Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North England

Ticked all the boxes

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Furniture in room getting a bit worn
Location: Excellent location for walking in Ashdown Forest. Good selection of pubs for supper and lunch if not eating in hotel.
Had a lovely stay, but found the hotel to be bigger and therefore busier than expected. On first morning went down for breakfast, but too busy for us so had excellent room service next morning. Dinner was much calmer (no small children around) and delicious food. Staff were excellent, which makes a BIG difference as far as we are concerned. Tried the pool and spa, which were relaxing and good quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

1 night stay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Dinner and breakfast was first class, cannot fault that. Grounds were well kept.
Partner and I went last week for a last minute break. The grounds were lovely, huge area to gander through. But the hotel itself felt quite eeery...the lounge area felt like an old people's home! Not much atmosphere. The hotel room was very small. Bathroom tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and relaxation

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Superb!! Try dinner at the restaurant. Brilliant serving manner and excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great Place to stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room size and character of the hotel
Cons: Do a deal on dinner bed and breakfast please!
Peaceful, roomy, excellent facilities, with a sense of history as well and the staff very polite. The only downside if there was one, was the expensive evening meals, so we had to eat out. But overall very good and highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The surroundings were beautiful and peaceful.
Cons: Internet access. The hotel offered 15 mins free access and then charged £20 for 24 hrs. I felt this was excessive when most hotels offer free access.
Reviews of the hotel were mixed before our stay which made us hesitant to book. However, we had a pleasant stay. The staff were attentive. We dined in the hotel both nights. The first might - Sunday - the service was very slow and the food was ok. The second night the food and the service was much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marilou

Impressive Hotel with extra friendly staff

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Polite and friendly staff.
Cons: The food are of good quality but could be more generous with portions and improve on presentation
Amazingly comfortable hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient. I had a very enjoyable stay and will come back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Kings Stanley Gloucestershire

A stunning hotel set in beautiful grounds.

Posted May 17, 2014
We had a very relaxing stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, clean and it was very quiet. We had dinner and afternoon tea during our stay and it was excellent in every way. We also enjoyed a spa treatment which rounded of the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deborah from london

Relaxing hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Great place to chill and get away for the weekend staff excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim Pratt from London

Great Service, but feel it needs a refurbishment

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Ashbridge manor over Easter weekend and this review is based on a stay in a Deluxe room - which is not based in the main building. Positives: Great service and staff were mostly friendly and receptive. Beautiful building and setting. My girlfriend had a couple of treatments over the weekend and thought they were very, very good. Although she felt the spa area let this down - was made to wait in a pub/cafe area in a robe while the football was playing on TV. Well equipped gym. Negatives Dated, and tatty decor. In our room there was furniture items that had large dents and missing veneers or handles. Also the carpet and sofas were stained and looked very dated. This continued in other areas of the hotel. I noticed large areas of peeling paint and rust in the mens changing rooms. I don’t think they can really call the pool area a spa - it certainly fell short of some other hotel spas l’ve stayed in. There was no areas to lounge, and the steam room and saunas were shabby and small. On one night, l used the gym and found large piles of dirty towels in the changing rooms. My overall feeling was that the hotel unfortunately hadn’t really lived up to expectations. It fell short of similar places l’ve stayed in, and l wouldn’t consider a repeat visit or recommend to friends and family. A shame because l feel this hotel could be really something special if they kept on top of repairs inside the hotel and refurbished.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim Pratt from London

Great service, but dated decor let it down.

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Ashbridge manor over Easter weekend and this review is based on a stay in a Deluxe room - which is not based in the main building. Positives: Great service and staff were mostly friendly and receptive. Beautiful building and setting. My girlfriend had a couple of treatments over the weekend and thought they were very, very good. Although she felt the spa area let this down - was made to wait in a pub/cafe area in a robe while the football was playing on TV. Well equipped gym. Negatives: Dated, and tatty decor. In our room there was furniture items that had large dents and missing veneers or handles. Also the carpet and sofas were stained and looked very dated. This continued in other areas of the hotel. I noticed large areas of peeling paint and rust in the mens changing rooms. I don’t think they can really call the pool area a spa - it certainly fell short of some other hotel spas l’ve stayed in. There was no areas to lounge, and the steam room and saunas were shabby and small. On one night, l used the gym and found large piles of dirty towels in the changing rooms. My overall feeling was that the hotel unfortunately hadn’t really lived up to expectations. It fell short of similar places l’ve stayed in, and l wouldn’t consider a repeat visit or recommend to friends and family. A shame because l feel this hotel could be really something special if they kept on top of repairs inside the hotel and refurbished.