Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Plainfield, NH U.S.A.

Very Private, quiet retreat close to Florence

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, views, service, food and staff.
Cons: Food prices are a bit high, but the quality is amazing. The fitness center could use smaller towels and sanitary wipes to clean the machines with.
Location: Location is very quiet and private (taxi ride to and from the city required). Florence offers excellent museums, shopping and food.
Overall a very nice, comfortable and quiet hotel. Like everyone else has commented, it is outside of walking distance to the city, unless hiking is your thing. The property has been a hotel for about 1 1/2 years. The oldest parts date back to the 13th and 14th centuries and probably was part of a watch tower system around Firenze. Later it became a convent. The attentiveness of the staff, quality of the facilities, and solitude of the location, will likely establish Villa Tolemei as a sought after more exclusive hotel for visitors to the Florence area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Beautiful rooms, fine staff, limited-menu restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Giovanni Giordanofrom Olanda

Eccellette struttura, personale gentilissimo e pro

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ottimamente bene !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel just outside of Florence

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Great experience! Staff was wonderful and helpful. Beautiful rooms. Short taxi ride into city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eddie Thomasfrom NEW YORK

Lovely oasis just outside Florence

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is still quite new and there are some missing elements. The food is average. The country setting is beautiful, but the grounds need floral landscaping.....the interior is cold and needs dressing up.....especially with some mood lighting......candles would help. Buffet breakfast was fine ( have the cappuccino.....avoid the ice cold regular coffee! The staff is great.....5 star ratings for Giorgio bell hop. Rashid front desk. Betty breakfast server. And the very charming Lucca restaurant mgr. If you can get a deal.....very good bang for the buck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Tolomei. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, the pool and terrace is fabulous. Staff were excellent - very friendly and had great attention to detail. I would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Wonderful facilities

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Make sure you carve some time up to lounge by the pool! The views are breath-taking. We are grateful to the staff for their attentiveness - the service was impeccable and the concierge/receptionist incredibly helpful, getting us last minute tickets to the Uffizi and recommending wonderful restaurants for us. Thank you! It is not in the middle of the action but taxi bookings were a breeze so it was a minor, if nonexistent, problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Stunningly beautiful!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: WiFi not great
Location: 5 minute taxi ride into Florence. Hired a driver for the day and went to Siena and wine tasting at a nearby vineyard in Chianti.
Wonderful hotel, helpful and friendly staff and couldn't be situated in a more beautiful place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

Lovely hotel just a few things to note

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The staff were really lovely and helpful and the setting was very quiet and peaceful. We didn't mind walking and using the buses but car hire.
Cons: Prices for food and drink.
Location: Everything is a walk. There are no restaurants that are walkable at least none that are open in August as a lot of restraints close for the holidays.
We stayed at Hotel Tolomei in August as a couple getaway. It is a lovely hotel and the staff were very helpful during our stay. Location wise it is about a 25 minute walk to the centre at pace (easier on the way in when you are walking down hill). You can pick a bus up directly outside the Hotel gates to the half way point by the Boboli gardens. Then the walk isn't far to the central restaurants. The food and drinks in the hotel are really expensive! Had the food and drink been more reasonably priced in the hotel we would have spent more time there especially around the pool. I would advise car hire if you want to explore more rural tuscany. We booked tours to get out of Florence for couple of days through Walkabout. Florence you can do in 3 days. Fabricio was particularly helpful at the end of our stay by giving us a lift from the bus stop to the bottom of the hill with our cases. We hadn't realised the buses were not running as it was a public holiday. He had driven out at the end of his shift then turned back to let us know the buses were not running. Absolute star!