Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

No complimentary transportation to / from airport.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Complimentary transportation to/from airport.
Location: Nice place to eat like the outside deli.
Transportation was expensive. However, I we enjoyed the other accommodations the hotel had to offer they had free wireless internet but not in the room. The help was extremely helpful especially the bellman, housekeeping was also helpful. Would I stay here again. I look at other options and decide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calera, OK

Close to everything by trolly, taxi or walking .

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Beach, roof top pool , food, all was great everyone at hotel was kind & helpful we will come back with family next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota.

Nothing out of this world, but fine...

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The room, the view and the close beach.
Cons: People!
Front desk people are not the more helpul. We arrive at 10:30 and the chekin time was at 4:00. That's OK. But this is the first time I have to wait until 4:00 to get the room. Other hotels give priority to peolpe have already arrived. Not the Bahía Mar. I wanted to take my bags to the reception in order to weight them (they don't lend the weight to be taken to the rooms). I requested the help of a bell boy, who arrived half an hour later, after my complaint. Anyhow there are helpful people. The hotel is a well maintained old building. Rooms are quite spacious; I had a marine view on the 3rd floor, very nice. The swimming pool is small but just fine to sunbath. The gym is very well equipped. The bridge to the beach is very convenient; the beach is wide and not crowded. I hated that Bahía Mar, as the other hotels in Fort Lauderdale beach, charge twenty something dollars for renting a beach chair that costs no more tan $50. I call it "hold up".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora, IL

Go for the location, definitely not the service!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything above
Location: straight, safe walk down to the beach
Parking is $21/ day, which is really $23 w/tax. Then, you need to move your car by noon the next day, although parking sign says 8-23 hours is one rate. Hotel also states in & out privileges, which parking also does not let you do. Only one bellhop for two huge hotel buildings, and not available to help me and my children with our luggage for a half hour, but as we had to check out, they would not let us stay, so we had to do this on our own. Only a small rinse off shower by pool, no locker room with shower. Room was spacious & comfortable, aside from the water running through pipes all night right by door. A week after we checked out I was charged $631! Good thing this was a credit card, NEVER use your debit card there! When I called to inquire they stated that that was an error on their part and they would correct it- of course they would!! If you had used a debit card imagine, your account could have been overdrafted a week after your stay! And of course, it took another five days for $$ to be reimbursed to card. Then, when I wrote a complaint letter, manager stated I would be awarded HH points, which I never was! Also, they couldn't find my HH awards, stated I didn't have one, so I called Hilton Honors myself & guess what? They located my account, no problem. Incompetent staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an okay option

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: The entryway to the south building smelled awful and was very weird, seemed unfinished and like a totally different business than the main entrance.
Location: Good location, across from beach, walking distance to restaurants, bars...
This hotel was far less expensive than the chain hotels just a little bit closer to the action and is still easy walking distance. The room was pretty typical, staff was nice, but the entry way to our building was odd/unappealing. Note: parking costs $20 additional and there really aren't other options for parking. An acceptable option for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Great place for our honeymoon

Posted Sep 7, 2014
After reading some poor reviews about this hotel, I was skeptical but our stay there was great. The resort as a hole may be a little outdated but it was quiet, clean and comfortable. The best part was being able to step out of my room and walk across the sky walk to the beach. Never ate at the restaurant but the small deli was great, had everything we needed. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
This was the first time I'd stayed at the Bahia Mar. I was only there on business for one night but the staff was friendly, the room and bed were very comfortable and they had a great breakfast buffet. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

near to beach and restaurants

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: close to the ocean
Cons: fix AC
Location: good
AC was so load, had to turn it off to sleep that is all.................................................................................................................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S

Nice beach loction.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location... I had stayed here previously.
Cons: It's an older hotel that could use room updates. Moreover, most rooms have small stand-up only balconies.
Location: At the southern end of the beach strip close to restaurants, bars, shops, etc.
My overall experience was good; however, I used a $50 Expedia hotel coupon and ended up with a most undesirable room the first night... in the 4-story no frills building. The next morning I was required to rebook the rest of my stay... due to the Expedia coupon. I asked for another room and ultimately ended up spending an extra $20 per night for a decent room on the 14th floor of the main hotel tower. Adriana at the front desk was great! She also took care of a significant billing error upon checkout... for numerous resort fees and taxes that were included when I booked the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, big room, next to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach, great view, good restaurant and a comfortable bed
Cons: air-conditioning equipment
Location: Not to much, there are no clubs or nice bars around the area. The area is more for people who wants to relax instead of partying
Nice hotel, good service, friendly, big room, next to the beach. The air-conditioning system in the rooms need to be renew, they make too much noise and I had to turned it off in order to get some sleep.