Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe Danfrom Arrington, VA 22922, USA

A Beautiful night in a Villa in Italy.

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: The beauty inside and out of the Villa
Cons: Make sure you know about how to take the bus into town.
Location: convenient bus ride into Florence and comes with free parking. Beautiful surroundings.
I could not stop taking photographs. This truly a Villa that has become a B&B. The room was very large as was the bathroom. Old style bathtub. The furniture was a little dated but nice. There were enough working outlets and free wifi. It is own a main street into town. Take the 25 bus from the stop a hundred yards back towards town. Stand on the side of the crosswalk opposite the bus stop and on the same side as the Tabachi shop sign (now a cafe). 10 minutes gets you to St. Marks square and only a few paces from the Academia and David. The rest of the main sites are a only several blocks further away. Stop and have a cappuccino at the cafe (Tabachi) and a great cannoli. This is not for those who want the sameness of the holiday inn or the Ritz. This is a fun and beautiful and very inexpensive place for a room with breakfast. We loved our stay. And, oh there was hot water and a clean and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pembroke, NH

Wish we paid attention to the other reviews...

Posted Jun 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
It's a shame! Yes, my overall reaction to this place. This place very nice, but it could be gorgeous, it has so much potential. It is very obvious that the owners of this B&B do not have their hearts into running the place. My first impression was when we were dropped off by the taxi at the front door and were greeted by a note that said to call for service. Not a problem except no one answered the phone after a couple attempts. So, we decided to walk around the place and found someone who did not speak english that eventually let us in. This person ended up waking their maid, who does speak english, followed by us having to listen to them argue with each other about her being awoken. Turns out the maid was arguing with the owner, who then kept telling us that she was crazy. Ok, not a problem, we got checked into our rooms, which were very nice and spacious. The house reminded us of the one in the Sound of Music for some reason, big open area with the grand stairway leading to the rooms above. The grounds are beautiful but need some serious maintenance. Then came the evening. We had our three daughters (age 19-22) in a separate room that was closed off with their own separate bathroom. Well, during the evening, someone walked into the area to turn off the light in the bathroom. As they left the room, they slammed the door waking everyone. The girls were nervous, and we checked to see if all were ok. When we went downstairs for breakfast, we asked the maid what happened, she said the owner was upset because the light was left on. So I guess that gives them the right to enter a locked room???? We let them know that one of the daughters has a vision impairment and has trouble seeing in the dark and needs the light to be left on (nevermind the fact that we paid for the room, and the door was locked!). She said it wouldn't happen again. So, that evening, it did happen again and of course waking up everyone. On top of that we got to listen to the owner argue with their son in the middle of the night (the noise travels well in this place, they should try insulating between rooms), plus the cats in heat outside our window. Needless to say, we did not sleep well there. We felt unsafe and very uncomfortable with all that was going on. And the excuse about the light was bizarre, especially since they left so many other lights on needlessly all night (like, outside our bedroom window). What this place needs is new owners who have a passion to run a great B&B. They have the location, the building and the grounds. It's a short bus ride to the main part of town in a nice neighborhood. Otherwise, we would never stay here again, and definitely would not recommend this place to anyone. The maid was right, they are a bit crazy, but we stuck it out hoping for the best but even after we commented about our feelings directly with them, they seemed like couldn't care less. In my opionion, they should hav at least appologized for the treatment, but clearly that was not forthcoming. I'm wirting this almost a month after our stay, but it has been on my mond ever since. We stayed another week in Italy and the rest of our stay (at other places) were fantastic. But, as my daughters reminded me, I should have paid better attention to the prior reviews before booking here. So, take warning before booking this place.
1 out of 5
by Ermannofrom Matera

Villa Ulivi: DANGER

Posted Jan 16, 2011
L'alloggio non era quello previsto, ci hanno sistemato in locali situati nel sottotetto. La struttura in origine doveva essere molto bella. Ora, è in stato di abbandono. Il servizio è affidato ad una signora orientale che fa quello che può. La pulizia non è la caratteristica predominante. Soltanto le lenzuola erano pulite, il resto era sporchissimo. Dalla doccia uscivano soltanto tre zampilli d'acqua. La prima colazione era molto essenziale. La moquette nelle camere è a pelo lungo e trattiene al suo interno tanta vitalità che potrebbe soddisfare una serie intera di puntate del "Mondo di Quark". Durante i cinque giorni del nostro soggiorno le camere non sono state mai pulite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom italia

Buon rapporto qualità prezzo

Posted Jan 10, 2011
Tranquillo e confortevole
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Rochelle, NY

Villa Ulivi Review: I would not come back

Posted Jul 23, 2009
The 4oo year-old villa has a very good looking, but, the service is horrible. 1) The key to the front door does not work, so if you come back late at night, you cannot enter the front door. If you were early enough to come back, you get waken up by other guests who tried to open the door. 2) The owner plays music so loud at midnight so you have to come down to tell him to shut down the radio. 3) They double book and force you to stay at other hotel. It's been just a little over a year since they stared the hotel business, and they have a lot to learn about running hotel business. I would not come back again. Sincerely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creepy hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2009 on Hotels.com
This place was creepy. I felt like I was invading a private place where I was not wanted. There was also a prolonged episode at about midnite of screaming and pounding on furniture which was so terrifying that I would have left immediately if I could have. We instead locked ourselves in and left at 7 am before breakfast. Don't stay here !
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Duisburg

Zu dreckig

Posted Jul 1, 2009
Die Zimmer waren nicht sauber, es gab weder Fernseher, Föhn, noch einen WLan-Anschluss. Das Frühstück bestand aus Cornflakes und aufgebackenen Croissants. Nicht empfehlenswert!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset

A step back into Art Deco

Posted Jun 22, 2009
The Hotel Ulivi, Florence was initially hard to find due to the lack of any sign externally advertising the fact that it was a hotel. The hotel itself had great character and history dating back to 1400. The grounds were lovely and peaceful and for lovers of art deco, the furnishings and fittings were amazing. The feel of this hotel was more that of being a houseguest. The owners were helpful if asked but otherwise left residents to their own devices and no manned reception desk. It was rather a long hike into Florence itself from this hotel but the buses were frequent and a taxi ride only 10 euros from the centre of Florence. Breakfasts could be taken in the dining room or on the terrace and were typically continental and certainly adequate although without meat or cheese options. Rooms were large with pleasant views and reasonable storage. Hairdryers were available if asked for although there was no TV or air conditioning in our room. For something a little different this hotel must be experienced and now knowing what to expect I would be happy to return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Fredericksburg, VA.

Real Italian Charm

Posted Apr 30, 2009
It was a real treat to stay in an authenic Villa in Florence. Sure, it might have been nice to stay in a more "traditional" hotel within the city itself but at Villa Ullivi the guest felt like a part of the family since you are actually staying in someone's home. The included breakfast was wonderful! You are also on the #25 bus line so you can easily take the bus from just across the train station (just remember to get off at "La Pietra" bus stop as if you get off at the next stop you will not have a path to walk on!)However,they do need to work on some upkeep as some of the interior ,and our room in particular, was showing signs of age.