Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Overall pleasant stay

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: It's only 1 hour to Key West and it was very quiet at night.
Cons: I asked the front desk the next day to leave us some extra soap and it was not provided. So we had 2 little soaps for a family of 4 for a weekend stay
Location: Went to the Butterfly cafe, great food. Key West is 1 hr away.
After hours check in process was easy. Room was nice and clean. I liked that it had a full size frig and microwave. It also had coffee maker, iron and even a little cooler, we didn't use but it was a thoughtful item to have for guests. The bathroom was also clean and had plenty of towels and toilet paper. It would have been nice to get extra soap. We only had 2 mini soaps and we were family of 4 staying for the weekend. We did ask but it was not provided. Also the day we were checking out the housekeeping lady came to the room at 9:50am. We were finishing packing up our things and then at 9:59am got a call from the manager to "remind" us that check out time is 10:00am.. it was a bit annoying.We were in our car and out of there by 10:05am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry that you did not have enough soap in the bathroom. usually if a guest asks for more we provide it immediately. Our check out time is 10 a.m. and our housekeepers do a very thorough cleaning job after each guest, rather than a quick clean as can often be the case at some hotels. Our office does not usually call a guest to remind them of check out time though unless they are already way past it and housekeeping is starting to get concerned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom plainfield il

Nice hide away

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The only thing missing was a pool that would have made this place great
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are actually in the planning & permit stages of putting a pool in. So, if you come to stay with us next year there should be a nice pool right on the water!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

A real hideaway

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It was quite and did not have loud children running around everywhere. They appear to be in the process of upgrading all rooms and doing a nice job.
Cons: Colors of buildings. Nothing to do with the hotel but Porky's the restaurant needs a huge make over. Hard to serve a poor breakfast, but they do.
Location: Nice cuban café across the street is good for any meal and try the Lazy Days restaurant for happy hour, lunch or dinner. Not impressed w/Sunset Grill
Nice place to stay if looking for a quite place to relax, very nice staff. Nice boats w/new motors to rent at very reasonable prices, very clean rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Than k you for taking the time to leave us a nice review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robfrom Ohio

Perfect hideaway

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved out stay! Wonderful staff! Beautiful room! Quiet outdoor area where you can just relax and unwind. Had an amazing time! Already planning our next visit to captain pips! Thanks to the staff for being so amazing!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mattfrom LaBelle, FL

Business Trip Turned Leisure

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This trip was for business, but I will come back for leisure! By far, much better than other "resorts" on main land Key West, and I have stayed in many. My room at Capt Pip's was very clean, the bed was soft and comfortable, the sheets were bright white, the pillows were large and fluffy, the fridge was big, etc. The room comes with a microwave, coffee pot, glassware and dishes, and plenty of towels. At night the room was quiet, and the view spectacular out the large bay windows facing the water. The room was decorated in light colored wood panel, and was very neat with exposed rafters and built-in closets. A bar and restaurant is right down the dock from the rooms; close enough to walk over in slippers, but far enough away to not hear the crowd. My only complaint would be the shower head being too rough, but that is the ONLY complaint. Again, I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review! We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tallahassee, FL

Little place on the water being remodeled...

Posted Jun 11, 2014
We stayed in a newly remodeled room which had a great view of the ocean. For the price you cannot beat the value. They rent boats, jet skis, do charters, and kayaks all from the same place so there is a lot to do. If you are looking for a budget hotel that is clean with very friendly staff who will bend over backwards to make your stay fun -- don't worry go for Capt. Pip's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We are remodelling and upgrading everything to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible. We hope that you will come back to visit us again some time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by brucefrom CA

we were veryvdissappointed.

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was very outdated. Rust stains poor bed. Deabd bolt Locks did not work.TV was a 15 inch flat screen. Beautiful sunset over Gulf of Mexico from outside room. Will never stay there again. I rate it a 1.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We are sorry that this guest didn't like our property. However, his review is not entirely accurate. The deadbolt on the door did in fact work perfectly, he just had a problem using it. There are 2 keys to the room - a deadbolt key & a door knob lock key. We had no problem at all locking both locks from inside without using the keys, and outside using the keys. We checked this twice for him. Every guest before this and after has not had a problem getting the lock to work. It is true that the tv is a smaller flat screen as this is a small room. We have replaced the bed with a new one since this guest stayed with us, just to make sure that our guests have a comfortable night's sleep. We tried our very best to make this guest happy, as we do for all our guests. Even though we usually close our office at 5 pm (which is noted here on Expedia) we sent & received his business faxes for him quite late after hours to try to make his stay as pleasant as possible. Unfortunately, although we tried our best, he just was not happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve & Beth Pricefrom Portland, Oregon

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Returning to Capt. Pips after a full afternoon in Key West was a HUGE relief.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice comment. Most people would agree!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

not very impressed

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
over priced for what you get
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We're sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay. Our rates here on Expedia are significantly lower than our rack rates & our rooms are actually very nice. We feel (& most people would agree) that they are in fact priced very well and worth what we charge. We hope that anyone reading this review will check us out & see that we are priced very competitively. Thank you.