Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, clean, very well located mid keys.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: pretty much everything.
Cons: More umbrellas by the beach, not enough for all the guests. also funky smell by the beach, perhaps cleaning up a needed.
Location: fishing, kayaking,scuba,sailboating,
Nice hotel, charges include use of bycicles, kayaks, golf, fishing,tennis courts, gym. There is also next to the gym an adult only pool/spa which is a nice touch if you don't want to be around kids. only cons: trash bags/dirty towels left overnite by elevator by cleaning crew I guess. Also no enough sun umbrellas by the beach, we had to get there before 7am to reserve one. Nice beach to just sit and relax but it gets really hot and umbrellas are a must. In my opinion all chairs should be provided with one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great family resort

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: Pool - chair saving should not be allowed. The chart room has the worst service I have ever had on vacation.
Overall, this hotel was wonderful with the exception of a few things. It's a great place to take the family, there is a kids camp which I was skeptical of. However, my kids were begging to go back...they loved it! There are lots of things to do right on the resort, rental of fishing rods, bikes, golf clubs and tennis rackets was included in the resort fee which I thought was a nice bonus. We took advantage of all of these so I felt the resort fee was justified. It also included free movie rentals, which were nice to keep the kids entertained during down time. This resort would have gotten 5 stars from me had it not been for 2 huge issues. The first being that the pool attendants allow a practice to go on at the pool of chair saving. Most resorts do not allow this. There were not nearly enough chairs at the pool and over half of them were being saved by the chair hogs who rudely leave their belongings sit on the chair all day but don't even use it. The lack of regulation of this is a HUGE DOWN SIDE. My family was only able to enjoy the pool for one day due to this. The second issue is the on site restaurants. The service does not match up to the high price tag. Don't get me wrong, I'm not against paying for a good meal, but the service needs to be above par and it simply is not. At the chart room, we waited 45 minutes for our drinks to be brought to us! This is unacceptable. We would probably return, but I will not eat on site nor will I visit the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter Florida

Paradise

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The resort was beautiful. You and your family will be treated with respect and kindness. Great food. Fun activities and a great tiki bar. I'll be going back..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverdale, nj

A Tropical Treat!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
What a beautiful resort!! The landscaping is beautiful, filled with palm trees, flowers, and exotic plants. We were greeted by Earl at the gate, and again at the main lobby, along with glasses of champagne and assistance with our luggage and our car. We stayed in a premier suite, overlooking the golf course. Our spacious suite was decorated Tommy Bahama style, with a soaking tub on the balcony, bottled water and Starbucks coffee each morning, a separate closet for each of us to put our clothes, and a very comfortable bed, with tropical style bedding. The resort had included activities which we loved-- pier fishing, kayaking in the ocean, and bike rides through the beautifully landscaped property and on trails that led you to the beach. We did not get to try the stand up paddle boards or golf, just because we had so much we wanted to do! We ate at the sushi restaurant and we were really impressed! We also had lunch at Atlantic's Edge... The lobster quesadillas were to die for, along with shrimp tacos and a cold glass of Sandbar Sunday! The resort also had two pools-- a smaller one next to the tiki bar, which reminded me of swimming in the jungle, and an adults only pool with cabanas and relaxing spa music, along with a bar and fruit infused water to quench your thirst--which was greatly appreciated in the hot sun! I cannot say enough good things about the resort. My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I miss Cheeca already, after being home just for 1 day...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The room had a very strong humid smell, it had ants and the light were not working. The elevator had no AC and were extrimily derty, the maintanance was terrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice view of ocean

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nice grounds. Did not stay in the main lodge- elevators were dirty and dingy. Ate at Atlantic's Edge which was very nice. Not all staff was as friendly as you would expect with a 4 star rating. Pool was nice but lounge chairs were stained and wait staff not very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We are delighted our grounds, Atlantic's Edge and pool areas met your expectations. We will address the issues you raise in your comments, and appreciate you taking the time to respond. Please come again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, Ca

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Expedia, this was the best deal we ever made with you. I'm looking forward in finding more inclusive deals like this again in the near future. This was the very best vacation ever! We definitely will come back here to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was truly beautiful! Too bad we only stayed for a short time. We upgraded our room, and let me tell you, IT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY! Thank you Cheeca Lodge! Til we see you again hopefully next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
You are most welcome! We are delighted we delivered the best vacation ever, and we can't wait to have you back, hopefully for a longer stay. Thank you for your kind words about our staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Gluten free friendly

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Beds are very comfortable. Clean pools and grounds, well tended. Everyone very helpful, good customer service
Cons: Kayaks only available between 9.30- 5pm. In the middle of summer it's too hot to go out most of the day so opening until 6.30 would have been nice.
Location: Try Mangrove Mikes for gluten free pancakes .
We spent 3 days here and really enjoyed the hotel and facilities on offer. Lovely warm pools and the ocean was like a warm bath. Very shallow. Small sheltered sea pool popular with children as well as a swimming pool with adjacent bar. Adult pool quiet and cabanas free on a first come first served basis. Limoncello has gluten free pizza and pasta so great for children who don't like salads. Lots of restaurants nearby to try if you want something different. Overall would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderfully descriptive review of our property. We are delighted you enjoyed our Limoncello Italian restaurant, and we appreciate your recommendation. Please come back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Really beautiful landscaping and hotel. Great dining. Not a great beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

MOST AMAZING HOTEL EVER

Posted Jul 2, 2014
From the moment my husband and i arrived every employee at Cheeca Lodge greeted us and made sure we were finding everything okay. They have a lot of fun water activities too! I tried parasailing for the first time and all the employees in charge of that were great, they made me feel secure even though it was my first time doing anything that crazy! i will be returning to the Cheeca Lodge (:
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We are delighted we exceeded all your expectations, and that you had such a wonderful time here. We look forward to your return so we can do it all over again!