Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Conrad,Mt.

Wellcomeing

Posted Oct 2, 2014
It very nice, everyone on the staff was great except the Bar tender . He sat us at are dinner table, toke our order , brought us are food , then we never saw him again. Thank goodness for the rest of thestaff, they toke care of us.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Medicine Hat

Grand Union Hotel, Fort Benton

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: We appreciated its history and charm.
Cons: No music on the patio and the continental breakfast. There was limited breakfast breads and no tea or muffins.
Location: The walk along the river is very nice.
We were expecting great things from the Grand Union based on recommendations from friends. The hotel is a very nicely renovated old hotel with great history. We appreciated that! We were somewhat disappointed in the restaurant, which received great reviews but didn't live up to our expectations. The continental breakfast included in the room rate was dismal compared to other hotels. Our room had a river view which was wonderful; however, there was music blaring for the patio of the restaurant downstairs which didn't make much sense considering it was raining and there wasn't anyone on the patio. We did have our toast on the patio the following morning and found the music to be distracting and unnecessary. A quiet contemplation of the beautiful view of the river would suffice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maple Creek, Sask.Canada

Great Heritage Building. Enjoyable experience.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good walking path right outside the door. Friendly and competent staff. Nice patio on which to dine.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Three large museums in the town. The river view was fantastic. Beautiful sunset the day we were there.
Staff was first rate. Food was fantastic and the retro atmosphere was very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

History Comes Alive

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Masterful restoration in an idyllic setting along the Missouri River Breaks, where time has largely stood still.
Cons: It's difficult to improve on perfection! Just keep being genuine...
Location: On the banks of the Missouri River, adjacent to a lovely park in downtown Ft Benton. A riverfront path leads past a footbridge to the historic fort.
Both town and hotel invite you to take a respite from the pressures of the everyday world. True comfort for the weary traveler, with no attention to detail spared. Included breakfast featured fresh berries and the tastiest scones I've ever eaten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keithfrom Edmonton, AB

Great hotel with amazing staff

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Restaurant, rooms, the staff
Cons: Newer pipes maybe? If you blast the hot water for your toothbrush, you'll be regretting that decision shortly.
Wow, what can I say? This place was a treat to stay at. We came down when it was still a cold spring, and while we mostly stayed indoors the place was amazing. The beds were comfortable, lots of room inside and the hotel still being decorated like it's an old classic. The main highlight for us was the restaurant. Having a vegetarian girlfriend means finding places that she can eat without just getting a salad can be tough, but the chef was so accommodating that both nights we ate there he prepared a different dish for her that was completely off the menu! They were so delicious too. You need to stay here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Hotel rooms are small, uneven floors. Mattress and bedding was very nice and comfortable. Bathroom was surprisingly large. They have WiFi and cable. Didn't have hot water one morning....apparently they are having issues with a number of their hot water heaters as was explained to me. I'd heard the restaurant was great; I was a bit disappointed. Service was rushed despite the fact there were not more than 5 tables occupied at any one time. Don't get the steak w/ maple butter....waaaaaay too sweet. The carbonera was really soupy though I did enjoy the addition of capers. The staff is over-eager to get a reservation out of you for dinner and breakfast. I'm sure they thought this was providing good service but I found it annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Had a wonderful stay. Cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howardfrom Spokane, WA

Grand old hotel in a out of the way location.

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Old world charm at its best.
Cons: Not what we went to the hotel for, but the TV was very small.
Location: Natural beauty and lots of special sites.
Wanted a different location and at the same time get a little history of the old west. The Grand Union gave us a look back out a hotel that must have been a welcome site to cowboys and others coming off of the plains. Had a wonderful day visiting the many museums and seeing the sites. And then that a first class meal with a wine list that was very impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Missoula, MT

Charming hotel with a great place in history.

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Its site on the river. The cleanliness and comfort. Good restaurant. Friendly staff.
Cons: Liked it the way it is.
Location: We didn't have time to visit the museums in Ft. Benton, but hear they provide a good look at early Montana history and particularly river commerce on
The whole time I was staying here I thought of what the activity must have been in the 19th century as the steamboat arrived from St. Louis when Ft. Benton was the head of navigation on the Missouri River. The hotel is beautifully restored. Dinner and breakfast were great, and Ft. Benton is a real window on early Montana history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for those who want to step back in time. If

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Not a place of luxury but quaint and a step back in time.