Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Little place on the water being remodeled...

Posted Jun 11, 2014
We stayed in a newly remodeled room which had a great view of the ocean. For the price you cannot beat the value. They rent boats, jet skis, do charters, and kayaks all from the same place so there is a lot to do. If you are looking for a budget hotel that is clean with very friendly staff who will bend over backwards to make your stay fun -- don't worry go for Capt. Pip's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We are remodelling and upgrading everything to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible. We hope that you will come back to visit us again some time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S.B. from Michigan

Shabby Chic with a View - Loved it.

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose Captain Pips for the price and the location. We were very pleased. It is convenient to everything in the Keys from Key Largo to Key West anything you want to do is within 1 hour and there are tons of restaurants within a mile. The room decor was Shabby Chic with white rattan furniture and a pretty white bedspread. The kitchen had everything we needed. The only downsides were a slightly musty smell in the room and the housekeeping staff must be early risers they were knocking on the door by 9:30 am each morning wanting to clean. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice, simply Florida place

Posted Dec 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Not elegant but just what we like. Got a good mini-party boat charter right next door. Porky's fun to eat with live music. Very near Turtle Hospital with great tour and near Old Seven Mile bridge for beautiful walk to Pigeon Key.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark

Great experience

Posted Nov 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the location - walked the old seven mile bridge to Pigeon Key, spent Halloween night at Porky's and Salty's - both had live music. Staff at Captain Pips was very friendly and provided lots of information - overall a great experience. We were looking for a different experience than your standard resort and this fit the bill. Room was clean and comfortable and they offered a large refrigerator, dishes and utensils plus an ice chest and beach towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike

Middle of the Keys

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
No Tv in the bedroom, no internet in the room, poor tv in the living area. It only mattered because it was stormy outside, but tv needed to be upgraded and internet would have been a plus. Nice view, but over priced. Charming and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We just upgraded all the tv's to flat screens. We also put a flat screen tv in the bedrooms too. There is also free wireless Internet in all the rooms. Under new ownership since May 1, 2014 so lots more improvements currently underway with more to come. We hope you will give us another try some time!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Maryann

Posted Sep 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
there was mold in the closet as well as the bathroom had 2 nites booked but only stayed 2 nite
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that this guest had a problem with the cleanliness of her room. We have a very hard working housekeeping team who usually do a great job. We hope that she will accept our apologies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lamb

7 Mile Bridge Run

Posted Apr 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for the 7 Mile Bridge Run and you can't get any closer to the start line than this! That was the main reason I booked Captain Pips. I know they offer boat rentals for guests, but we weren't there long enough and the weather was horrible. They didn't come to clean our room (and we had to go across the street to buy some toilet paper!) but we only stayed two nights so it wasn't too much of an ordeal. The beds were not great but the small kitchenette was nice. Would definitely stay there again but will get a BIGGER room and ask for extra necessities so we don't run out while the office is closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Wonderful place!

Posted Feb 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff very accomodating and helpful. Beautiful location and great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fl

Great setting, a little spartan

Posted Jan 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pros: Stunning location with a spectacular view. Convenient. Cons:Lots of ants crawling over the bathroom. Wall AC, and very loud. Office closes at 5pm, rooms not the easiest to find on the basis of a note. Overall, a little expensive in terms of service, but unbeatable in terms of the view.