Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jarrell from New Berlin, WI

Great location 5 minutes from train station

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Clean, updated while still having the feel of a 1700 building.
Cons: Maybe the shower could be more user friendly.
Location: Excellent, near shopping, restaurants, Duomo Cathedral, other land marks; 5 minute walk to train station and 10 minute taxi ride to airport.
Don't know why this is not rated higher, the only thing I didn't like was the shower. It was a stand-alone shower which had walls that needed to be put into position every time you needed to use it. Very small so not much room to move around. 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute taxi ride to the airport. Had an excellent centrally located location with numerous shops and restaurants. Opened our window over looking the Duomo Cathedral; very impressive. Staff was very helpful recommending restaurants as well as getting us a taxi to the airport. Breakfast was more like a brunch; very filling and satisfying. This is a very old building (from the outside) with a huge solid wooden door and a key which lets you in the main entrance then another key to let you to your wing of the hotel. Safety was no concern. It has been completely updated while having the history of a castle upon entering. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very close to Duomo!

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Location!
The hotel is very beautiful. The view from our room was to the Duomo. The rooms are large, comfortable bed. The breakfast serve a good coffee, it includes bread, ham, croissants and juice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole from New Jersey

Cant beat the location- amazing view!!

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay! The office hours were a little goofy but it really wasn't a big deal, they have them posted everywhere and let us know when we reserved and when we checked in. We got the keys to the building and the room so we could come and go as needed. They told us if we needed anything during off-hours that we could go to their sister hotel across the square. Front desk person was very nice and helpful, spoke English, showed us where the breakfast would be served and showed us our room. Lobby is a bit run down but whatever, we were barely in there. The room itself was huge and the decor was cheerful. The bathroom was outdated but everything was clean. Big towels. The bed was very comfortable. The best part was our view- we opened the windows and was looking at dome! Unreal!!! It was fab. The location is perfect for sightseeing, close to everything, like 50 steps to the Duomo. Because its in the center of town it is noisy at night. If you're looking for a quiet place, stay somewhere out of the main area. There was a festival with singing and dancing that we could watch from our window after we retired from the square. I read some mention of a sewage smell in previous reviews but it was not an issue for our stay- the city must have taken care of it (thank God!!). There was maid service and they made up the bed and gave us fresh towels in the am. Breakfast had a pretty decent selection. Overall a great trip! Ciao!
1 out of 5
by HB from Arizona

Stinky Room with no solution from the staff

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Size and location
Cons: Be available for problems that may arise (a sister Hotel is not considered being available in my book). Actually solve the problem.
The room was big by European standards and it was clean. The big problem was the stench coming from the bathroom. I guess we should have known something was up when all the windows were open and the A/C was on despite the temperature being hot outside. We left our stuff in the room and went out exploring the city. When we returned the room smelled like sewer gas. It was making us all sick. The problem is that no one was available to correct the problem (they have very limited hours). They do have a "sister" hotel that we called. Their solution was to pour some powdery stuff down the bathroom drains. I don't know if this helped or the fact that we kept all the windows open helped just enough to go to sleep. Needless to say the stench was back in the morning. We informed the staff at check out and their only response was that they would let someone know. Stay away from this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Russ from Irvine, CA, USA

Good for the price - but no A/C

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palazzo Ruspoli B&B has a great location (100 feet from Palazzo Duomo!), and the rooms are really big and classic, and breakfast was very hood. But know what you're getting into. This isn't a true B&B, but guest rooms carved out of an office building (a nice, classic Florence building). There is hardly and public space, as the reception is tiny, and carved out of the 3rd floor of this building. Rooms are on the 3rd & 4th floor (maybe more?), but NOT AIRCONDITIONED. this may not matter much at certain times if the year, but in July, it was brutal. Also, parking was not close, expensive (€25/day +) and you have you have to park before you get to the hotel (ie, no bag drop off). Still, the price is good for the location; just be informed. The B&B is apparently owned by the same group that owns the FABULOUS Hotel Brunelleschi. After finding no A/C, I asked and was moved to the Brunelleschi for a €100 surcharge, and was VERY happy. All staff was very kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great place

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very good located, you can see the dome of the Florence cathedral from the window. The rooms were clean and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt from New Jersey

Great location and great hotel for the price

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel and service were good. The location is perfect for seeing all of Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pam

Convenient area of walkable Florence

Posted Oct 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with the hotel and our 2-night stay. The front-desk person was very helpful, giving us suggestions for places for dinner. We went to both places she recommended, and were very pleased. The room was clean and comfortable. It did not have a computer available for internet, but did have wireless.
1 out of 5
by duke

Rubbish hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2012
If you like noise when sleeping, this is the right hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY, USA

Around the corner from the Duomo

Posted Oct 20, 2012
I loved this hotel! The hotel is about a ten or fifteen minute walk from the train station and it is literally right around the corner from the Duomo. From our window you could see the Duomo. It was a great location! The room was very nice and the hotel was nice. It only has a few rooms and is a bed and breakfast. The breakfast is in a very pretty room and the food was good. The hotel staff was okay. The lady at the front desk was brisk but professional. I would recommend this hotel!