Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury within easy reach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
A night away during the half term holiday in a beautiful hotel, formerly a convent amongst other things. Rooms are beautirful, clean and comfortable and everything is done on a luxurious scale. Afternoon tea served in silver pots, leaf tea, many varieties. Aperitifs in cocktail bar accompanied by complimentary nibbles and amuses bouches. Dinner with live pianist was delicious, superb wine list, great choice of food including an 8 course tasting menu should you feel up to the challenge! All-in-all, what's not to like? A few miles past East Grinstead, it is easy to get to and within easy reach of Ashdown Forest and other attractions. Go - you'd be a fool not to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family break

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic service, food, good sized room and great spa, gym and pool. We were worried about asking the hotel to accommodate our child's food in their fridge and to heat it up separately to avoid nuts. The staff were very accommodating! We would definitely stay there again. Food food was expensive but had the superior quality and service to match.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ronfrom London

A Special Treat

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good hotel in a very good location. We received a particularly good service, which certainly added to our enjoyment and as this was from all staff it points to a well organised operation. I booked a room with a view of the lake for my partner's 50th. On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite. As this didn't have a view, we asked if they had a room with the lake view. We were shown room 32 and I can't imagine a better room in the hotel, or what the standard rate would have been for it. Not just a superb view, but a balcony with a stone balustrade! We had dinner in the hotel and service was again excellent all round, with some extra little birthday touches for my partner. My partner had a couple of treatments in the spa and also rated these highly. In summary; thanks to all at Ashdown Park for making it a memorable day for us on my partner's 50th.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel for a few days break

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Locatin and facilities
Cons: Food menus
Location: Ashdown Forest
Great staff and great facilities. The hotel is located near Ashdown forest with great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Break away with the Girls

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great time, great service, but poolside tiny not many chairs. Not great for a spa break. Only 2 changing rooms. Also Jacuzzi was absolutely boiling and we felt very shaky. The hotel was boiling, heating on full blast had to sleep with all the windows open. Could do with a décor update. Service was amazing though and hotel so luxurious and pretty and grounds stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Luxurious Country Break

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Fantastic weekend stay at Ashford Park. Upgraded to junior suite, staff first class. Restaurant and standard of food exceptional. Comfort beyond compare,wished we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

Excellent country hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Location, views and service all top quality. A real gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Maybe too grand for an overnight stay

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The buildings, the setting, the staff.
Cons: see comments above
Location: Very well located hotel - we went to two National Trust properties after leaving, both excellent.
We were looking for a spa hotel in nice grounds for a quiet and relaxing 24 hour break - in fact we found a much grander place. The staff without exception were excellent. The food was also excellent. The bed was very comfortable etc. Yet some things were hard to explain ... There didn't seem to be a lift to the upper floors. The bedroom TV was very small. The light switches meant getting out of bed to turn off the bedside lamps. There was no draught beer on sale and alcohol was expensive. We also witnessed a complaint at reception when checking out - 'the breakfast in the 'east wing' (not room service) had been awful' - very hard to believe but we had eaten in the main restaurant, not a 'glorified conference room'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Fabulous stay

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, food and rooms were fantastic!
Cons: The drawing rooms where tea is served are quite dated and could perhaps do with a bit of a spruce up however.
Location: The hotels grounds were stunning so walks and a visit to the lama farm would be recommended.
We had a lovely time. Afternoon tea was great and the staff were incredibly helpful and changed the sandwich fillings to suit dietary requirements which was very kind of the chef! Would definitely recommend, the room was lovely very spacious and super comfy bed. Spa facilities were fab, very friendly and helpful staff and lovely pool!! Oh and dinner was fantastic huge compliments to the chefs again !!