Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sugarloaf Key FL

Simple casual lodging

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Simple, great location, super clean room.
Location: Great new restaurant less than one mile away called Grassy Key Outpost.
Traveling the keys by bicycle, we always stay at the Seashell Beach Resort which is conveniently located halfway through the Keys.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return to this hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: The view was great!
Cons: Get rid of the bugs!!
Location: There is so much to do in the Keys. This is a nice location for a stop in between.
We arrived late in the night and thought at first glance that everything looked beautiful. I noticed a few small bugs on the bathroom floor when we arrived. Throughout the night I used the washroom again and noticed even more bugs... I could not sleep thinking that there were bugs in the bed too if there were bugs on the floor. When we got up in the morning there were these same little bugs all over the counter everywhere! We just wanted to get out of there as fast as we could. I did tell the person in the office. She said that these bugs were all over the Keys and there was nothing they could do to get rid of them. I stayed the night before in another hotel in Key West and never saw bugs there??? It is a beautiful place and believe it or not without the bugs it was clean. The bathroom could use some updating. But sorry, I can't get past the bugs!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service

Posted Oct 7, 2014
I cannot speak to the quality of the rooms as I did not end up staying there the room ratings I posted are not relevant to my review. I was in the keys on vacation and I wanted to stay another night. I booked this hotel thru my expedia mobile app. When booking there was no notification that the pool was under construction at all. When I arrived we were walking down to the beach area just to check out the property, and the front desk person came out and stated we could not walk down there that we had to check in first. She was insistent I found this very odd. Then when checking in, I was just then notified that the pool was not operational at all. I expressed my concern, , and even after I explained that it was not on my mobile app when I made the reservation, there was zero empathy, and the front desk person just said well I will try to sell your room. Yes I did get a phone call later that night saying that the room was not able to be sold. However wouldn't they want to retain or grow the business? I believe the appropriate solution should have been , so sorry for the inconvenience please come back and stay with us after our pool is complete. Instead I was charged for a night that I did not utilize. Where has great service gone? Why would anyone not see the value in just taking care of the customer?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the money friendly staff

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Good for the money friendly staff,gorgeous view. Nothing out of this world gets the job done
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, Fl

Very nice

Posted Sep 8, 2014
I loved my stay there. I will definitely go back. The room was clean and the view was amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Everything was great besides the smell of the room, and the fact that the a.c wouldn't get cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville, ky

Amazing view right on the water!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Arrived late and our keys were waiting for us. Beautiful area and our room was right on the water. I didn't want to leave!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Horrible

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, cleanliness and room amenities
Location: Nothing, absolutely nothing
This is not a hotel ...its dirty bad with non-existent service and stinky resemblance of a beach. Definitely not worth the price or the mane that includes the word "Resort". Air conditioner is conveniently located above the bad for added noise pollution. Hotel is 50ft from Rout 1 with added benefit of poor noise insulation. Poor insulation also contributed to my awareness of the conversations next door. Don’t wait for the breakfast ... they don’t even have seating arrangements for that. Front desk closes at 8PM. They do give you a number to call, but calling is pointless as nobody picks up on the other end.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Dirty conditions and not worth the money. sorry

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Upgrade furniture, bathroom must be improved, new to and furniture. You could have a goldmine.
Location: Not much
Bathroom was in need of upgrade and paint. ceiling was covered with dust and dirt. tv is old and hard to see. Beach was dirty and stunk. Would not swim in it. Sorry, but I would not recommend to anyone. Spend some money and upgrade you could have a goldmine. Harry
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Affordable place to stay for the night

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Affordable to sleep there. Expected not much more for the place. Nice stay with good view. Nice to look at beach but not to swim in... sleep was good, friendly staff. We would go again for just sleeping.