Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not what we expected.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
It was represented that there were three beaches available for our use. There were none. The rooms were very dirty. We are requesting a refund.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from STL

Older hotel but still decent

Posted Jun 19, 2015
I've read a lot of bad reviews so I was worried when booking this hotel. Yes it was older and needing remodeling but overall it was a nice place to stay with my family. Loved to just sit in the hammock and relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm beach

No refunds

Posted Jun 16, 2015
My app made a mistake on the date. They would not help me change or cancel. So they got their money, we got nothing. They would not answer the phone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit mi

I new not to expect to much

Posted May 18, 2015
this was the worst booking we ever had..the smell the worst mattress bugs an lizards in room..I know how ocean front can be but u can't get in 5 feet of seaweed n trash blocking ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key West

Posted May 16, 2015
This hotel is a sweet hidden gem. I wanted a Birthday getaway, living in the Keys I wanted something with charm. If you're looking for 5 star dining, this isn't for you. If you'd like a friendly, accomadating staff, with full kitchens to cook your catch while you mingle with fellow travelers -you will love it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

acceptable accommodations with wonderful location.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: location, location...view, view !!!
Cons: a bit more attentiveness to room details
Location: about 45 minutes down the keys, close to "downtown" marathon for restaurants, shopping & the fantastic Sombrero Beach.
When we arrived for our 3 night stay, it appeared to be quite slow..one other car in the parking lot. although check-in was 4pm, we hoped to be able to get in a bit earlier...having rarely found that this is not a possibility. We were informed at the desk, that check-in was at 4..no exceptions..no possibility of anything earlier. It seemed as though the cleaning "staff" was on island time..quite laid back and slow moving..perhaps this was the reason that an earlier check-in could not be considered. As stated in title..the location is superb..right on the water, with nice enough grounds..not fancy but OK. LIttle things..bedroom TV remote didn't work, exhaust fan in bathroom didn't work..were an annoyance. Other than check-in..the office staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

Beautiful location on beach

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pleasing "keys-style" inn, clean, basic, nothing very fancy. Nice beach and dock. No breakfast, but it is immediately adjacent to a modest restaurant serving breakfast. Like a lot of keys motels, no overnight staff, so best to arrive before the office closes for the evening, or else it could be hard to locate your room -- the inn consists in part of separate cottages, and it could be hard to find your way in the dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice affordable resort type hotel on the beach.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The courtesy of the staff. The amenities, and most importantly the cleanliness.
Cons: The rooms, indoor and outdoor furniture and property itself needs updated.
My husband and I were very pleased with the accommodations at the Yellow Tail Inn. The rooms and property was very, very clean. The Outpost being nearly on the premises is a huge plus. Excellent food and grocery. If so inclined you can enjoy a relaxing vacation and never get back into your auto. The property does needs quite a bit of updating. This is not a luxury resort. If you choose to stay at the Yellow Tail Inn be very careful on the uneven walkways. Would I stay there again? Most definitely.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

filthy,smelly,gross

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: the fact that I never have to stay there again
Cons: Raze it, and put in a sewage treatment plant.
It was a night I want to forget. There was a bad smell to the room, the blinds did not work properly to keep the restuarant lites from shining in.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Francis H from Charlotte, NC

Disappointing Cottage........

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived at the Yellowtail Inn, and they showed us our cottage(If that's what you want to call it!) this cottage was a mere closet...Very disappointed with the disgusting cottage...We demanded our money back...Fortunately, the woman at the front desk said they had a 2 bedroom condo in one of the other hotels they owned...We jumped on it unfortunately, we had to pay an extra $130.00 a night..Almost $400.00 a night was a bit much but, anything to get out of the horrible cottage...