Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from UK

Lovely hotel just outside the main town

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Ideal location with wonderful views of Florence from the large hotel room balcony. The hotel has a lovely pool and garden.
Cons: If anything was changed it would probably ruin the overall experience
Location: Twenty minute down hill walk to the outskirts of the main town. There's a frequent bus service if needed.
We had a wonderful stay at this peaceful, family run hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and this is an ideal base for a visit to Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

A peaceful haven overlooking Florence

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Aside from the things mentioned, I liked that there was plenty of closet and drawer space, they provided new towels as needed, and turned down the bed
Location: See above
The Belvedere is a small family run establishment located up the hill from the Porta Romana on a quiet residential street, where the staff knows you from day one and is unfailingly polite and attentive. It's lovely to come back to a quiet oasis, overlooking the city, where you can sit by the pool or under the trees and listen to the birds and unwind. Obviously, therefore, you can't fall out the door and be in the middle of Florence, but there are two buses fairly nearby to take you to town or cabs, and I was happy to make that trade off. If you have a car, parking is readily available on the street. I stayed there for a week the first time in 2006 and for another week just now in May 2014 and would recommend it highly--especially to anyone who's going to spend more than a day or two in Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

A peaceful retreat from the bustle of the city

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, service, breakfast, garden, views
Cons: Decor is traditional, even old fashioned but in excellent condition and spotlessly clean. Beds were too hard
Location: 30 mins walk from historic centre, on a hillside overlooking the city, 5 mins walk from bus routes which take 10-12 mins to SMN station
Located 30 mins walk along a lovely route out of the historic centre on a hill looking back over the city the hotel is old fashioned but spotlessly clean and with good service. It has its own gardens with a small swimming pool and great views throught the cypresses to the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio. Beds were a little on the hard side but that would be picky as fresh towels were put out each day, beds were turned down in the evening and breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee, croissant, toast, yogurts as well as hot options, The staff were very friendly and helpful (all spoke english) even bringing hot water, fresh lemon juice and honey to our room at nigh for my wifes cold! We would definitely recommend the hotel and return ourselves.
1 out of 5
by Dominic from Melbourne, Australia

Bad, Terrible and Mouldy Bread

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The garden was well tended.
Cons: Good management is urgently required. The hotel is old and in desperate need of updating and renovation.
Location: The hotel had a reasonable view of the historical part of Florence and the Duomo.
My wife, daughter and I had booked this hotel for two nights, I cancelled my second night's accommodation as the property is poorly run and maintained. We arrived close to midnight at this hotel and were given our room keys by an elderly gent, we went to our room which was basic, as shown in the hotel pictures. We tried to get internet but failed, the elderly man offered an explanation that the copper lines are old and connections can be sporadic, the next morning we were advised that the internet was down and a technician was expected to rectify the problem. The night of our arrival was cold and we froze, we slept in our winter jackets to stay warm. The heating was not working and bedding there was only one extra blanket in the closet. The elderly gent, nor any other staff could be located to get extra bedding. The next morning I was informed that the heating was turned off because the weather was supposed to be warm. Our breakfast consisted of the cheapest and fattiest products, the chipped crockery was dirty and bread rolls were mouldy. I complained to the rude duty manager who tried to convince me that the mould was actually flour, I told him to eat it and he put the item aside. I informed him that we would be checking out and asked for a discount on the room for the lack of bedding and the poor service, he refused stating this was Italy and not Australia. I handed over the basic room rate, less 12 Euro tax, and told him to call the police if he was not happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve

Beautiful location

Posted May 22, 2014
Beautiful & quiet, staff is extremely friendly & helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Oleg B. from NY

Nice older relaxing hotel with few annoyances

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel has some nice features as well as some annoying ones. Pros: nice quiet area, nice garden, parking, nice view, nice clean rooms, good restaurant and bar. Cons/issues: hot water in my shower got fairly in cool pretty quickly in the morning, internet was extremely slow, old style keys that you have to leave at the front desk every time you go out and then pick them up when you are back. Also, we had two rooms and phone didn't work on one of them. Hotel is about 40-45 min walking distance to the touristy areas. Which we didn't mind, since hotel area was very nice, quiet and relaxing. But since walk back to the hotel was uphill we usually had to take taxi (cost EUR 10-12 from the river). So, if you want a more modern hotel closer to the center, this hotel is probably not for you. But if you drive, and like nice quieter place, and can put up with "cons" described above, you might enjoy this family run villa-hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View of Florence

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Hotel Rooms a little dated but spacious clean and comfortable. Great Balcony with view over Florence. Excellent breakfast. Tennis Court. Short bus ride into town but last bus at 9.30 is early but can walk back in 30 minutes from town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place to Stay

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Cons: air conditioning noise
Location: 15 minute walk from center of Florence. Best pizza place (recommended by hotel) down the road about ten-fifteen minutes.
The hotel is located up on the hillside above Florence with lovely views and lovely grounds with a swimming pool and patio overlooking the city. The room was large and spacious with a good view of the Duomo, with comfortable beds and a good adding bath and shower. The air conditioning unit was noisy,however, and interfered with sleeping. The staff was outstanding, helpful and friendly and the atmosphere of the hotel was very Italian and pleasant - traditional, rather than modern. Breakfast came with the room, and had some variety with eggs cooked to order, and I would rate it good rather than excellent. The restaurant provided a varied menu of traditional items, and I would rate the food as good rather than excellent - but then again, I am a tough critic. My wife and I were there together with our daughter, and we all very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely look forward to staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Park like setting in Florence.

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great for someone who wants to be away from city center and a park like setting. Not a 5 star hotel, but more like a higher end pension.