Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm Bay, FL

Great place wish we could have stayed longer.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great amenities and activities, fantastic location.
Location: Lots of things to see and do close by, the resort itself has tons of activities, for kids and adults. They have a marina and a riding stable.
We had a great time. We had an amazing view from our lodge room. Check in was quick and easy. The only issue we had which really wasn't an issue but Mother Nature was the power outage due to a massive thunderstorm and downed power lines on the morning we were leaving. The staff did a great job, provided coffee and breakfast for all the guests (the kitchen had a generator).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second room better than first.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The cabana was what I first booked but the second night I swapped to a single bedroom cabin. I loved the cabin way more than the cabana. The cabin was cheaper and had fridge, oven, microwave, full pots/pans/utensils.....everything plus had a fire pit and good size tv. The cabana.... terrible unless you just want a pretty room with nothing to do except swim in summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A great view

Posted Sep 30, 2014
My girl and I had never ridden in the mountains together and needed a convenient, clean, safe, hotel with a restaurant. We found everything we were looking for. A quick ride on beautiful roads leading to spectacular views. There Friendly staff quickly met all our needs and the evening bar staff was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. After a couple days on the curves a comfortable bed and a great meal were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Black Mountain, NC

50th Wedding Anniversary

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel was beautiful with large trees and a gorgeous lake. All the guests that we met were caring people.
Cons: The roads into the lodge were in poor condition. Many deep potholes to maneuver around.
Location: We were having such a good time on the hotel property that we did not look for any additional things to do. The Marina was in a great location.
We spent 3 nights at Fontana Lake Resort from 8/28/14 thru 8/30/14 to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.The service was great and we loved our room. The food service was excellent, a great menu. We were especially impressed with the service that Elizabeth gave us in the restaurant. She took good care of us. The service personnel were very friendly. Our three children gave us certificates for the sunset cruise and massages which we really enjoyed. We will come back to visit again sometime in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

WAY off the beaten path

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Resort was clean, staff was friendly and competent. Highlights: pontoon ride around the lake, scenery, relaxed setting, ice cream shop. Fontana Dam and lake, Lowlights: You choose- ride 50 miles round trip to do anything or use resort facilities at high cost. No in room fridge or microwave, high cost for main restaurant. We never ate there. Trout pond on property with no trout. I don't regret going there, but its not on my short list to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gordon Gingras from Charleston, SC

Close to Tail of the Dragon and other area roads

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and staff were excellent and the rooms very clean. The food in the resteraunt was very good and the same for the food in the grille. Close to the Dragon and other motorcycle friendly roads. Overall a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The setting in the wild crated a peaceful relaxing atmosphere. We felt refreshed and rested when we left. The food in the dining room was outstanding.
Cons: The bartender was also part of the wait staff in the dining room which meant long waits at the bar.
Location: Near Fontana Dam and Great Smokie Moutain National Park and Appalachian Trail. Plenty of outdoor activities from hiking to boating and fishing.
We were looking for a place to enjoy nature and celebrate my wife's birthday. We found this resort to fit our needs perfectly. The dining room staff took excellent care of us, and the wilderness surrounding our resort created a peaceful, relaxing setting. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect getaway. We plan to return when we can spend more than a couple of days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Enjoyed the views!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The meals served were terrific, staff were right on top of things handling any problems that occurred.
Cons: Phone service was an issue, would help if hotel made accommodations for that
Location: A lot to do and see in the area, should have stayed longer
Very nice hotel to go and relax in, give yourself more time to visit this areas a weekend won't do it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort itself was very pleasant. However, the room was very dated with old style air conditioning, a TV with a hazy picture and very uncomfortable pillows. We also encountered several bugs crawling on the floor.