Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

An exceptional hotel and wonderful Christmas stay!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Everything - a true 5 star experience!
Cons: Nothing - this hotel is all that others should aspire to!
Location: Shuttle available morning and late pm / evening to take you to and from Florence, takes between 5 and 10 mins to the Ponte Vecchio, very convenient.
Just returned from 5 nights at the outstanding Grand Hotel Villa Cora - surely the jewel of Florentine hotels. Not only is it beautifully maintained and comfortable with gorgeous grounds, fantastic furnishings, linens changed daily and brilliant bathrooms (we had two in our duplex suite), the staff treated us all as old friends of the hotel, valued guests and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Breakfast was fabulous - whether the delicious continental selection, cooked breakfast, pancakes or a shake or smoothie. In the evenings there was a fabulous band playing in the bar downstairs, perfect end to a day in Florence. Thank you to the wonderful General and Restaurant Managers and the whole staff for making our family's stay so memorable, we very much hope to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richfrom Cheshire, england

Beautiful building

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and I stayed here towards the end of October 2014. The villa itself is absolutely stunning a great location if you want to be away from the chaos of florence but close enough to walk in. The spa was fantastic and the spa staff very friendly and helpful. On the whole the hotel staff were good. We had a few issues with certain things not working properly, mainly the TV, which they couldn't fix and the doors to the balcony which wouldn't lock. We had to move rooms and were compensated with a half hour massage for my partner in the spa. Moving rooms worked out well as our previous room was like a sauna at night, and the air con had little effect unless it was turned up high which was quite noisy at night. The new room was much more comfortable. I found the excuse of it being an old building which is why the door lock had broken to be unacceptable. I am a carpenter and consider that as the hotel has had a multi million pound re-fit that scarfing in a new piece of wood into the door frame to allow the lock to work properly is not beyond reasonable expectation. We ate there 2 nights. The first night of gnocchi and steaks was amazing. The second night of carbonara pasta was very average, the dessert seemed like something out of a packet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shanghai

Fantastic Service

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The hotel is magnificent. Beautiful grounds, super room. It felt like we were guests in a palace. Best of all the service was supreme. Everyone we encountered could not have been more eager to be of help--the entire staff made us feel very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Frankfrom USA

Great hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Impressive. Beverly Hills of Florence. Service was great. Attention to detail. We had coffee and bread/oj every morning for free. Buffet was 20 euro. Didn't do dinner there, though it looked very elegant. Small room but great view. Little disappointed at our bathroom as it was just so tight. Maid service picked up for you like you were a messy teenager. Great stay. Good break from crows in town. Walk to downtown better than the one home! Get a cab home. Shuttle driver at hotel was super nice and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom antwerp Belgium

Haven of peace next to the centre of Florence

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Lovely hotel with lots of historical rooms in a marvelous parc , well kept : a romantic excellent address for a stay in Florence
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Just far enough away from the city centre ...

Posted Aug 3, 2014
...that you feel in the countryside, but near enough in short taxi ride to everything! Beautiful buildings and grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stacy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, AL

Italian Tour

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It is intimate, staff are friendly and you will know them by name.
Cons: I think they should have bistecca alla Fiorentina as a dedicated menu item and then I wouldn't have gone to Il Latini.
Location: Must sees: Uffizi, Accademia to see statue of David, Mercato Centrale to get your bollito at Nerbone, climb the Basilica di Santa Maria
We spent two nights at the Grand Hotel et de Milan, two nights at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni in Bellagio, two nights at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora Firenze, three nights at Covo dei Saraceni in Positano, and three nights at Hotel Raphaƫl in Rome. The competition was stiff, and while my wife and I most enjoyed Positano, we both agreed that the service at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora was most exceptional. The staff was best dressed and most helpful. It is the only place that I can still name staff members and we travelled last month. Marco the driver mapped out our walking tour, Marco the concierge arranged early morning tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia when there was no online availability, Francesca our bartender was friendly, and we even got to know the general manager Simone. I was most impressed that I didn't once have to pour my own wine or water at dinner. The food was refined. This is a boutique, intimate hotel. A drawback is the brief shuttle or walk to town, but well worth the price as compared to the St. Regis in town, and I am a Starwood Preferred Guest. Consider walking thru the Boboli Gardens to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Finland

Great hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are accustomed to 5* treatment, this is the place to go. Service is impeccable, surroundings are quiet, and it is only a short drive from downtown.