Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: ok
Cons: refer above
Nice hotel but found bed slumped in middle, maybe time for new one?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice hotel in East Melbourne

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was comfortable without being ostentatious. The courtesy bus is a bonus.
Cons: Get the fridge out of the room!!!
Location: Shopping mall within walking distance. Train station a short ($8) taxi fare away. Business parks nearby.
Stayed here one night whilst working in the area. It is on a intersection and about 1-2km from shops, railway station and my office. I felt at home from the moment I walked through the door. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. I honestly felt that nothing would be too much trouble for the staff. The room was clean and comfortable, with all of the expected facilities (including ironing board, iron, hair dryer). Shower was hot with plenty of water pressure. The restaurant served nice food and the waiter was very pleasant. As it was raining I did not use any of the outside facilities but it looked clean and spacious from the windows. They have a courtesy bus to take you to places in the local area, and that was a great help. The driver took me to the office in the morning, and when I returned to pick up my bag he took me to the rail station. This was a great service as I did not have to wait for taxis to turn up. The local shopping mall is in walking distance (<15 minutes). Overall a very pleasant experience. I would have given the room 5 stars, but for the fridge. Why do hotels insist on putting a fridge in a bedroom? Click, hum, click, silence, click, hum etc etc. Guys, fridges are meant for kitchens or man-caves, not a quiet place like a bedroom. It is not just this hotel, it is most of them. I have switched the fridge off in other hotels but I could not find the switch for this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Prabath Lokusooriya Front Office Manager Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erik from Jakarta

Unique room for a change

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Getting used to stay in modern hotels, this hotel gave us a unique experience. The room is just like we're staying in a country-styled antique hotel. A good change for the whole family. Clean. Efficient service. You have to drive everywhere, though. It's in the middle of eastern suburbs away from the city centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Erik, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Prabath Lokusooriya Front Office Manager Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Canberra

Good service

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location if you are visiting the Eastern side of the city. Can be a bit of traffic noise but otherwise a good hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by joyce from MEL

Comfy beds Fantastic service

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from New Zealand

Very good suburban Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Location and standard.
Cons: Restaurant facilities more suited menu- and price-wise to families with young children. Not catered for in both cases by Oliver's Restaurant.
Location: N/A
Ideal location for our purpose of attending a funeral in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne where the family's home was also located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ben from Sydney

Fantastic Food, but thats about it.

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ok....here goes. Stayed here for a training presentation in the meeting rooms the next day. Service was great, and staff did everything in their power to make you feel welcome.The highlight of the stay was the dining room...truly spectacular food and top restaurant quality. Unfortunately the rooms were old and need a refresh though the bed was reasonably comfortable, while the main road location could be a problem for some who aren't used to traffic. All in all, a pleasant enough stay, but i wouldn't go out of my way to go back unless i had business in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Facilities in room need to be updated

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bed was like sleeping in the hole of a donut and the TV well I haven't seen one that old for 10 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stavros from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Clean and comfortable hotel

Posted May 31, 2013
The place in general was very clean and the rooms very comfortable. We had a standard room and that was quite spacious. Bed linens and furnishings are a little outdated but otherwise a very nice hotel
3 out of 5
by meg

disappointed

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Not 4.5 star standard
Cons: The pool was not technically indoors could not get room service before 5pm could not get a coffee before 5
Location: Nice
Disappointed the hotel really needs to be shut down for 6 months and renovated and no room service before 5pm was extremely annoying :[