Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Ofer from Toronto

Great

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Great location Pleasant and helpful staff Good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canadian

Close to train station, but that is it

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good and well stocked
Cons: Rooms need to be dusted and floor was very dirty, didn't even want to walk on it bare feet
The hotel is easy to get too from the train station and for a one night stay it would be okay, but not great. The entrance to the hotel is beautiful and looks great, but the room was not great. There were holes in the corner of the room on the floor boards and wall that kind looked liked something had been chewing away on it and it wasn't very clean. Very noisy location as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat Old Hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Very peaceful with a great deal of old charm. The staff was very good to us; very helpful. We had a lovely balcony overlooking many tiled rooftops.
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: Via Faenza is a very old, but charming street. Many little family owned businesses, a great pizzaria and a "Rick Steves recommended" gelato bar.
We stayed here for 6 nights. This hotel was just what we were hoping for: a quiet, safe, no frills place; fairly close to the Duomo. The hotel is quiet old, so if you like "new and shiny" this probably is not the place for you. Great staff and we loved the Via Faenza area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon and Myra from london

Friendly environment and helpful staff

Posted Feb 14, 2014
The staff are friendly and accommodating. They showed us how to go around the area with the help of the map that they provide. Very strategic location, few steps away from the main train and bus station which is the Sta Maria novella station and few minutes away from the historic landmarks like the Doumo. The room is being cleaned everyday. Quiet. Delicious breakfast. they let us leave our stuff with them after we check out so we can spend more time in the city before our flight in the evening. We would love to come back to the same hotel when we get the chance to visit florence again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel close to centre

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: Breakfast could be changed slightly, it was nice, but the same every day.
We stayed at the hotel for our trip to Florence due to its proximity to train station and the centre. The train station is 5 minutes away and likewise most of the sights. The hotel staff are pleasant and the breakfast is nice, but could do with having some variety. Free Wifi, DVD player, TV and more are nice extras and the room was plenty big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave

Nice hotel, great location, with character

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Great location near to the town centre and the railway station. Staff were friendly and helpful, nice little hotel.
Cons: The hotel is quite old and while it has lots of character some parts could do with being updated.
Location: This hotel is walking distance of all the sights in Florence, with easy access to many restaurants, and bars. It is close to railway.
I stayed 4 days here during a conference. The room was roomy and comfortable. Every thing was clean and the WIFI worked great. I only had breakfast (as there is no other restaurant facilities) which is nicely laid out and was good generally (no cooked food at breakfast). The bed was a little hard but the beds and towels were all spotlessly clean, and I slept with the windows open and was woken by an ancient church bell down the street, excellent! There is a little noise in the street outside, but not too bad. The hotel is so close to the town centre it takes less than 10 minutes on foot to the centre at the Duomo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near train station and attractions

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff.
Pleasant hotel that is walking distance to train station, leather market, and tourist attractions. Breakfast is okay, but you can get a better cappuccino and brioche or croissant at cafe bars for less than 2 euros total. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. For the price and location this is a great option for a few days in Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: LOCATION was awesome. Room was large, shower AND tub. Front desk staff were wonderful.
Cons: Vary the breakfast buffet contents.
Location: The location could hardly be better. Walked everywhere.
Very kid friendly. Nice room, a few issues but nothing major. The wireless had a habit of dying everyday around 6PM and the breakfast never changed so after of week of the same thing was quite tedious. Other than that, very pleased with everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Megan from Cincinnati, Ohio

Excellent value

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was really impressed by the quality and location of the Hotel Porta Faenza for the cost. We spent considerably more for a similar hotel in Florence during the first part of our stay and I was happy to book Porta Faenza on Hotels.com and then very happy to find out when we checked in that our room was larger and better than our first hotel. The only difficulty was that the front desk staff could not accept/did not have change for a 50 Euro bill for our payment of the City tax. It was the only money we had left and we had to go purchase some drinks/snacks at a nearby convenience store to break the bill. I highly recommend the Hotel Porta Faenza for the great location and value.