Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Total relaxation near Florence.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Gym, restaurant, breakfasts included, staff is fantastic and very helpful!
Cons: A bistro menu for lunch should be offered.
Location: Visit of Firenze (Duomo, Galleria Del'Academia, Old and new palace, Boboli gardens.
It was a fabulous 6 nights we spent at the Villa, which became home very fast... Very quiet place, the ideal hotel to rest and rejuvenate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Country Retreat

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Excellent location above the city and great views. Stall very helpful .... Breakfast good, but more fresh fruit and dropped the canned fruit.
Cons: Reastarant menu to grand Italian . prefer a more rustic Italian theme. Provide a free shuttle to town .. can get taxi back.
Location: Florence is very run down and too busy ... unless really into museums then 2 - 3 day is more than enought. Trip to Pisa by train was great ...
Hotel was very nice and staff were all excellent and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent and memorable !

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Authentic, clean, tranquil, minutes away from old Florence, great environment and a true five-star hotel.
Cons: Adding a shuttle even if it runs 4 times a day, would facilitate travel down the hill and save having to pay for taxis.
Location: Excellent location. Only 10 min to the train station and from there only a few minutes to most of Florence landmarks.
We had an excellent time staying at this authentic Italian Villa and hotel. The hotel is located on top of a hill, so a picturesque view of Florence is what you see when having breakfast or dining on the terrace. Food was great. Breakfast buffet or a la carte, both were really good. Staff were quite friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. The hotel itself is so quiet and tranquil. At night, there is absolute silence and the sound of crickets is all you can hear if you take a walk or leave your windows open. The swimming pool is very well maintained with crystal clear water. While in the pool you have a panoramic view of Florence. You can set up day-tours at the reception as well as arrange for cabs. If you choose to go for a tour, do not miss Cinque Terre, you will not regret it ! My wife and I loved it. It would be great if the hotel could arrange for a Shuttle to transport people to florence city centre but for now you can get a cab for € 8-12 depending on the driver !! Needless to say, Florence is a romantic city and the hotel only adds to the beauty of the experience. We took trains and buses to go to Pisa, Luca, Venice, Tuscany and took a day tour to the magnificent Cinque Terre. All in all, memorable experience and we are already thinking to go back !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Escape

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Enjoy the beauty of Florence without the hustle and bustle of the city. A great escape in a delightful hotel with exceptional service from the staff. Can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Momofthree from San Antonio, TX

Perfect for our family

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at Villa Tolomei! The history of the property is amazing so be sure to ask about it. They did a remarkable job in the renovation of the property with attention to detail. It is modern without losing some of the historic and Florentine details that make it a very unique property. Everything was very comfortable. It was easy to get to from town in a cab, although that expense for my family of 6 was greater than I anticipated. Our only comment for our entire stay is that the service in the restaurant goes at a more relaxed pace than we are used to in America, which can be both positive and negative. On the positive side, you have an amazing view from the restaurant. On the negative, you can't be in a hurry to eat and go somewhere. The staff is very efficient, hard working, work long hours, and is still very pleasant at the end of the evening. The pool provided a great respite from touring and a great energy release for our 3 children (ages 9, 13, 15). We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Tolomei. It was the perfect place for our family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Cons: A shuttle up and down the hill would be fantastic. Also, in the evening before dinner an antipasta would be excellent.
We enjoyed our time, but think if they just offered a few more little things that it would make the stay that much more enjoyable. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were beautiful. We were hoping one night to have a light dinner or antipasta, but nothing like that was offered. They have a beautiful space inside a outside for sitting an relaxing, but only drinks were available. We were tired and having to leave the premises to find something light to eat was a little disappointing. We did enjoy one evening meal there which was very good, but very fancy. Which was nice, but not something we wanted to do more than once. We used taxis most of the time which were convenient to have come to the hotel, but can be a little of challenge to get back and ended up a costly way to travel to and from the city. Once you get down the hill, Florence in general is easy to walk around and to see almost everything you want to see. A shuttle that can just drop you off and the entrance to the city and that you can call to pick you back up at the same spot would be perfect. Also a public computer would be handy. We couldn't print out boarding passes for our way home and it would have been nice to have those prior to arriving to the airport. Overall it was beautiful, relaxing, clean and friendly, just a few little changes and it would be perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gaspar Gayoso

Great getaway!

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is wonderful a little out if the way which was perfect. The view was incredible and it was very peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Old style
Relaxing, But finding the hotel in your own car is quite hard. It was generally nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cindy Kelly from Seattle Wa

Loved Villa Tolomei

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I like unusual, and this old Villa is being nicely retrofitted. The history is great, its comfortable and quiet. Service was outstanding. They are still working on the exterior but when they get done it will be spectacular. The views and a summer stay would be amazing.