Ratings based on 1,269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fll

We in the keys

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Reception, check in, parking, good food restaurant availability
Location: Beautiful location near Marathon
Check in @ 4, not ready @ 4:45. Took whichever room was available. Very noisy place, lot of families with little kids Parking too small, had to go to valet parking One good restaurant, full, no table available The other one more like a cantina: buffet, card not very interesting, very noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, MA

Great kids' hotel but disappointing accomodations

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: the pools. parking right at your villa. the outside area of the pool. We had a plunge pool but were grossed out by it since no one seemed to clean it.
Cons: Housekeeping management and oversight. The general condition of the villas - one of the sinks is leaning and caulked that way! Just more cleanliness.
Location: Middle Florida Keys - great smaller fisheries for terrific fresh fish! Lots of "fish" encounter possibilities nearby
Overall - We had a wonderful time when we were not in our villa (stayed in 7104 - "harborside" villas, though we were no where near the harbor, in a relative sense, and had a view of the soccer field at the Indies Club/pirate pool area). The pools are great - especially the two pools at the Indies Club. The lagoon was nice too but a little challenging for us with an infant (we have 3 boys - ages 6, almost 4 and 3.5 months). Food - Ocean - very good. All dishes were really well prepared! Pleasant staff but not amazing service. A little pricey but good. Beach grill (poolside order) - the fish tacos were fine. The fish sandwich also fine. The salad was so bad. half the ingredients mentioned on the menu were not included and the fish was way overcooked. Very disappointed. the drinks were good though! Alma -only had dessert and ceviche (which was really not to our liking and didn't taste like any ceviche we've ever had, in a bad way) - overall it was way over priced ($8 for a dish of ice cream?) Rooms - we booked a harborside villa and even paid up a little for a larger room. We were given a handicap accessible room and it was awkward. The walls were splattered with random things and the overall cleanliness was just sub par. Given to us to clean during the week - only a broom. We bought some wipes to clean surfaces but seriously needed mopping. Requested service 3x and no one came. Really should be given a mop, bucket & soap if no daily service. Kids' dirty feet = dirty tile!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Just stayed mid April 2015. The room was nice and clean. However the breakfast Buffett cost of 22$ was not worth the money. It was an expensive continental breakfast which should be included considering the cost of the hotel stay and the extra resort fee of 39/day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Wonderful Getaway!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: We love the layed back atmosphere of the Florida Keys and Hawk's Cay didn't disappoint, wether at our villa or throughout the resort. Very relaxing!
Cons: As mentioned already, although the staff is friendly they have no sense of urgency to get things done, including checking you in. Food choices!
Location: The resort has restaurants, a market, and water sports onsite but they're not always open limiting choices. For more variety and value you need a car.
We were 2 young couples and a few teenagers on a weekend getaway staying in a 2/2.5 villa in the Harbor Village. We had been wanting to stay at the resort for some time and were very excited when we got a good deal on short notice until we started reading more online reviews. Too late though, we had already booked. So on we went and we are all now very glad we did. Overall we had a great experience at the resort and would love to return. It's not perfect but I feel like we stayed at a completely different resort from some of the other online reviewers. Our villa was very clean and comfortable and the grounds were well maintained. The view from the villa to the canal is beautiful and we had some fun jumping from the boardwalk into the canal. The porch and balcony were our favorite places. The villa is well stocked with utensils, plates, cups, etc. The furniture does have some wear and tear but isn't falling apart as some reviews mention. The villas are not incredibly spacious but adequate. The main resort is a 10 minute walk away tops, depending on how far down the canal your villa is. The pool and lagoon area are very nice but overrun with little kids, it is a family resort after all. The adults only pool is much more relaxing. Everyone can find something to do at the resort. The staff is friendly and accommodating but can be a little slow; but like anyone that's been to the Keys or Caribbean knows, this is the norm. Food choices are limited and not a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great keys resort and close to everything!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
For those not able to wake up for an early breakfast while on vacation, I recommend a better variety of sandwiches and pastries within the Starbucks in the lobby. Unfortunately, Ocean Restaurants breakfast buffet closes at 10:30 a.m.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom m

Horrible

Posted Apr 20, 2015
alarm went off, no water in the morning to take a shower
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but,

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Without water for a night and without hot water for a day and a night
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we are glad that you considered your stay to be pleasant, we are sorry if any moments were less than ideal. Our staff is always available to ensure that accommodations are exactly as they should be for our guests. Thank you and we hope you’ll come back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent spot in the Keys!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great resort and service was exceptional. location and amenities were fabulous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed your time at Hawks Cay Resort. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Nice place to stay in the keys. A bit over-priced.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
4pm check in time was not good, cuts our day in half from enjoying pool, sun etc. $39.00 per day Resort Fee for what? we just used the pool. Food and drinks, ok but not great and is overpriced. The place itself is nice, great place for kids. Swim with the Dolphins etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed the property and found plenty of activities for the kids. Guests are free to inquire about an early check-in, which our staff is happy to accommodate when possible. Our resort charge covers a number of amenities including Wi-Fi, parking, access to the Indies Club and Calm Waters Fitness Center, unlimited use of our Putting Course, Sports Field, Tennis Facility and much more. Thank you for reviewing your experience, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Fl

Relaxing resort

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Stayed at Hawks Cay many times. I just love the villas!! I recommend getting one verses a hotel room. I was a little disappointed in this stay because it was first time I saw the pool area by my villa in the 5 lot in such a dirty state as far as towels and trash just laying around and garbage cans over flowing. I saw no workers at all cleaning the mess up. It was like that for hours! It was just a little disappointing to me because all my other stays were perfect. I'm hoping this was a one time event.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
The feedback we receive is always greatly appreciated, especially when it comes from a guest that has experienced a number of enjoyable stays at Hawks Cay Resort. While we love that you find our villas to offer ideal accommodations, we deeply regret if your experience at the pool was not as you hoped. We will look further into your comments to ensure these areas are at their best. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you for yet another visit soon.