Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great place to be

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful place, great service, absolutely worth the stay. Only wished for a heated pool since temp dropped to 60s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Toronto, Ontario

Absolutely fabulous!

Posted Sep 4, 2013
If you're looking for a simple, yet luxurious place to stay near Florence, this is it. The attention to detail when it came to service, food and ambiance was first class all the way. We stayed for 5 days and saw Tuscany and Florence from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joy from Australia

Beautiful and Relaxing Stay

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The villa is located in a remote area and as I didn't have a car there were no sightseeing options. The staff suggested a wine tour but it was too expensive for one person. However I made very good use of the spa and lovely grounds and just relaxed during my stay. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from London, UK

For a relaxing week in the countryside

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Friendly service, beautiful hotel and rooms, and an amazing spa
Location: Stunning views of the North Tuscany countryside
I have lived and travelled all over the world and this is the first time i have reviewed a hotel. Located about 30 mins north of Florence its in a quiet area with beautiful scenery - lake, rolling hills, etc. We were fortunate enough to start our stay with a free upgrade and it really epitomised the service we had for the rest of the trip. Andrea and the rest of the front desk staff were incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations, cars, etc. Michele, Lorenzo and the rest of the restaurant and bar staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is beautiful and has a nice terrace with a beautiful view - great for lunches and dinners. The pool area is nicely set up and the spa is amazing. The gym was on the basic side but there is a walking/running path through the trees which is handy. Its a 5 star hotel, so its not for budget travellers, but the rooms, the food and the wine are all great value relative other luxury resorts All in all a wonderful place to relax for a week of great food, wine and friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from London

Fabulous place for a relaxing break!

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Location, decor and relaxation experience!
Cons: Cost of drinks & food
Location: Super outside Florence - lovely countryside!
The hotel is in a lovely setting outside the hustle and bustle of Florence. It offers a free daily shuttle service to Florence - so no worry about driving in Florence or trying to find a car park! The hotel is very stylishly appointed and very tastefully done. The pool area is restful - though not ideal for kids as people are tending to want to rest and relax. Food and drink there are very pricey - E15 for a gin&tonic, E5 for a diet coke! Had they been a little cheaper, one might drink more! There is lots to do nearby but you definitely need a car. One restaurant is within walking distance - others about 5 mins drive away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eugene S. from NYC Area

Quiet, convenient and friendly

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed at Villa Le Maschere for 5 nights in July 2013 and found it to be pretty amazing. At first when we checked in there was a strange smell in the room, but after a few days the smell disappeared. The room we were given was on the main level (with the lobby) and looked out at the breakfast area / court yard. The room was rather large by European standards. Sometimes it seemed that we were the only ones on the property, that's how quiet it was. The property is situated in a small village just a half hour drive north of the city of Florence. We rented a car so getting to the property was a no brainer. They do offer a shuttle that runs to Florence in the morning and returns early evening, but we never used it. We used it as our base to discover Tuscany and may very well return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from Virginia

Luxurious comfort

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Pros: The spa was fantastic!
Cons: It is a bit complicated to get to the Villa; you really need a car.
Location: The villa is in a beautiful area in the middle of nowhere. There are hiking paths on the property and views from the rooms are absolutely lovely.
Everything was exceptional from the room decor to the food served served in the restaurant. This is not your everyday hotel, it is luxurious. The amenities are exceptional--the spa was wonderful, the breakfast was outstanding--everything in the hotel is unique in every way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for relaxation

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: Beautiful surroundings & wonderfully restored building
Wonderful hotel - beautifully restored in a stunning setting with beautiful views. The staff were so helpful and friendly - they helped to make it a special trip. I went with a friend, but it's a great location for couples, friends & families and is only c. 30 minutes from Florence. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great but lets itself down on several counts

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: the spa was GORGEOUS but children arent really allowed in the spa area , only in the pool. I understand this but we shuld have been told this
Cons: the girl on reception was sullen and we had to ask a dozen questions to find things out. We were not welcomed properly. The "suite" was AWFUL
Location: fabulous
The hotel and spa is fantastic, rooms are quiet staff (other than the girl on reception) were fabulous, but .. 1. Food was a bit disappointing - at a hotel of this nature I would ex[pect superb food. The choice was limited and food was pleasant enough but it did not ive up to the hotel 2. we booked into a "2 bed" junior suite, with "views". It was NOT a suite by any common definition of the word. There was room with two double beds facing eachother and a narrow walk-way between the two beds to get to the oppoiste wall . There was no separate sitting area, the dressing room was a long narrow corridor with very little hanging space, there was no view except from a very small window looking onto nothing in particular. We paid more to get to adjoining rooms which were lovely but the girl at reception was cold, did not check if we were happy with the move. Frankly I was astonished they would try and give us such a room when the hotel was very empty
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Property

Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
We loved everything about this property!