Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Ideal private resort

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: the room, which is a small apartment was very pleasant, the location was beautiful and convenient to attractions, and much nicer than a large resort
Cons: ac units, Outside lighting is directed directly into bedroom
Location: perfect for key largo
The facility was well maintained and the grounds were in excellent condition. The rooms were very clean and kept that way while we were there. It is a small place with only 6 rooms and we stayed in their premium room facing the bay. The staff was helpfull and pleasant. The main complaint I have is the room AC units, They kept the rooms cool, but they are the type where they are individual units instead of the central AC and the bedroom unit blew cold air directly on our heads from a unit over the bead. This required us to keep the room warm so we did not have ice cold air blowing on our heads while sleeping. Also the room required a separate de-humidifier which was noisy and distracting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the water

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The suites are large, with a kitchen and living room. The view is nice, but the beach area is small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen + Lynne from England.

Brief visit to the keys

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Positioning in Key Largo. Facilities.
Cons: More thorough daily cleaning. Oil the hinges of the bedroom door in the AquaMarine suite! Make the hotel sign more visible from the road.
Location: John Pennenkamp park coral reef dive trips. Swim with Dolphins at Dolphins Plus. Kayak and hike trips in the Everglades. Chill in a bar at night
From check in to departure, the Azul del Mar was an absolute delight. Ok, so if you arrive early evening like us you may have to be alert for the hotel sign which isn't the easiest to spot from the road, but once inside you can relax. We had a warm and laid back greeting, a tour of the grounds and our room, suggestions of tours and places to eat all marked on a handy map. We took the aquamarine suite, and at times, we had to force ourselves to leave the living room area, overlooking the bay, as the view is exactly as shown on the web site. The facilities were great, with hammocks, sun loungers and covered areas to relax in and around the place and even a barbecue to use at no added cost. When we did venture out there was a whole lot of things to do, all around outdoors and water sports as you'd expect and we didn't bother with the long and dull drive towards Key West. Why bother when everything we needed was near to the Azul? Anyway, the only niggle that we could find was that, after the blindingly clean presentation of our suite on arrival, the daily cleaning was a bit lacking compared to even some of the chain hotels which we have stayed in. However, we would definitely stay at the Azul again and recommend it wholeheartedly as an oasis of calm and relaxation in beautiful surroundings. Thanks Dominic + co! Maybe we'll be lucky enough to come back some day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Fantastic little gem

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is situated in a small grove of palm trees just off of route 1. Although it is just off the main highway, the road was not a bother and I only noticed it when I gave it an effort to listen. The owner Dominic was incredibly friendly and helpful and had no problem happily recommending services like restaurants. The room had a anything you could really need (who stays in the room while in the Keys?) Even though the living room furniture was showing a little wear, the room was extremely clean and well cared for. The private beach, tiki huts, and dock all equipped with wonderful lounge chairs are worth the trip all by themselves. The atmosphere of relaxation in this little slice of paradise was phenomenal. Also highly recommend taking advantage of the private charter boat offered by A D M to go snorkeling on Pennecamp park! Very helpful and patient boat Captain. Great place, if I can ever make it back to Key Largo I will be there without a doubt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from Marlton, NJ

Amazing little getaway!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: More of a boutique hotel and resort. Personal service at it's finest
Cons: More towels...
Location: Perfectly located in Key Largo. Water sports were close by and even came to pick us up. Shopping, restaurants and liquor stores nearby. Perfect!
Dominic is an incredible host! Every suggestion he gave was better than the last...he puts your needs and comfort first. This has become "our place" and we'll be going back as often as possible. Everything we wanted to do was and booked by Dominic and his staff. We wanted for nothing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel, beautiful view

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Nice, spacious and comfortable rooms. The owner helps set up wonderful tours that leave directly from the dock. Beautiful views. Couldn't ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue from Aunt Sukies B&B

a hidden and well maintained jewel,prime location

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
impeccably maintained with amazing attention to detail(the dishes in our mini kitchen were azul-colored!) The grounds have great plantings, an orchid growing in a tree...the owner was available and very personable.He also owns another site in Key West. The location is prime on a small private beach with wonderful evening sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alicia from Minnesota

Hidden gem in the middle of everything!

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay. Quiet place with great rooms and beautiful outdoor spaces. Staff was very nice and helpful. Can't wait to take another trip! Location was awesome and close to food, shopping, activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stina from Austin,TX

Great location; room needs detail and comfort

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great, right on the water with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Very quiet and peaceful which is what we were looking for. The view from our room was wonderful. Although the bed was very comfortable, the rest of the furniture was not meant for comfort and relaxation. There was only one towel each which is a drag if you need to take a second shower during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from washington DC

Much needed REST and RELAXATION

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: the beds, the bath tubs, the sunsets, the staff, the beach, the sitting areas,
Cons: Would have liked to stay longer, I had to leave due to commitments elsewhere
Location: Next door is where the Key Largo movie was filmed. Nice little private beach with loungers. Gas grill to grill fresh fish.
The place is even prettier than the pictures. THE BEST BATH TUBS EVER!!!! The rooms are very nice. The beds are great. I don't think there is a 'bad room' in the house. It even rained one day and that was great too. The private beach was a wonderful day and I had breakfast over looking the water. Can not say enough great things about the place. Worth the price and will come back again.