Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilton, CT

Poor attention to detail

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The rooms and the beach area.
Cons: Restaurant food an service. There is a lingering smell of hot cooking oil in the lobby and entryway.
Location: Islamorada is one of the less tacky Keys, but traffic on Route 1 a challenge. Best restaurants: Chef Michaels, S.A.L.T and M.E.A.T, and Bob's Bunz.
Check-in is at 4 pm, but we arrived at 2:30 and informed them we were there, They promised to notify us when our room was ready and took our car keys so the bellman could deliver our luggage. None of this ever happened, and after our continual questioning, we finally got into our room about 5:20 pm. The bellman took 10 minutes to locate our keys and we brought up our luggage ourselves. Meanwhile we had a snack in the outdoor restaurant, but it took over 30 minutes to arrive. The rooms are lovely and spacious: ours even included a hot tub, as well as a small refrigerator. The food in the restaurants was mediocre to poor, but there are several excellent nearby restaurants, and if you skip the hotel restaurants, you can have a really nice stay here. Breakfast consisted of cold sausage, cold under-cooked potatoes and underdone eggs. A room service dessert turned out to be an unopened pint of Haagen Dasz, a bowl and a spoon. And with no freezer, half of it went to waste. The beach area is beautiful, and the sunset boat ride was very nice. The beach area is a bit rocky for swimming but gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock Ontario Canada

Charming Haven

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Truly enjoyed our stay at the Cheeca Lodge. A bit pricey, but in my opinion, well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Keys Perfection

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Spectacular setting. Lush and tropical. Love it!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Cheeca Lodge was much more than we expected. It's a completely self-contained resort and you don't really have to leave the property. It's all there. Gorgeous beach with meticulously groomed white sand, but not so much a swimming beach. Beautiful pier. I recommend you take advantage of one of the bikes included in your resort fee and ride around the very large and lush property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aurora il

great place I really have no complaints

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: the weather was a bit chilly
Location: restaurants and shops nearby the traffic was a problem however probably the time of the year
clean,classy the adult pool and spa were enjoyable room was great balcony great with screened in so no bugs and separated from your neighbors
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Champagne at check-in. Free run of the resort. Courteous staff. Hidden jacuzzis. The entire stay was the highlight of my week in Florida. No need to explore elsewhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I have stayed there multiple times during the past 4-5 years and just returned from a long weekend stay. The hotel facilities are very nice in a beautiful setting. The service personal is nice, but VERY unprofessionally trained restaurant staff. VERY slow service, VERY slow check out. Poorly trained chaotic staff, otherwise great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Wonderful stay...will go back. Pros, location, big room, great bathroom, great deck ...we had oceanfront, grounds for walks and biking. Cons...our fan did not work, and restaurant staff, some, were extremely slow. Other than that it was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Amelia Island FL

Room Location

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: eating facilities and wait staff; the view was wonderful and they had great facilities.
Cons: Friendly, get room reserved that shows when you reserve it and administrative staff that care more about their guest
Location: great location with restaurants near by and off property activities were plentiful
The room I reserved for over $1800 for 3 nights had an Atlantic view from the hotel. we were put out in a remote building that only looked over the little golf course and trees--no Ocean. The service was very good not much personality from some of the administrative staff but all pleasant. I would not recommend due mainly for the high cost where we had no view. Again I clicked on two queen beds with an Atlantic Ocean view over the Hotel Pier. I feel like they put us remote due to my booking through Expedia for the highest rate that I have "EVER" personally paid and I have been to many excellent places in the USA for less per day rate with much nicer rooms and administrative staff. When I checked out the lady did not ask about my stay. Butch Lambert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Beautiful tropical paradise

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Great room with great views
Cons: Maid service is slow..
Location: We rented a boat and went fishing. There is a putt putt course not too far away and alot of good restaurants
The drive to the Lodge takes you through a beautiful tropical paradise. Seriously, the landscaping is breathtaking. We had a suite and a screened in porch to enjoy the morning and evenings. The way the rooms are set up, you don't even realize you have neighbors because you don't see them when you are sitting on your porch with your tea or coffee. Very nice touch. There are alot of activities to do, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking and jet skiing, but it was a little too cool to partake when we were there in February. There are alot of nice restaurants nearby, fresh fish everywhere! We had a very relaxing time here, and were able to re-charge very nicely. The ONLY complaint would be that the maid service is very slow. We got our room cleaned around 4:00 every day. I would recommend this place anyway because it is just so very beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beach hideaway

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Everything. The restaurants, the beach, the pools, the golf course and the staff
Location: The location is perfect there are tons of shopping and dinning opportunities within walking fistance
We loved Cheeca. The staff was great, very friendly. The beach was beautiful and very relaxing. The golf course is a great place to spend time with your kids. The pools are great and very well maintained. Cheeca's location is so private but you are right in the heart of Islamorada.