Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Jun 27, 2014
You get what you pay for. The room wasn't the most comfortable, with a bed that had my back sore the next day, but it was one of the cheapest spots in town. If you are on a budget and looking for a room on the cheap, the location is convenient to the state park. If you can afford to spend more, head towards someplace nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ocala, fl

canal front hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: liked the fact it was pet friendly which is one of the reasons i booked a room here plus great view from the balcony looking down on the canal.
Cons: just some minor maintenance: sliding door to balcony needs new rollers. was really hard to slide door open or close.
Location: great location on canal…."african queen" a couple of hundred yards at end of canal, was soooo cool to watch her motor up the canal.
nice hotel on canal. quiet and relaxing. was nice to sit on the screened in balcony and watch the boats coming and going. room was great with living room/bathroom with shower/kitchen/balcony on one floor and then the bedroom and a second bathroom with tub on the second floor. lots of room. pet friendly hotel (we had a little pomeranian), only complaint was we were quoted $25 for entire stay for pet but upon arrival we were charged $50, supposedly fee had just gone up. we stayed 4 nights so it really was not a big deal, but be aware to check pet fee if you are bringing one. was nice to have kitchen, not a lot of utensils or pots/pans etc but there was only two of us so we had everything we needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good home base for exploring keys

Posted May 29, 2014
Cons: better wifi reception
It was great to have full kitchen, balcony and the pool. It was well located close to amenities but far enough off main road to be quite. The building is a bit tired but everything was clean and seemed to work although wifi was weak in places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Fairborn,Ohio

Place to rest between Dives.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
The only thing about this motel is that it has been around a while. It's not new, but adds to the experience of being on Key Largo. The staff was very friendly, room was CLEAN and comfortable. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. GREAT place if you're diving Pennekamp.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gail from Minnesota

Older, but fine.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Patio, friendly staff.
Cons: Better water pressure in shower, dish soap in kitchen (only provided dishwasher soap).
Asked and got a handicapped room, but realized that the full bedroom was up a flight of stairs. A sofa bed was available on the ground floor. Loved the balcony outside, and the view of the marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by StevieG from UK

5 nights May 2014

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Size of room Price
Cons: Rooms need updating. Pool could be cleaned daily as it tends to fill up with leaves etc.
As other reviewers have said this hotel is dated but the rooms are big over two floors and this is quite a cheap hotel for Key Largo. It may be worth noting that some of the rooms are opposite one of the keys most popular bars and thus can be a little on the noisy side so its worth asking for a quiet room (Sharkeys has live music most nights of the week but it is normally finished by 10:30pm).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near everywhere in Key Largo

Posted May 8, 2014
Cons: WiFi was challenging and only worked at certain random times.
Good location and friendly staff. Room was great and had most serving amenities. Connecting to the WiFi was a bit of a challenge though.
3 out of 5
by Tom from Bonita Springs, FL

Something good, then other things

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The size of the unit, a 2 full bath with a complete kitchen ( including dishes, pots, pans, utensils) nice little lanai overlooking canal.
Cons: Soap not good,no shampoo, shower results in washing in a puddle, slider looks like someone tried to break in damage not repaired.
Location: Great restaurants, all sorts of fun water things to do.
Spent two nights there. Basically just slept there all our meals were outside, so didn't use kitchen. And we were out each night so only came back and showered and got into bed.
1 out of 5
by NVexplorer from Las Vegad

Horrible and decrepit. Do not stay here.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
This is the most disgusting and decrepit place you will ever see. No money has been spent on updates and maintenance in 50.years. Rug was terribly stained and filthy. Place stank. Truly awful experience. Expedia should not book this bell hole.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great location, near Pennecamp and downtown Key Largo. Room was OK.