Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Step back in time

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Only a short drive to Florence but were away from it all with beautiful views over Florence.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Quiet country retreat away from the bustle of Florence steeped in history quiet unique
Only spent one night there as we had picked up a car and wanted to be out of Florence for ease of parking. I loved the hotel it was so old and the gardens were lovely and the views over Florence spectacular. Our rooms were clean and grand in size. Being so old it did not have the advantages of modern hotel the bathroom was small but the water pressure was good which surprised me. My husband didn't like it as much he prefers the comforts of a modern hotel, although he liked the garden and view. Overall we both enjoyed our short stay our only criticism was the breakfast was very basic and ordinary . It was a wonderful experience but one my husband was pleased to have enjoyed for only one night while I could have happily stayed longer
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Beautiful place

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Grand, fabulous architecture, superb location within Florence, exquisite politeness from staff.
Cons: A map of Florence upon arrival. Better breakfast. Staff knew we walked to and from the city x 6 but only we were told about the short cut as we left.
With amazing views, superb gardens and an extraordinarily stunning property, this is where your money is being spent. The breakfasts are not good value, the bacon is far too salty and the scrambled eggs are like rubber. Just add some milk! There should be a chef on site to cook in the evening as the meal we had ordered in for us in was rather luke warm and ridiculously expensive. The hotel should provide a map of Florence upon arrival for all guests, especially the ones who decide they are going to walk everywhere and not take the taxi up and down the steep hill. And in this knowledge that we were walking it was rather disappointing to find from the front desk (a different receptionist) as were leaving with our suitcases that there was a short cut to Florence through the gardens. Maybe this calibre of hotel should offer a car shuttle service as well as the previously mentioned kitchen. The garden should be lit at night time in order to make the most of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Truly exceptional

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing view, beautiful gardens, comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. Outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Taxfrom US

A wonderful and charming villa-hotel

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved this centuries old villa. The grounds are splendid and offer respite from the craziness of the city. Breakfast outside on the terrace with a delicious cappuccino is serene. The views of the city from the hotel grounds are the best. The dinner provided by a local trattoria delicious. I hope to return. Not the place for the traveller who wants all things modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dfrom London

Ancient torre with best view of Florence

Posted May 23, 2014
A historic building with magnificent ceilings and tasteful antique furnishings. Splendid views over the beautiful garden and Florence itself. Peace apart from the noise of the swifts flying overhead, after the tourist mayhem of the city. it felt as if one was in the country but it was a very doable walk down a steep track into town through the fields and vineyard. Our stay was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy and pricey Fawlty Towers

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Take a taxi into Florence 10€ each way .
Nightmare mis-routing by my GPS meant it took 30 mins to find after a 4 hr drive from Antibes. Not the hotel's fault as such but wholly inadequate info on their website to guide people to the 'easy' route up (via Piana - one of three) which we learnt on the way down in the taxi to town in the morning. Stunning views and absolutely amazing building and gardens. Huge rooms and frescoes and a live parrot in the 20ft high lobby but...... Room was freezing and air heating is centrally controlled from the lobby but very helpful night porter brought a little fan heater which made it ok-ish. Cold water was full of rust for the first 10 mins. Shower only had one temperature (v.hot) as the thermostat was knackered. No internet outside ground floor lobby. TV had about 300 channels - 150 'local' Toscana ones one French none in English (unless you count MTV!). No BBC, CNN, BLOOMBERG, CNBC or any sports channels but porn available if you are into that! Elderly owner clearly cares more for the building than to run a high class modern hotel....revels in the inadequacy of the telecoms. If he did it could be one of the great hotels. At 300€/night it's not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Best in the summer to take advantage of the pool and the views
Cons: Given the remote location it would be nice to have dining facilities
Location: Great view of Florence but not near anything
Had a very pleasant time. Did not spend enough time at the hotel as we should have but the focus was on Florence and its art
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessicafrom Philadelphia, pa

Gorgeous View, amazing antique villa

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was amazing to look at and to walk the grounds. It overlooks Florence, and you can clearly see the Dome of the Duomo. The gardens are beautiful. Instead of driving or taking a cab into the heart of Firenze, my husband and I walked a path down the hill into the heart of the city and it only took us between 20 and 30 min (depending on how much you stop and explore). Then we took a cab back that night after dark and it was about 14 Euro- cheap! The inside of the building maintains the original beauty of the original villa. Large vaulted painted ceilings, columns, arches, even the windows maintain the era of the original building. The rooms have antique, hand carved furniture. Ours had a full set including canopy bed, armoire, desk and dresser. Tha bathrooms are beautifully updated in whites with chrome finishes. The only downside to the whole experience was that EVERYTHING was a la carte. Aside from the room, nothing else was included in the stay. But it truly was like stepping back in time and where better to do that than in Florence?!?!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location/building but totally rundown

Posted Aug 19, 2013
A nice villa in a great location on the hills facing Florence with a 5-10 minute taxi ride to mid town. There are a few issues though: * underinvestment - the place is visibly run down and needs a complete overhaul * no restaurants to have dinner or proper lounge or bar to sit down and relax or accept guests * the AC is not enough for the summer heat, no Overall this building has the potential to be a very special hotel but it needs a lot of work and before then I can't recommend it to you - definitely not at the ca. €300 a night rate