Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Not far to walk to or ride a bike to town

Posted Apr 18, 2015
If your looking for a resort type of place this is not it. The authors is a nice quaint cottage style place,very quiet and small. friendly staff. The cottage i had could have used a little updating but that's just my opinion. Only thing I didn't like was the size of the bathroom ,very small .Even though our room was clean "it still had a smell of old". Our overall experience was good/very good as I said don't expect a 5star big resort type of place with big resort Amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Very very nice,everything
Location: Alittle bit of a walk to Duvall street but walking through the neigborhoods and seeing the older houses it did not seem too take long.
Always stay at a chain motel.This was a truly a nice experience.Very nice place to stay.Breakfast was very filling rooms very clean and comfortable.We will be coming back to the Keys again.Will stay at the Authers again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Winston-Salem, NC

Comfortable Guest House

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room; location; reasonable rates.
Cons: Room is a little tight, but maybe one sitting chair instead of the one hard seating chair.
Location: Convenient Old Town location. Truman, Duval, Key West Bight, and their restaurants and galleries are walkable. Additional restaurants nearby.
Having typically stayed at traditional B&Bs, we tried Authors as more of a "guest house" experience. Nothing flashy, but a very nice stay for the price. A balconied room; fridge and microwave; private bath; (modest) breakfast; Jacuzzi pool; Old Town location; free on street parking; house cats Callie and Kimba; and pleasant courtyard are all reasons we will return. Staff was present and pleasant but not obtrusive. We go to Key West for Key West (i.e, bars, restaurants, museums, galleries, etc.) not to be at a resort, and this stay at Authors gave us the chance and saved us the cash to do just that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cozy room and friendly kitties.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Very cozy room, clean and like home.
Cons: Because the guest house near a road ,so there's noisy some time, even in the late evening.
Location: 10-12 minute walk to take the ferry. 15 minutes walk to the Hemingway's home.
I arrived late, so I got the keys in front of the door. The staff will not show up after 5:00 PM, but it doesn't matter, there's a clear direction paper and you can give them call if you have emergency.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marianafrom Rio de Janeiro

Recomendo!

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quarto limpo e muito espaçoso. Hotel silencioso e com ótimo serviço. Não fica muito perto da Duval Street, mas com uma boa caminhada você chega lá.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
The staff was so nice and accommodating. Room was large n clean. Not Hilton but adequate. We would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches kleines Hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: schon beim ankommen sieht man was für eine Gemütlichkeit da ist.Mehrere Arten Zimmer von einfach bis Suite.
Hübsches kleines Gästehaus in Key West mit total gemütliche Zimmer.So richtig passend zu Key West. Das warme Holz das da verarbeitet wurde,macht es gemütlich und daraus ein angenehmen Aufenthalt. Wir hatten im ''Tennessee Williams''eine kleine gemütliche Terrasse. Das Personal super freundlich,hilfsbereit. Das Frühstück spitze und schön gemütlich mitten drin unter Palmen. Ein kleiner Pool der auch zum Whirlpool umgewandelt werden kann. W-Lan schnell. Parkplätze rar aber man findet man was. Zu Fuss gut alles erreichbar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Key West

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ligt gunstig, je kan alles lopend af. Kamer was klein, maar verder goed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wunderschön!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Unser Zimmer, was eigentlich ein kleines Ferienhaus mit Bad, Küche, Wohn- und Schlafzimmer ist. Alles sehr liebevoll eingerichtet!
Cons: Nichts!
Location: Der Fußweg in die Stadt ist ein netter Spaziergang von ca. 20 Minuten (kommt drauf an, wo man hin will) und man sieht schöne Häuser.
Wir sind total begeistert vom "Authors" und würden beim nächsten Key West Aufenthalt gleich wieder dort übernachten. Die Dame an der Rezeption (Tippi) ist supernett und hat uns einige Tipps gegeben. Als Katzenfans waren wir außerdem von den 2 hauseigenen Stubentigern begeistert, die sich gerne bei uns auf der Terrasse aufgehalten haben. Der Mehrpreis für das größte Zimmer lohnt sich auf jeden Fall! Der Garten ist eine richtige Oase.