Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Eddy from Miami

Disappointing Sums it Up

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: See above.
Checked into the facility after booking a townhouse but was told we were "upgraded" to two rooms at the main hotel for a family of 5. After speaking to another employee, I was advised that the townhouses were actually overbooked which was the reason for the move. Checked in at 12:30 and requested a cot that was necessary for one of my 3 children. I reminded the front desk on two additional occasions and was told the cot was "on its way". Upon return to my room at 4pm, cot was not there and housekeeping advised me that they had given the last one away at 2pm. After complaining, a twin mattress was brought to the room and put on the floor. Room needed an upgrade--little shower pressure, rugs lifting up off of floor and overall significant wear and tear. TV in room was not working, technician arrived to fix it, advised me he was checking with "IT" to determine the problem and disappeared. TV never fixed and no explanation. Went to make shark tooth necklaces at Club and was told that they ran out of shark teeth. Really?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gen from North Carolina

Great hotel and amenities

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: It was self contained and the service was very good. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Location: There are plenty of good restaurants in Marathon -- which is where the resort is located - should you want to leave and sample local fare.
We loved the hotel and all of its amenities - gym, tennis, pool, kayaking and more. Plus, we were able to swim with the dolphins without leaving the complex!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Virgil from St Paul MN

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: We loved the salt water pool! That alone will bring us back.
Cons: The price of peripherals is a little high.And we bought drinks by the pool that were taken by the waitress when we were in the pool.
Location: Don't go to the Keys without going to Robbies and feed the tarpons!
Check-in was a breeze! It's a little confusing where to check-in because it's not clearly marked.It looks more like a concierge desk.Our condo was more than we expected.It has a nice sized kitchen that was equipped with enough to be able to cook in,pots n pans dishes silverware and a dishwasher. There are 2 full bathrooms and 1 half bath.I read in several reviews that toiletries and towels weren't provided but that's not the case. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs,one has a balcony facing the water,the other faces the parking lot. Beds were comfortable,could have used more pillows though.There is a sofa sleeper downstairs.One unexpected plus was a washer/dryer in the unit.The deck was a great place to sit and chat.It was equipped with table and chairs and a couple of loungers.There are 3 swimming pools on the property.One was 50 ft.from our room. It was not very busy,everyone went to the main pool at the resort.The main pool was very nice! It's a salt water pool.Way better the chlorine! And a very comfortable temperature!Spent a lot of time there! The pond is a nice touch also.You can get a Kayak or paddleboard or just swim around in there.Everything is in walking distance and they have a shuttle that can pick you up if you don't want to walk. There are 2 large grocery stores in Marathon to buy food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to the keys

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Stayed at Sunset Village. Very nice.
Location: Loved eating at The Island Fish Co. in Marathon. Great food!!
My family had a wonderful time. We loved all of the pools and riding bikes and connecting with the dolphins. Would liked to have been able to snorkel but mother nature's fault. Loved the beautiful foliage and wildlife. We definitely would come back to Hawks Cay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dean from Michigan

Perfect place for families

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location within the keys and was family friendly.
Location: Plenty of great places to eat within 15-20 min.
After reading several negative reviews prior to arriving I was a little worried. These reviews were all wrong! Over the course of 7 days we didn't have one negative experience. Everyone was helpful and extremely nice. We stayed in a Villa in Harbor Village. This unit had not been updated however, was clean and served its purpose. We had the choice between this villa and an updated one in Sunset Village and we chose this one for the location to everything within the resort. The only difference we could see was updated counter tops and flat panel t.v.'s. The kids want to come back again next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The property is beautiful and there is a lot to do.
Cons: For the amount of money, you are paying the customer service should be better.
We were very excited to get the opportunity to go to Hawk's Cay. Unfortunately, check in time was 4 p.m. and we did not get into our villa until 6:30 p.m. They did give us a $100 credit which was already spent at their bar/restaurant in the 2 1/2 hours we were waiting. The phone in our villa did not work so we could not book any of the activities directly. Despite multiple requests not to have housekeeping enter our villa, they did so all of the days we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Cincinnati, OH

Sad to leave

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Beautiful property - flowers, palm trees, safe for older kids to head out on their own. Free parking, valet, and tram. Friendly staff.
Cons: Some older units needed upgrading and/or repair.
Location: Enjoyed 2 days scuba diving with Dive Duck Key (on-site marina). Went mangrove kayaking with Kayak Dave in Marathon. 7mile bridge is a nice drive.
The initial unit we were given didn't meet the sleeping arrangements for our reservation, so they found us an alternate unit that worked out great. Our unit had lots of room and sliding glass doors with a screened in porch, so we were able to leave the doors open all week and feel the island breezes. Temps were a mild 74-78 range, but the sun was still very strong. At the main resort area you can watch dolphins perform, or relax by the pools, with poolside service to bring you drinks as needed. The lagoon is like your own little private saltwater pond with kayaks and paddle boards. Plenty of beach chairs in the shade or sun. The marina has a dock store with clothing and grocery items, and an ice cream shop (kid's favorite was the lemon sorbet!). There is a "tram" to take you everywhere at Hawk's Cay, but you can also walk anywhere within 5-10 minutes, or rent a bike. The valet parking is complimentary for guests at Hawk's Cay (included in the daily resort fee). Room service was very responsive when we needed extra towels and supplies. Would love to come back again and stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Cleveland, Ohio

Great hotel with tons of amenities

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, pleasant staff, a lot of scheduled programs for everyone, plenty of amenities. Liked having a good sized townhouse that fit my family of 4.
Cons: Our reservation for the dolphin experience was lost, but the people at the Dolphin connection tried to fit us in.
Location: Drove to Key West, Drove to some great restaurants. Visited some local area preserves.
We really enjoyed the two bedroom townhome. We had an amazing water view off the master bedroom and the living room. Two decks were perfect for sitting out and enjoying the view. The kitchen was perfect for times that we wanted to eat in. The resort was awesome. Good restaurants, plenty to do and see. Great location allowed us to swim with the dolphins, drove to key west for a day, and experience some of the local nature areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hawks Cay perfect family getaway

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Only 3 hrs from Miami, this wonderful getaway was a perfect Birthday gift for my 6yr old pirate. The townhouse was charming with a full kitchen and a fun patio that looked out at the canal. Hawk Cay grounds had five different pools and a kids club with everything from soccer, putt-putt golf, swimming, and a really cool pirate ship with water slides & cannons, the kids loved it. Near the main hotel was a number of pools with a lagoon and the Dolphin Connection, here the kids saw a number of dolphins relaxing & looking happy in their sanctuary. If I was more organized I would have booked one of the two of the dolphin classes (encounter or swimming etc) for the kids. I think there were maybe four restaurants throughout the resort, we ate at the outdoor place in the kids club and the food was great (fresh mahi mahi salad) and my mojito was fab! However, the restaurants near the main hotel seemed way over priced and really limited. Hopefully, on the next visit we will bring food to cook at the townhouse. I would definitely come back here for a long weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful family spring break !!!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
When we arrived late on Saturday , the hotel check- in was quick with all the information that we needed , Simon was wonderful . We found our Sunset Villa easily, from the reviews that I had read prior to booking, we made sure we checked the accommodation prior to unpacking the car and found them to be clean and in order . The only complaint I have is the 2nd bedroom TV. It had to be turned off a on at the TV ( remote did not work) , the TV was on the wall and my children could not reach it. The volume also was not able to be adjusted . I think it's time for a new. TV for that room . I also could not turn off light in center of room while the fan was running. So either light and fan on or all off . This was the same bedroom . There could have been more drawers so that we could have unpacked our suitcases since we were there for 5 nights . Overall , I would recommend this place for a family trip. We were all very happy with the resort and all the activities that were available. The boys loved the Dolophin experience and kayaking We are already planning to return next year !!!