no kettle in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and beautiful staff

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The staff, the breakfast, the coffee machine, the garden to relax, the cleanliness and the white fluffy towels. Also good air conditioning in rooms.
Cons: Maybe some hot food at breakfast like scrambled eggs or sausages etc
Location: The academia is right around the corner and definitely worth seeing. The centre of Florence is a 10 minute walk and all you need is there.
The hotel was very comfortable and situated in a location near to all the sights. 10 minute walk to the Duomo and 15 minute walk to the Uffizi. We had such a great stay here and miss it already. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel not just because of the nice rooms and location but because the staff made it so special. Will definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value and location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Staff, value, breakfast
Great location and close to Duomo and shopping. Great breakfast included with fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice, yogurt, croissants, etc. Professional, helpful hotel staff. Lobby has unpleasant smell of garbage from time to time, as do rooms facing inside stairwell. Hotel needs a few renovations in bathrooms and door/window locks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milton keynes UK

Wonderful stay at the Orto di medici!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Everything! (there was truly nothing not to like!)
Cons: They are doing everything right in my opinion.
Location: Centre of Florence only 10 mins walk away.
We stayed at the Orto di Medici in August, for 6 nights. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. In the first room we stayed in, the door to the balcony wouldn't lock, so the receptionist said he'd get someone to fix the lock the next morning. When it couldn't be repaired, we were offered a choice of three rooms to move to. Fantastic service! The room we spent 4 nights in was fantastic! Big, clean, modernly furnished. Loved it, and wish that we were still there! The breakfast was typically Italian, Rolls, hams, eggs,croissants, jams, yogurts, fruit juice, coffees and teas etc.You can have breakfast on the terrace, which was wonderful! It is ideally situated for everything in Florence, the Duomo was a 10 min walk aprox, and the Ponte Vecchio, which looks like a trek on the map, was a 20 minute walk. Fantastic hotel in a beautiful city, highly recommended and would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice hotel in Florence

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: large room, included breakfast, wi-fi
Cons: bathroom and bed
Location: bus stops nearby which come in handy for getting around. not too far of a walk from many popular locations.
This was the largest room we had during our whole stay in Italy but the bed was a bit firm and lacking cushion. There was plenty of space in the room though, but I wish they had used some of it for the bathroom. The bathroom was a bit tight and our shower leaked a lot. Wi-fi is included which we had no issues with and breakfast is pretty standard compared to other hotels. It's not really too close to anything but it's not too far either. There are multiple bus stops nearby so it's easy to get to the further locations if you need, like across the river or the other side of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

An oasis in Florence

Posted Aug 16, 2014
It was a beautiful location to stay in Florence. We walked everywhere (though it was a bit of a ways to walk from bus / train stations with bags). Loved the free Popsicles at the front desk and the fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast was fantastic! Beautiful gem of a hotel - I would stay again if I come back to Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good hotel - easy walk to the Duomo

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Feels Italian and spacious, clean, nice breakfast.
Cons: I think they may have problems with their sewers as we noticed a lorry there a couple of times in the daytime - with a locked downstairs loo.
Location: Great location - a quiet and attractive street, centrally located. Michaelangelo's David is less than 5 mins walk away in the Galleria d'Academia.
At first we were given a room that overlooked the internal fire escape, which was really disappointing, but as soon as I asked they moved us to a street view room, which was absolutely fine. The hotel itself is really nice - lovely breakfast room and terrace that feels a wonderful start to the day. We stayed a week and felt very happy the whole time. The night staff were very obliging in letting us in on two occasions at 3am!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Great location, quiet room

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Location: A couple of blocks from Galleria dell'Academia, close to Duomo.
We had a comfortable, quadruple room with a nice view over courtyard. Good wifi, slept well. Enjoyed the welcoming drinks in courtyard, great cappuccinos for breakfast, complimentary Popsicles in lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Ideal Florence city break hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds and good air conditioning . Best nights sleep I'd had for a while. Cleaner very thorough, but above all the location is very good.
Cons: Nothing
Location: 10m walk to Duomo and main piazzas. If you want a view of Florence climb the steps of the Campanile (bell tower) at 6 pm .
About 5 -7 minutes walk into the centre of Florence. Very comfortable and clean rooms. 10 mins walk to the Santa Maria Novella rail and bus station. The 2 rooms we had didn't have a view but there is a bar terrace for a pleasant evening drink before going out to eat. Just remember to request 2 rooms next to each other if you book on Expedia .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Islington

Well-placed, quiet, traditional hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: More variety at breakfast - esp. of the cold meats and cheeses for which Tuscany is famous
Location: See above for restaurants. Otherwise, all the main sites on this side of the Arno are near - and the so-called British Cemetery in the opposite way
The original room that we were given was small and looked onto a light-well entirely occupied by a fire-escape, from which anyone could have got into the room had we left the window open. We asked for another room, but the hotel was full. After a couple of days, however, there was a cancellation, and we were given a much nicer (but unmodernised) room at the back of the hotel, looking out onto the little garden (a tiny echo of that of Lorenzo de' Medici) and terrace (on which one could have breakfast and drinks), and onto the back of San Marco beyond, and only charged half the extra cost of it. The staff on the front desk were always very helpful, in this as in other things; the young woman serving drinks on the terrace was charming; and taxis always came within a couple of minutes. Breakfast was rather limited, and tended to be something of a scrum. There is no restaurant, but there are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance - two in the Via delle Ruote, of which we would particularly recommend the Bronzino (in the house built by his master Santi di Tito for himself). Thoroughly to be recommended.