Ratings based on 1,445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not exactly as promised

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We booked an Ocean View room. We were given a room on the first floor beside the pool. The trees and other landscaping in front of my window left on a glimmer on the ocean when standing in the far corner of the room. They then offered another room with the same opportunities. I could see the Ocean better if I stood across the street and looked. Very disappointing and the manager said I could take one of those rooms or he would let me out of my commitment?? Really, those are my only choices. A room without a view or go somewhere else?? I then asked about the guests coming in after me without reservations. He said I could upgrade to another room if I wanted. That's what I did but I would not have paid more than I originally contracted for if the first room was as advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location next to the beach

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: More wait staff.
Location: Next to the beach with rental chairs and umbrella. No need to bring beach towels. Too far from stores and resturants.
Close to the beach with a great view. Too far away from stores and resturants. You need a car to get to the action. Great pool for families and outdoor tiki bar. Very friendly staff with a great resturant.
2 out of 5
by Monica from DC

Old run fown building.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Building is old and not vety well kept. Not clean! Bathrooms were old and moldy! Toilet tank leaked. Carpet smelled. Very old building! !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walter from Michigan

Best Hotel on the Beach

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Price, service and location
Cons: Perfect!!!!
Location: Just a simple walk along the beach or any water sport activities (wave runners, banana boats, parasailing, and much more).
This was one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. I have had the privilege of experiencing many different 5 star hotels all over the United States and Europe in my life time and the Beachcomber exceeded my expectations. Both the staff and the hotel itself was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for price, service and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Rooms were roomy and clean. Balcony offered a good view of the ocean.
Cons: Pillows were a little hard but overall it was great.
Location: Butterfly World was truly magnificent to see.
Rooms were clean and pleasant. Beach and pool were great! I would recommend this Hotel for a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic, quaint, service-oriented hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The hotel is almost 60 years old, and you will probably notice some things that need a little TLC following normal wear and tear. If you want the sleekest, most up-to-date furnishings, this may not be your place. For us, it was heaven. We woke up every morning to look at the sun rising in the east. We dined on the beach, relaxed under the umbrellas, and thoroughly enjoyed the personal, attentive, and warm service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel. staff was great.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
had a leaky toilet in first room, they switched us right away. great beach and pool was nice. Very nice to have bar and restaurant right there.
3 out of 5
by D from MN

Nice location on beach but hotel room had odor

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Pool and beach area very beautiful; nice location on the beach
Cons: The ventilation in the European rooms need to be improved. We rented multiple rooms and all had the same issue.
I read mixed reviews about the hotel prior to my stay; some very good and several others mentioning very bad odor in the rooms. Well, I am an optimist and I discounted the reviews due to reviewer possibly being overly critical. However, I agree that the rooms had a very bad odor; possibly too much air freshner masking some other issue. With that said, the beach area, pool and landscaping were very beautiful. The hotel staff were friendly and the restaurant was very good and reasonbly priced. If they improve the ventilation in the European rooms, this would be a far better place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode island

Overall nice stay

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Worst part of stay was we paid for ocean view. Sadly, our room was on the first floor with view of pool and bar. Also, the a/c in our room didn't seem to work as well as it should. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was pricy, but very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: It was directly on the beach.
Cons: Update the property.
Air conditioning was not working properly. Kept having to call for maintenance. The maid did not make up the room till about 4pm EVERY DAY!!!