Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brad Baker from NYC

True Florence

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Palazzo is the real thing, been updated without losing the charm and grace of a centuries old building. The Top floor is a rare a perfect setting. Breakfast is served there. It's worth getting out of bed early to enjoy coffee on the covered terrace with a view of Florence and the hills beyond "breath taking". Staying in a real Palazzo made me feel part of Florence. The painted ceilings, the wood work and moldings are kept up. AND the location on Plaze Santo Spirito with Santo Spirito church with the Giotto's ! What more could you ask for? Maybe a bell hope!! Loved our stay! THX
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lonny from Miami

Really cool place in Florence

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is on the happening Piazza Santo Spirito in the Otlrarno. It's within walking distance of most sites but in a neighborhood with real charm and somewhat less tourists. The rooms, though they could use some updating, are spacious with high frescoed ceilings. The staff is very attentive and hard working though the hotel could use a few more people. There is a nice breakfast included and the terrace overlooking the piazza is a great place to unwind after a long day touring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to main attractions

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel, lovely staff and very comfortable.
Location: Wonderful location- away from tourists and a close walk to all the main attractions.
We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. All the staff were lovely and so helpful. It's close to all the main attractions of Florence- I would highly recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy from Palo Alto

Great location, great views

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It turned out that Piazza Santo Spirito is a great location. Lively, with nice restaurants nearby, but not too busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ReddiTugo from Atlanta, GA

Simply Elegant Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: This hotel is very popular with Italians vacationing in Florence. Very private and secure. Kind and courteous staff.
Cons: Perfectly fine.
Location: Best Gellato Shop in town at base of Ponte alla Carraia (Bridge) "Gelateria la Carraia".. Highly recomment dinning at nearby Gusta Pizza & Osteria Sa
Our daughter lives in Florence and thankfully chose Palazzo Guadagni for our 5 day vacation in Florence. Located on the ancient and beautiful Plaza Santo Spirito on the quieter less touristy side of the Arno River; close to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. The Hotel was build as a Palace around the year 1500 featuring Florence's first rooftop open porch (loggia). Hardly recognizable from the street as a hotel. Use google maps street view to gain appreciation the location and recognition of hotel. There is only a bronze plaque and buzzer for entry into the carriage entrance to the elevator. Reception on top floor. Excellent, clean and well appointed rooms. Nice breakfast. Our bathroom window offered a view of the Duomo. The wrap around "pent-house" loggia porch is a most relaxing place. A great base of operations to tour northern Italy. Train station by taxi, ten minutes and 9EU. Stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Northampton, MA

The real thing

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Gracious and beautiful palazzo, generous breakfast, great location with unusual dining options, craft and art studios.
Cons: We didn't realize that parking would be impossible! The expense of a garage for the 3 nights we stayed was unexpected.
Location: Tamaro is a new bar/restaurant right below the palazzo and the cuisine is delicious, innovative and inexpensive.
This a beautiful palazzo on a lively piazza. Our large room on the first floor had vaulted ceilings painted with frescos and a small balcony, but we had to keep the door and shutters closed because of the bright lights and festivity all night below. We enjoyed spending time above on the loggia where there were views, breezes and some distance from the street life.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Light airy hotel, great for families

Posted Feb 1, 2013
The only negative for couples is that the beds are two singles pushed together. But overall the hotel was clean and the staff were brilliant. Would be a lovely place to go in summer as rooms were large and airy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CLK from East Riding of Yorkshire, UK

Hotel with character

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: Balcony
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Convenient nice quiet hotel,
Enjoyable stay Initially we were a little disappointed with our room - it was a classic smaller room in the roof although very cosy, obviously not of the standard of the ones shown in the pictures. We were happy however with the price we paid and must say it was so peacefully quiet we has the best night sleep we have had in months. The only thing waking us was the sound of the bells in the morning which we used as a prompt to get ready for breakfast. Breakfast was very good especially the fresh fruit salad, nice hot coffee and fresh pastries. Our only concern was our small bathroom which we felt would have been better with a shower in its own cubicle rather than a shower over the bath especially as there was no shower curtain and the floor got very wet. It was definitely a hotel with character and lovely to return after a days sightseeing for pre dinner drinks on the balcony. Fantastic views and we did not experience any problems with the vagrants in the square below, infact there was usually a police presence moving them on. The restaurants near the hotel are also quiet good but our favourite was Obika Mozzarrella bar/restaurant in town. We wished we had been advised by Expedia that the price they quoted us was for cash and there was a surcharge for using credit card. Would most likely stay again if we were in Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Haydn from London, UK

Wow, a truly unbeatable room

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Pros: The tastefully individually styled room.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Fairly central.
The room was amazing, and helped that we were given a free upgrade. we stayed in Madam Butterfly. Fantastic breakfast and friendly helpful staff. If you are in Lucca try and book in here.