Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom illinois

King suite is awesome! Not sure about the queen

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Stayed in the king room suite and it was great. Plenty of room, privacy, and just a really nice room. Some of the queen rooms looked smaller and close together but if you're staying in the king you should love it. Staff was nice and pretty laid back. Parking is a little challenging but always managed to find a spot. Good location, walking distance to pretty mutch everything in old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hollywood, fl

Perfect stay

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Wonderful! Would stay here again. Service was great! Complimentry breakfast was delicious. Very relaxing anywhere on property. Even Jordan the cat was very cordial. Definitely would stay here again. Also the rate was reasonable compared to the other places I checked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Great location to Duval St.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Everything except the bed.
Cons: Softer beds and possibly offer king size rather than only queen beds.
Location: Definitely rent a bike you do not need a car to get around Key West. This location was awesome and walking distance to everything.
The room and grounds were well taken care of. Everything was very clean including the pool/hot tub. The office staff was excellent in answering all of our questions about the area. The only problem we had was that the bed was extremely hard for us. Other than that we had no complaints and would stay here again. It was so pretty and only one block from all of the action on Duval Street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
The room is too small and smelly. The pool is small. The staff are nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Beach, FLA.

How can anyone complain?

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: No improvements.
Location: RIGHT SMACK IN THE MIDDLE of Old Town (Key West). Equidistance from EVERYTHING. And I mean EVERYTHING.
Can't say enough about this place. The staff, the grounds, the facilities, the amenities. All superb. Keep in mind that this is a historic guesthouse, not a modern day luxury suite hotel. I had friends that stayed at one of those high end luxury suite hotels paying for one night more than what I paid for my entire stay at The Merlin Guesthouse and they said they plan to stay at the Merlin next time. Authentic, clean, well groomed and manicured grounds, phenomenal complimentary breakfast, AND RIGHT SMACK IN THE MIDDLE of Old Town (Key West). Equidistance from EVERYTHING. And I mean EVERYTHING. Can't wait to go back. I opted for the Queen Economy as I was alone for a couple of nights, but next time I plan to stay there for at least a week and will definitely get a King Room. They are beyond words.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Elkton, MD

Quaint and Quiet but near all the Action

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Cleanliness
Location: Only a block from Duval and a short walk to many of the must visit location in Key West
This is our second stay at the Merlin. Our first was over 10 years ago, but the guest house retains all of the character that we loved so much on our first visit. The room was clean and comfortable, the grounds were lovely and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Since the Merlin is just a block off of Duval it’s close to everything, but still far enough from the party scene that it is a quiet retreat from the crowds in the touristy parts of Key West.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

a little slice of heaven

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: everything!
Location: short walk to Duval street, Hemingway house and basically everything on key West. We walked everywhere without any problem.
This place is perfect. Everything about it was top notch. Rooms, grounds, staff, even the house cat ~ excellent! We would stay here again and again if we go back to Key West.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, pool
Cons: Very expensive, but I guess that is due to Key West prices!
Location: Everything is near-by, just 2 blocks from Duval street (famous shopping street)
Helpful, friendly staff. Tiny pool but really nice to relax in (spa pool) Simple hotel but good breakfast and nice and clean,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Quaint and Unique.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: It felt like you were staying in someone's home more than a hotel. The wooden slats on the window, the four poster bed and a chair outside the room.
Cons: The bed needs a new mattress as the one we slept on sank in the middle, shower small, curtain not long enough and hard to watch the TV from the bed.
Location: 9 blocks from the pier, 3 blocks to Ernest Hemmingway's house and the lighthouse which was across the street. Lots of shops if looking for t-shirts.
This was our first time staying in Key West and we did enjoy visiting. I like the fact that we were able to get a room on the first floor and that there was a porch which faced the street. It gave you the feel of been in your own home and sitting out on the porch and just watching things go by. Even though we had to park on the street we were able to take a cab down to the pier, which did not cost a lot and we took pictures of the sunset, then did some shopping at the little market square and then went across the street to The Roof Top Café for dinner which was just out of this world. We took in some more sites visiting some of the shops and then we called for the taxi which took us back to our hotel. I have to say that it's the first time I have been in a pink taxi and that was totally enjoyable for me as it was a Ford Escape and I drive a silver Escape. We did enjoy our stay even though it was very hot. During the day we walked to Ernest Hemmingway's house and took the tour, then walked back the three blocks to our hotel and rested before going out for dinner and sunset pics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent price and great location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the rooms though small had everything you needed and the staff was friendly.
Cons: The rooms are kind of small, but they are still very comfortable. The location and price really beat it
Cozy room with private bathroom. Very comfortable with friendly staff. Very close to Duval and some great restaurants.