Ratings based on 1,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful common areas, dated disappointing rooms,

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. beautiful vista and common areas
Cons: Update rooms, change bed linens more often, better bathroom, amenities include daily house keeping service.
Beautiful common areas lobby, pools, fire pit, ballroom and beach. Room was dated worn tile, 1980's alarm clock, very small bedrooms in two bedroom villa. Queen bed barely fit in room. TV picture fuzzy, most channels not working. Huge cobb webs in kitchen, poor bath amenities, poor quality towels, no coffee packs left in room to use. small bathroom vanity, queen bed had twin mattress pad stretched across that kept popping up. NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING SERVICE included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Steamboat Springs, CO

Hawks Cay Villas with two small children

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Loved the kids amenities. Our sunset villa came with its own splash pool which was awesome.
Cons: The wireless internet needs to work for guests.
Location: Went to Sombrero Beach in Marathon. Groceries are easily bought in Marathon (10 miles away).
We spent 4 nights in mid-April 2015 at Hawks Cay Resort with our two small children (23 months and 5 1/2). We stayed in the Sunset Villas away from the heart of the resort. The tram made it easy to move around the large resort without driving or having to walk everywhere with two little kids. By far the highlight was the kids pool area that included the Pirate Ship pool. I asked my daughter her top three favorite things about our 2 week vacation to the Florida Keys and the Hawks Cay Pirate Ship pool made the list. We were disappointed to find that the wireless internet in the Villa did not work due to a large infrastructure project to fix/upgrade it all. It would have been nice if this was proactively explained to all guests instead of letting us believe it worked until we figured out that it did not. Since my husband was there to vacation and work - this was a HUGE inconvenience for us. I plan to return to Hawks Cay but NOT until the wireless internet is working again in the Villas. Large property with 5 different pools, including an adults only pool. Loved that our villa had laundry and a dishwasher - a must while on vacation with kids. The villa was a bit on the small side - which could be an issue if you were a larger person and needed room to move. Clearly the units were designed to maximize the number of units on the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VERMONT

Perfect for families.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
The resort was huge. Staff was very friendly. The washer and drier in the villa rooms was a major plus. Pools every which way. The adult pool was nice when we needed quiet time. And the indies club for the children was awesome. It was great for my daughter when she wanted to get away from us parents. ;-) anf the staff there was great with my child. She had a blast in the pirate water slide!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Deceiving website. A lot of hidden extra fees.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location - vicinity from Miami airport to Key West.
Cons: Cleanliness and fees.
Location: Great central location to Miami airport, easy to get to Key West. Lots of great restaurants directly on Route 1 in both directions.
If you are from the mid-Atlantic region and are expecting Ocean City or Myrtle Beach type resorts, this is not it. There really isn't a beach. The lagoon is cute but not practical as there are concrete bag retaining walls and only a few access areas. There are activity fees that you must pay even if you don't use them. The parasailing and jet skis are expensive. We found out we paid triple of what the marinas in the area were charging. The food is not good and ridiculously priced. Pizza for four with drinks was over one-hundred twenty dollars. The Marina Villa had a sour smell and the shower head was broken. Carpets were stained and nasty. This was an "Upgrade" that cost an additional eighty dollars over the Sunset Villa I had already booked. We had a good time because we always have a good time no matter what, but the room was a downer. Go to local restaurants to eat. Sunset Grill on the north side of the 7 mile bridge is spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast, ME

Nice resort with some ups and some downs.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location and variety of facilities are nice. We especially enjoyed the pool and facilities at the kids club and spa.
Cons: Drink and food prices could be reduced. We would have purchased more food and drinks if the prices were more affordable.
We stayed in the Marina villas, which I think is the best area to be. These are equidistant to the main pool/lagoon, the kids club/spa and the marina/store. All of the villas are smaller than the pictures make them out to be. This was disappointing, especially the master bedroom and bathrooms, which are tiny. We did some activities, like para-sailing, kayaking, bike riding and the sunset cruise. All of these cost money. I think the resort could offer non-motorized sports for free. The sunset cruise was very nice and actually worthwhile since the beverages were free! We ate at Ocean and at the Tiki Bar. I have read some complaints, but we found the food to be pretty good and I loved Puglisi's pizza. We also had a couple of drinks one evening at Alma. While the drink prices are silly, the bartenders were really nice and interesting. Our only real complaint is similar to others - the price of food and drink. However, that is easily solved by buying some groceries and making your own meals and drinks. I think the management of the resort should realize that they could make more money if they lowered the prices. This would make it less of an incentive for people to do what we did. If the drinks at the bar were more affordable, we would definitely have spent more time and money there. Instead, we limited ourselves and simply went back to the villa to make our own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere Friendly staff
Cons: Cheaper prices for drinks at the tikka bar
Location: Lovely location to relax
We were recommended this hotel and we were not dissapointed very glad we experienced the resort
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fll

We in the keys

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Reception, check in, parking, good food restaurant availability
Location: Beautiful location near Marathon
Check in @ 4, not ready @ 4:45. Took whichever room was available. Very noisy place, lot of families with little kids Parking too small, had to go to valet parking One good restaurant, full, no table available The other one more like a cantina: buffet, card not very interesting, very noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Clean nice family place,but hate nickel and diming

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Loved entertainment at night by the pool, the multicolored lights and tiki torches by the pool at night, the ceiling fans on the porches of the villas
Cons: Should not advertise internet. oo bad they don't put resort fee and others into the price. Bigger bathrooms!
Location: Great location, 1 1/2 hrs to key west (wouldn't bother if you want to relax), and30 miles to great snorkeling beach Bahai Honda- bring snorkels!
When we first arrived our townhouse had no air conditioning. They were great and sent bell man right away to help us move two doors down to a nicer townhouse- we had 2 bathrooms, two bedrooms, kitchen was wonderful, blender an ice maker were real treats, view was nice in the Sunset Villas. There was two porches, both with ceiling fans. On the third day I had to ask how to get fresh towels, and they responded right away with a huge pile of them that kept us for the stay. So be sure to ask! Also- internet was out in ALL Villas. This was a problem for my 17 year old. They offered to refund the resort daily fee, which was fine with me. I noticed that someone else had written in the Guest Services book that resort fee would be refunded due to WIFI, so I am thinking it was and will be out for a while. The hotel had WIFI so if that is important to you (or your teens) you may want to ask before you go. Lagoon is smaller than how it looks in pictures, and everything is very expensive. But service was great, the landscaping is absolutely pristine, everything was very clean. SNUBA was fabulous, parasailing was a once in a lifetime event. Villa was spacious in living room and porches, but beds in rooms were so large you had to shimmy around the bed or whack your shin. Bathrooms were also tiny. But overall, very nice place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, MA

Great kids' hotel but disappointing accomodations

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: the pools. parking right at your villa. the outside area of the pool. We had a plunge pool but were grossed out by it since no one seemed to clean it.
Cons: Housekeeping management and oversight. The general condition of the villas - one of the sinks is leaning and caulked that way! Just more cleanliness.
Location: Middle Florida Keys - great smaller fisheries for terrific fresh fish! Lots of "fish" encounter possibilities nearby
Overall - We had a wonderful time when we were not in our villa (stayed in 7104 - "harborside" villas, though we were no where near the harbor, in a relative sense, and had a view of the soccer field at the Indies Club/pirate pool area). The pools are great - especially the two pools at the Indies Club. The lagoon was nice too but a little challenging for us with an infant (we have 3 boys - ages 6, almost 4 and 3.5 months). Food - Ocean - very good. All dishes were really well prepared! Pleasant staff but not amazing service. A little pricey but good. Beach grill (poolside order) - the fish tacos were fine. The fish sandwich also fine. The salad was so bad. half the ingredients mentioned on the menu were not included and the fish was way overcooked. Very disappointed. the drinks were good though! Alma -only had dessert and ceviche (which was really not to our liking and didn't taste like any ceviche we've ever had, in a bad way) - overall it was way over priced ($8 for a dish of ice cream?) Rooms - we booked a harborside villa and even paid up a little for a larger room. We were given a handicap accessible room and it was awkward. The walls were splattered with random things and the overall cleanliness was just sub par. Given to us to clean during the week - only a broom. We bought some wipes to clean surfaces but seriously needed mopping. Requested service 3x and no one came. Really should be given a mop, bucket & soap if no daily service. Kids' dirty feet = dirty tile!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we enjoyed reading the highlights of your family getaway in the Keys, we regret any concerns regarding your accommodations. It is always our top priority to create a wonderful atmosphere for all of our guests and we are sorry that we did not accomplish this for you. Your thoughts will be shared with our housekeeping staff and our management team as we reaffirm our commitment to improving our guest experience. We are currently completing numerous refreshes to our property as part of a multi-million dollar update and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a truly enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Just stayed mid April 2015. The room was nice and clean. However the breakfast Buffett cost of 22$ was not worth the money. It was an expensive continental breakfast which should be included considering the cost of the hotel stay and the extra resort fee of 39/day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. While we are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations, we regret if you did not consider our expansive breakfast buffet of freshly made menu items to be a value. We hope that you’ll consider another stay with us in the future.