Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canton ohio

Very nice hotel. Small but very stylish!

Posted May 20, 2015
We only stayed 1 night, it was our halfway point from ft lauderdale on our way to key west. I will definitely go back for a longer stay! The pool was nice and not crowded and the breakfast was delicious! They recently remodeled and it is beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lakeland FL

Under renovation, no vending machine

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The location was great and the view from the room to the ocean was quite nice.
The hotel was under renovation, which we did not know. There were no vending machines, but the hotel had a restaurant. Two drinks at the hotel bar were fifteen dollars!! No refrigerator in the room. One of the beds was terribly bumpy and uncomfortable. For the price, it should have been a lot more comfortable to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Long weekend stay

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The staff, beach & pool were great. The promise of a 'beach view' from each room was a bit of a stretch but we had a nice western view (besides roof)
Cons: The a/c system is very loud and is tricky. It's either freezing or hot.
Hotel staff was lovely & restaurant team as well, particularly David. I did request a fridge which seems like a standard thing, & was told it would come the day after check in, but it never did w/no follow up from the hotel team. Also, the a/c system is either too cold or too hot & very noisy, but this may be a part of ongoing reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Three days fishing in Islamorada

Posted May 11, 2015
The hotel is the old Hampton Inn. The have nicely remodeled this interior. However, be advised that the work is still on-going, so there is noise and a bit of disruption. For example, this is only one, very slow elevator working and no rest rooms by the pool or beach. Moreover, the beach is really a concrete walkway covered with sand (there are stairs to enter the water). All in all, it is a nice hotel (not luxury). As long as the price remains reasonable, it is a good choice for Islamorada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami Beach, FL

A JEM in the Keys

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Location, decor, staff were all perfect for anywhere and almost unheard of in the Keys
Cons: There are still building out the last of the property and have some work to do but you'd hardly notice it!
If you're looking for a huge luxury "four seasons" resort this might not be your cup of tea but if you want a beautiful, classy, relaxing scene with a staff that will bend over backwards to make you happy this IS the place. Impeccable decor and an amazing vibe are everywhere from the reception area and bar to the gigantic open room. The Keys are not really know as a "fine dining" destination but if you don't think the home-made pasta and amazing deserts in the restaurant are AMAZING (not to mention the awesome "al-fresco" breakfast) I don't know where else you should go. This will be my GO TO spot in the Keys from now on! KUDOS to the management for their hard work properly training the staff to be so pro-guest. It reflects in everything they do with a (real) smile on their faces and your satisfaction in mind!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom norway

Nice hotel but quite pricey and unfinished

Posted May 7, 2015
Stayed for three nights. Hotel is nice and staff are very friendly. Newly renovated, but it seems as though they didn't quite finish. We had construction dust in the room and the minibar/fridge still hadn't arrived. Pool area is OK. Beach has white sand (and a hammock), but isn't really a beach (but this might be the case for most of the Keys). A small playground for kids. Breakfast tasted good, but was not included. Plenty of space for parking. All in all a OK hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Palm Beach, FL

Upgraded to a room overlooking the ocean.

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Good vibe, clean, beautiful lobby and grounds, nice staff.
After being helped by great staff, we entered our room only to find that black particles were on our beautiful white bedding. They blew in from the vent, as there was some work being done in the hotel. Everyone was apologetic, and we were then upgraded to the room facing the private beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Everything!
We had a great time and everybody was amazing! The food was awesome !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, Pa

A wonderful resort in the making!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Clean cool rooms, very clean pool, water sports on site, spa bathrooms and amenities, the atmosphere and the food!
Cons: Mini fridges in the rooms, room service for breakfast and after dinner hours, better selection at the bar as they did not have Ameretto.
Location: We went to Key West, Mallory Square, Southern Most point, Smathers beach. Great place for breakfast and lunch, Made to Order and Theater by the sea.
From the moment we arrived at Amara Cay the staff was in full service mode and that is a wonderful feeling after a long plane and car ride in the heat. Our baggage was handled with care and taken to the room by a very friendly and knowledgeable member of the staff and our room was pristine! The concierge immediately made a dinner reservation for us and they treated us like royalty, they even allowed us in the pool and hot tub after a late dinner, even though it was supposed to be closed. That first night took 10 years of stress off me for sure. More positives about the hotel was the food. The chef was fantastic and did things with seafood, steak and veggies I didn't even know you could do, five stars! The main dining room is a little pricey, but well worth it! The poolside tavern also had a nice selection. I recommend the burger it was awesome! The small beach area, hot tub, pool and water sports all right there at the resort was a great feature. Aside from the day trip to Key West we stayed at the resort the whole time. We did get awakened by the construction 2 days in a row, but they were quick to make us feel comfortable by giving us a credit with an option for free water sports. That made getting up early and leaving the room very enticing. Some areas for improvement would be mini fridges in the rooms. Although they brought us fresh cold water whenever we called, there was no place to keep any cold beverages or food. Also, there was no room service, slight minus there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Very nice renovated rooms and lobby. Smaller beach. Older pool.