Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to the keys

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Stayed at Sunset Village. Very nice.
Location: Loved eating at The Island Fish Co. in Marathon. Great food!!
My family had a wonderful time. We loved all of the pools and riding bikes and connecting with the dolphins. Would liked to have been able to snorkel but mother nature's fault. Loved the beautiful foliage and wildlife. We definitely would come back to Hawks Cay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dean from Michigan

Perfect place for families

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location within the keys and was family friendly.
Location: Plenty of great places to eat within 15-20 min.
After reading several negative reviews prior to arriving I was a little worried. These reviews were all wrong! Over the course of 7 days we didn't have one negative experience. Everyone was helpful and extremely nice. We stayed in a Villa in Harbor Village. This unit had not been updated however, was clean and served its purpose. We had the choice between this villa and an updated one in Sunset Village and we chose this one for the location to everything within the resort. The only difference we could see was updated counter tops and flat panel t.v.'s. The kids want to come back again next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The property is beautiful and there is a lot to do.
Cons: For the amount of money, you are paying the customer service should be better.
We were very excited to get the opportunity to go to Hawk's Cay. Unfortunately, check in time was 4 p.m. and we did not get into our villa until 6:30 p.m. They did give us a $100 credit which was already spent at their bar/restaurant in the 2 1/2 hours we were waiting. The phone in our villa did not work so we could not book any of the activities directly. Despite multiple requests not to have housekeeping enter our villa, they did so all of the days we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Cincinnati, OH

Sad to leave

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Beautiful property - flowers, palm trees, safe for older kids to head out on their own. Free parking, valet, and tram. Friendly staff.
Cons: Some older units needed upgrading and/or repair.
Location: Enjoyed 2 days scuba diving with Dive Duck Key (on-site marina). Went mangrove kayaking with Kayak Dave in Marathon. 7mile bridge is a nice drive.
The initial unit we were given didn't meet the sleeping arrangements for our reservation, so they found us an alternate unit that worked out great. Our unit had lots of room and sliding glass doors with a screened in porch, so we were able to leave the doors open all week and feel the island breezes. Temps were a mild 74-78 range, but the sun was still very strong. At the main resort area you can watch dolphins perform, or relax by the pools, with poolside service to bring you drinks as needed. The lagoon is like your own little private saltwater pond with kayaks and paddle boards. Plenty of beach chairs in the shade or sun. The marina has a dock store with clothing and grocery items, and an ice cream shop (kid's favorite was the lemon sorbet!). There is a "tram" to take you everywhere at Hawk's Cay, but you can also walk anywhere within 5-10 minutes, or rent a bike. The valet parking is complimentary for guests at Hawk's Cay (included in the daily resort fee). Room service was very responsive when we needed extra towels and supplies. Would love to come back again and stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Cleveland, Ohio

Great hotel with tons of amenities

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, pleasant staff, a lot of scheduled programs for everyone, plenty of amenities. Liked having a good sized townhouse that fit my family of 4.
Cons: Our reservation for the dolphin experience was lost, but the people at the Dolphin connection tried to fit us in.
Location: Drove to Key West, Drove to some great restaurants. Visited some local area preserves.
We really enjoyed the two bedroom townhome. We had an amazing water view off the master bedroom and the living room. Two decks were perfect for sitting out and enjoying the view. The kitchen was perfect for times that we wanted to eat in. The resort was awesome. Good restaurants, plenty to do and see. Great location allowed us to swim with the dolphins, drove to key west for a day, and experience some of the local nature areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hawks Cay perfect family getaway

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Only 3 hrs from Miami, this wonderful getaway was a perfect Birthday gift for my 6yr old pirate. The townhouse was charming with a full kitchen and a fun patio that looked out at the canal. Hawk Cay grounds had five different pools and a kids club with everything from soccer, putt-putt golf, swimming, and a really cool pirate ship with water slides & cannons, the kids loved it. Near the main hotel was a number of pools with a lagoon and the Dolphin Connection, here the kids saw a number of dolphins relaxing & looking happy in their sanctuary. If I was more organized I would have booked one of the two of the dolphin classes (encounter or swimming etc) for the kids. I think there were maybe four restaurants throughout the resort, we ate at the outdoor place in the kids club and the food was great (fresh mahi mahi salad) and my mojito was fab! However, the restaurants near the main hotel seemed way over priced and really limited. Hopefully, on the next visit we will bring food to cook at the townhouse. I would definitely come back here for a long weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful family spring break !!!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
When we arrived late on Saturday , the hotel check- in was quick with all the information that we needed , Simon was wonderful . We found our Sunset Villa easily, from the reviews that I had read prior to booking, we made sure we checked the accommodation prior to unpacking the car and found them to be clean and in order . The only complaint I have is the 2nd bedroom TV. It had to be turned off a on at the TV ( remote did not work) , the TV was on the wall and my children could not reach it. The volume also was not able to be adjusted . I think it's time for a new. TV for that room . I also could not turn off light in center of room while the fan was running. So either light and fan on or all off . This was the same bedroom . There could have been more drawers so that we could have unpacked our suitcases since we were there for 5 nights . Overall , I would recommend this place for a family trip. We were all very happy with the resort and all the activities that were available. The boys loved the Dolophin experience and kayaking We are already planning to return next year !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by christina from greenwich, ct

Very nice resort

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: activities, accommodations
Cons: wi-fi, restaurants on site don't offer wide variety
Location: water sports at this resort are great - staff for water sports was great and very helpful.
really enjoyed our stay at Hawk's Cay - it was so nice to be able to do all the activities we wanted to do right from the resort without having to drive to another key. Parasailing, snorkeling, jet skies and dolphin encounters - all right from the resort - how convenient! Very happy with all the activities, the staff was great too. WiFi was not as great - very slow and so my family was not happy about that. Restaurants on site were limited, but there are many great restaurants close by in marathon. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2013
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013