Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw

A view to die for, a stunning location.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: A real bonus is the peaceful pool where you can relax on comfortable loungers and contemplate the view while sipping a cool glass of whatever you like
Cons: A very small criticism, but the shower was weak. In my case I was happy to soak in a bath.
Location: You don't get this view for nothing. Be prepared to climb some steep steps to return to the hotel. If you can't face it then the hotel runs a shuttle.
Comfortable accommodation, a location with a stunning panorama of Florence, staff that can't do enough to make your stay pleasurable, from arranging transport to excellent restaurant recommendations. Frankly what more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

INCREDIBLE Florence Haven

Posted Aug 13, 2014
After reading all the reviews of the hotel, prior to booking, i still wasnt sure how close/far it was to the town center (Ponte Vecchio). The hotel's free 6 minute shuttle bus, takes you right into town. a brilliant service that allows you to stay on the top of a magical hill, with sprwaling views of the city. their outdoor pool is stunning, and their suites were perfect. we are used to 5 star living, and this did not disappoint. the one thing that was unanimously poor, was their service. no service around the pool, unless we chased the waiters down, they all had a sour face, unsure how much they enjoyed their jobs, and ordering was just so painful. Hopefully the staff will be different when you visit the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel away from the crowds

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything from the shuttle bus to escape the city to the terrace with the most fantastic views over the city.
Cons: Not too much, everything was pretty much exactly what we wanted.
Location: 20 minutes walk out of the centre, up by the main lookout of Piazzale Michelangelo, 5 minutes walk from Abbazia di San Miniato al Monte.
Recommended by our daughter, not cheap but an oasis of calm after the heat and chaos of the city centre. Spent the morning touring the sites and the afternoon relaxing by the fantastic swimming pool. Very attentive and professional staff and we had a fantastic stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Staff are superb

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The staff went over and beyond the level of helpfulness and professionalism you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Driving us to restaurants and picking us up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steph from West Sussex

Wonderful villa, perfect for our honeymoon

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The attention to detail and friendliness of the staff were outstanding. The views from the terrace were breathtaking. Away from hustle of city centre
Cons: Free complimentary water in the mini bar. Shuttle service that operates throughout the day, so you don't have to worry about timings over midday
Location: An oasis of tranquility away from the busy city centre. Piazzale Michelangelo nearby with outstanding views as well as San Miniato al Monte church.
We arrived late, but the concierge was as helpful and obliging as if we were old friends. We were lucky enough to have room 202, which had a lovely twin aspect view of the gardens and the pool/Florence skyline, and was comfortable and elegant. Breakfast was superb with a wide selection of cereals, fruits, cold meats, smoked salmon and cheeses and pastries, and was offered coffee as soon as we entered the breakfast room, which was on the terrace overlooking the Duomo. All of the staff, from the cleaners to the reception staff and shuttle drivers were polite, courteous and friendly at all times, and made our stay a real pleasure. The pool wasn't heated, but the soaring temperatures in Florence made it a very pleasant escape in the heat of the day. I loved the little touches such as the 'good night thoughts' left in the room each night, describing aspects of Michelangelo's work. We loved out stay and would recommend the villa to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. A special thank you has to go to Laura who gave us invaluable information on restaurant recommendations, security and places to visit. Our stay, with the incredible views and friendly staff will stay with us for a long time. Thank you for such a beautiful honeymoon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay, with stunning views

Posted May 28, 2014
Staff could not have been more accommodating. Location high above Florence and yet accessible to the centre, offering a breeze on what can be a hot and airless city centre. High recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from Minneapolis, MN

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, breakfast, shuttle.
Location: Almost everything in center-Florence is within walking distance (25 minutes at most).
We stayed here two nights and loved every minute of it! The staff was fantastic, and walked us to our room upon checking in. The room was very comfortable and even had a jetted tub (though we didn't use it). Our room had a little table and chairs just outside the door, which was in the courtyard. We sat out there to enjoy the weather, very peaceful. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of city-center, but they do offer a shuttle if you want a ride into town. The hotel has parking and offers breakfast (which was delicious). I highly recommend this hotel! It was a great place to stay in Florence, offering a good view of the city, but removed enough to be peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an amazing hotel. Staff and service fantastic. Amazing views. Will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Villa La Vedetta

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. We were looking for a quality hotel close but not right in the hurly burly of Florence. Our room was very quiet and well appointed, although it didn't have the tea and coffee making facilities promised on the facilities listed on Expedia, which was a minor disappointment. The panoramic view of the city from the hotel terrace or the rooms at the back of the hotel is terrific and the pool facilities look great - although our stay was slightly too early in the year for these to be open. Breakfast was very good indeed - a very high quality and quite wide variety in the continental breakfast a hotel with only 18 rooms. Cooked breakfast items are available on request. The hotel is close to Piazzale Michelangelo and the walk down into the city is great, although it does take 30 minutes or so to reach the Ponte Vecchio. We did occasionally walk back but it is uphill and we used the hotel shuttle which runs at hourly intervals until 8.15pm - which was a great service. We didn't dine or use the bar much as we the prices are high - as other reviewers have commented (eg 7euro for a coke). Complementary afternoon tea is served at 4pm. The staff were really helpful and pleasant to deal with. All in all we had a super time and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe and Angie from Los Angeles

Honeymoon Hideaway

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
10 out of 10! My wife and I had been to Florence once before and stayed right across from the Duomo, so I thought staying in a Tuscan villa across the Arno would be an interesting change of pace for our second visit. And it was our honeymoon, so it seemed a bit more romantic option. I couldn't have been more right! Villa la Vedetta was a perfect escape from the throngs of tourists cramming the streets of central Florence. A bit of a walk from the city, but worth it! There's something about staying in a breathtaking villa overlooking the city that brings one back to the splendor of the Italian Renaissance and 15th century Florence. The villa itself is gorgeous, and the views of the city from the verandas are magnificent. The staff took excellent care of us. Valentina, in particular, was fantastic. We always try to navigate away from tourist trap restaurants when traveling, and Valentina's restaurant recommendations were impeccable! Most hotel staffers point you in the direction of the most expensive--and underwhelming--restaurants that stay in business by bilking American tourists. But Valentina tipped us off to some of the best food we've ever had in Italy. Well done and grazie mille, Valentina! I would highly recommend Villa la Vedetta to anyone looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway in Florence, while still staying close enough to the city to enjoy all the culinary, artistic, architectural, and historical treasures that the crown jewel of Tuscany has to offer.