Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel overlooking the lake. Clean rooms.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Lovely
Cons: Somebody could speak English (I feel so guilty at saying that!)
Location: Visit Tikal and the Mayan ruins Go for a trip on a boat on the lake
This was a lovely hotel with very smiley staff although no-one who spoke English. The rooms were clean and towels folded into beautiful shapes. We stayed for two nights and whilst we went to Tikal for a night the hotel looked after our bags when we went. Be warned though. A man met us at the bus and walked us to the Hotel and spoke some English and persuaded us to buy our sunset/sunrise Tikal tickets, travel to and fro and our trip out of Guatemala back to Mexico. He said the hotel prices were very expensive and started trying to cut a deal with us. We agreed to go to our room and on our return he caught us standing outside and took us to his 'office'. It looked like a real tourist office and he showed us a board with prices on it which he then cut in half. We mistakenly went with him and later found out we had been ripped off paying 3 or 4 times what we should have. 2 days later on our return to Flores he called to say he had a better transport deal for us with an Air con bus which we had now discovered all the other travellers we met were going on. At the border we were asked our opinion of the Country by a fluent English speaking member of the tourist board. We described this experience and she knew this man - who had a big scar on the left side of his face and said he had been in prison for this before. Be warned that this man has carried out this scam all over Guatemala and the lady said that tourists need to report it to the police.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Best view in Flores

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The rooms are simple, clean and basic. It's all about the terrace. Make sure you ask for a room with a lake view and you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belize

Charming lakeside hotel on Isla de Flores

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location on the lakeside and the outside veranda.
Location: You can hire a launch and guide just below the hotel to take an hour-long cruise on the lake. Local vendors sell food on the lakeside walk at night.
Casazul is a small hotel overlooking Lago Peten Itza. Although our room was not on the lakeside, we had easy access to the third floor veranda, where we spent a lot of time enjoying the breeze and view. The staff was friendly and helpful, although we did need to be able to communicate in Spanish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Pretty views, close to restaurants inexpensive

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Close to everything and inexpensive.
Cons: Ads should be more accurate with the bed size and number.
Location: Lots of restaurants and the lake.
We went to Tikal the day after and used this hotel in Flores for our rest stop after a long day of driving from Rio Dulce. The beds were fully and not twins so we were pleasantly surprised to see 3 fulls for 3 people when the add said 2 twins for 3 people. Not too fancy but a great spot with a view for a killer price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emm from Vancouver wa

Great location and view

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Simple but great price and location. We could walk 1 block to great restaurant terrazzo for fabulous Italian food overlooking the lake. Could walk to take boat one block as well. For the price $38 couldn't beat it! Clean enough. Nice folks. Worked for me and my 9 yr old
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was a little tricky to find and was a bit removed from the action but was nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Benny & Mory from USA

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love it..!! I was planning on staying one night and ended up staying three nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Philadelphia, PA

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Very clean, spacious rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: The place is older and could use some updating, but this did not affect the quality of our stay at all.
My husband and I stayed at Hotel Casazul for a couple of nights while traveling through Guatemala. The hotel is older, nothing fancy, but we were impressed how clean and spacious the rooms were (we stayed one night on the 2nd floor, and one night on the 1st floor). The staff was very friendly- they did their best to make us feel welcome and meet our needs even though we speak almost no Spanish and they spoke very little English. The place is basic but cute, with nice balconies looking onto the street below; the hotel backs up to the water and also gives a very pretty view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Glenn from California

Great view of the lake.

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really liked Casazul. The staff was great. Their English is limited but I managed just fine. Great hotel for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Felman from New York

Good location and OK for one night stay

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is very basic hotel - on a shabby side - with large but rather boring bare-wall rooms and view on the rusted metal roof (at least in our room). So the bed was clean and the bathroom was clean but very basic again with poor lighting. No breakfast, no nothing. Unfortunately for us - no English too. Does not worth the price we paid - for a portion of the price we could stay - just walk in without reservation - in an excellent hotels 100 m from the hotel.