Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottetown, PE Canada

Reasonably priced and close to beach

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: A comfortable patio area, assigned parking.
Location: A short walk to the beach and restaurants.
This is a "mom and pop" place, very old style but well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Fl.

Great Stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I booked this hotel for 2 nights, & I must say I enjoyed it all. The owners are super nice & friendly. The room was perfect for my boyfriend and I. The beach was real close, we just walked there. Great diner nearby. All was good. I'd definitely book this place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by NYERfrom ny

Great location

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean lovely rooms and friendly service make this a great find.Decor is a tad outdated, but everything was in perfect working order. We had a one bedroom right by the pool and it was perfect...small table and chairs outside. Pool was clean and not too big, but perfect for the size of the property. Margaret was very sweet and we would return. Walking distance to many things in Lauderdale by the Sea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, Affordable Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
This place is beautiful, clean, smells great. It is also very affordable. It doesn't have a super comfy bed like a more expensive hotel, but this place is amazing for the price. I definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice owners, Quiet location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasantly surprised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Viktoriafrom New York

Nice stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach/restaurants; kitchen/fridge/coffee machine; nice staff; quite; clean.
Cons: Beds were not very comfortable.
Location: Lauderdale by the sea is good for those who want a secluded type of vacation. No nightlife, only several restaurants around. Beach was not crowded.
Lauderdale by the sea is a very small village. Main attractions are beach and several restaurants which are pretty similar (reasonable prices, good seafood selection). You actually need a car to enjoy fully the surroundings - there are many things to see in short drive distance - Miami, Fort Lauderdale, West Palms - definitely worth visit. The hotel is overall a nice place if you want to have a quite wild type vacation. It gives you full range of amenities to make you feel at home - full kitchen, coffee machine, fridge (all new and perfectly working). Good thing that you may also take beach furniture from the hotel to use in the beach! There are only few rooms, so the place is not crowded and loud. There is a swimming pool, which is good for kids and small garden area with outside tables. Overall, everything is well kept, clean, there are plenty of towels and you are even provided with beach towels. The owners are very helpful and nice couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stobifrom Traverse City, Mich

Small and Friendly

Posted May 26, 2014
Two blocks to beach, comfortable, clean, convenient. Very relaxing and quiet. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaylefrom Stowe, VT

Quiet small hotel close to the beach

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: How low key it is. It was clean and quiet with helpful staff.
Cons: I think that the owners are doing a good job keeping up with maintenance.
Location: The beach and fishing pier is just a couple of streets away and there are good restaurants within walking distance.
The breakaway is a quiet hotel, in a quiet neighborhood that is still an easy to walk to the beach. The management is very helpful and the rooms are clean. The kitchenette is small but functional so that you can prepare a simple meal easily and the grocery store is not far away. The Breakaway is not for someone that wants to be waited on hand and foot but more for the budget minded traveler who likes peace and quiet.