Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Villa La Vedetta

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. We were looking for a quality hotel close but not right in the hurly burly of Florence. Our room was very quiet and well appointed, although it didn't have the tea and coffee making facilities promised on the facilities listed on Expedia, which was a minor disappointment. The panoramic view of the city from the hotel terrace or the rooms at the back of the hotel is terrific and the pool facilities look great - although our stay was slightly too early in the year for these to be open. Breakfast was very good indeed - a very high quality and quite wide variety in the continental breakfast a hotel with only 18 rooms. Cooked breakfast items are available on request. The hotel is close to Piazzale Michelangelo and the walk down into the city is great, although it does take 30 minutes or so to reach the Ponte Vecchio. We did occasionally walk back but it is uphill and we used the hotel shuttle which runs at hourly intervals until 8.15pm - which was a great service. We didn't dine or use the bar much as we the prices are high - as other reviewers have commented (eg 7euro for a coke). Complementary afternoon tea is served at 4pm. The staff were really helpful and pleasant to deal with. All in all we had a super time and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe and Angie from Los Angeles

Honeymoon Hideaway

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
10 out of 10! My wife and I had been to Florence once before and stayed right across from the Duomo, so I thought staying in a Tuscan villa across the Arno would be an interesting change of pace for our second visit. And it was our honeymoon, so it seemed a bit more romantic option. I couldn't have been more right! Villa la Vedetta was a perfect escape from the throngs of tourists cramming the streets of central Florence. A bit of a walk from the city, but worth it! There's something about staying in a breathtaking villa overlooking the city that brings one back to the splendor of the Italian Renaissance and 15th century Florence. The villa itself is gorgeous, and the views of the city from the verandas are magnificent. The staff took excellent care of us. Valentina, in particular, was fantastic. We always try to navigate away from tourist trap restaurants when traveling, and Valentina's restaurant recommendations were impeccable! Most hotel staffers point you in the direction of the most expensive--and underwhelming--restaurants that stay in business by bilking American tourists. But Valentina tipped us off to some of the best food we've ever had in Italy. Well done and grazie mille, Valentina! I would highly recommend Villa la Vedetta to anyone looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway in Florence, while still staying close enough to the city to enjoy all the culinary, artistic, architectural, and historical treasures that the crown jewel of Tuscany has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

'Classy Venue'

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: the view and the service
Cons: Could move the Villa a bit closer to the river but then would lose some of the views
Location: 10 euros in a cab or the hotel's shuttle bus was very useful
One of the few hotels I have ever stayed in that combines a fabulous view with exemplary service, comfort and style. Florence is a beutiful city and our visit was vastly enhanced by our 3 nights in the hotel. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Bristok

Nice hotel but a bit over priced!

Posted Nov 7, 2013
We stayed just one night at the hotel as a pit stop on the way to Pisa airport. We arrived a little later than expected and were greeted by very helpful and accommodating staff. We recieved a complimentary upgrade, although we couldn't work out what we were upgraded too as everything was as booked! Once checked in we were keen to have an overdue meal however due to the location there is no other restaurants in the area you are tied to the hotel restaurant, which is moderately priced for a 5* hotel. We opted for room service which was extremely over priced, in my opinion the food was good but not that good! The room was big and had all the facilities you could want apart from tea/coffee facilities. Unfortunately the bathroom was a little tired and rough around the edges e.g. unsightly grouting, taps/shower limescale. In the morning breakfast was good with plenty of options. The cereal was a bit stalebut eveverything else was good. Views over city are excellent as well from both rooms and grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Great place, excellent staff, there is a free Shuttle to Ponte Vechia any time you want until 9:00pm. The view from the hotel take your breath a way!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by manuel MA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Taichung, Taiwan

Fantastic Staff and Property

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Atmosphere, the staff, food and location.
Cons: Nothing - just keep doing what they are doing.
Location: Within walking distance of Florence, one of the most beautiful cities I have seen with great history and culture.
From the time we arrived through departure, the staff were outstanding - cannot say enough good about everyone who worked at the Villa, simply they are top notch. The property is on a hill and has an overlook of the city of Florence (as well as some rooms, though we stayed on the garden side) and the staff was very willing to point out the key areas to visit. There is a shuttle to/from the Villa to bottom of the hill, though we chose to walk, it was good to know should we need a ride back after touring the city. We had dinner at the restaurant in the Villa, the atmosphere, food and wine were well worth the price. Though the price to stay at the Villa may seem high, it was worth it to us - when we visit Florence again, we will most definitely look at the Villa as our first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kiki from Ontario, Canada

Lovely setting with great views of Florence.

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Clean,quiet,spacious rooms and bathrooms. Welcome platter of fruit. Location &views of the city from the patio. Free shuttle service to city and back.
Cons: The food is too expensive for what you get especially if you have a food intolerance. They did bring gluten free buns when I asked.
Location: We liked the location outside the city wall. Still close enough to go and do the sites in the city but also enjoy the peaceful property.
We enjoyed our stay although found the food expensive so we decided to eat elsewhere. The location is pretty, perched up on a hill and less than 10 minutes by shuttle van to the bridge into the city. The city is great for walking tours and fairly easy to get around with a little map. Charming streets and scenery and we found some great restaurants for lunch and dinner. We booked the tickets for the Uffizzi Gallery and the Academia through the concierge at the hotel so we could skip the lines. Lines are very long if you have to wait for tickets. We loved the view of the Duomo from the hotel patio and captured some spectacular photos in the daytime and at night. The patio is nice for relaxing and enjoying a bottle of wine in the evening. The pool closed too early (6:00 pm). It was hot and it would have been nice to have an evening swim before dinner and after a long day out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Paradise with a stunning view.

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: The out of town location, the rooms, the pool, breakfast on the terrace overlooking Florence, and the free Prosecco - yes free!!
Cons: My pillow was very hard (just personal preference). Shame about the two late night bars playing music close by (but not hotel's fault).
Location: Fantastic location overlooking Florence. Far enough to escape after a days sightseeing. The Michaelangelo viewing point is very near.
We arrived early and were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade to a suite in the main hotel. Our room had a massive private balcony, four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. The whole hotel is extremely luxurious with lots of seating on the terrace overlooking the fab view of the city below. It's a pleasant walk down to Florence or you can catch the hotel's free shuttle to the Ponte Vecchio. There's plenty of Renaissance art to view but if the town gets too hot and sticky it's great to know that the lovely pool is waiting at the hotel, along with complimentary, help-yourself water, juice and Prosecco. Soft drinks in the room's mini bar were also free. If I were to return to Florence I would definitely return to this hotel. The food is good if a little expensive, but to be expected from a 5 star hotel. The staff were very helpful, suggesting good places to visit or eat at. It was a very romantic wedding anniversary and my husband and I already miss breakfast on the terrace, gazing at the view of the Duomo and enjoying the fresh fruit before our day out in the city. Wonderful!