Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, Affordable Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
This place is beautiful, clean, smells great. It is also very affordable. It doesn't have a super comfy bed like a more expensive hotel, but this place is amazing for the price. I definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice owners, Quiet location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasantly surprised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Viktoria from New York

Nice stay

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach/restaurants; kitchen/fridge/coffee machine; nice staff; quite; clean.
Cons: Beds were not very comfortable.
Location: Lauderdale by the sea is good for those who want a secluded type of vacation. No nightlife, only several restaurants around. Beach was not crowded.
Lauderdale by the sea is a very small village. Main attractions are beach and several restaurants which are pretty similar (reasonable prices, good seafood selection). You actually need a car to enjoy fully the surroundings - there are many things to see in short drive distance - Miami, Fort Lauderdale, West Palms - definitely worth visit. The hotel is overall a nice place if you want to have a quite wild type vacation. It gives you full range of amenities to make you feel at home - full kitchen, coffee machine, fridge (all new and perfectly working). Good thing that you may also take beach furniture from the hotel to use in the beach! There are only few rooms, so the place is not crowded and loud. There is a swimming pool, which is good for kids and small garden area with outside tables. Overall, everything is well kept, clean, there are plenty of towels and you are even provided with beach towels. The owners are very helpful and nice couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stobi from Traverse City, Mich

Small and Friendly

Posted May 26, 2014
Two blocks to beach, comfortable, clean, convenient. Very relaxing and quiet. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gayle from Stowe, VT

Quiet small hotel close to the beach

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: How low key it is. It was clean and quiet with helpful staff.
Cons: I think that the owners are doing a good job keeping up with maintenance.
Location: The beach and fishing pier is just a couple of streets away and there are good restaurants within walking distance.
The breakaway is a quiet hotel, in a quiet neighborhood that is still an easy to walk to the beach. The management is very helpful and the rooms are clean. The kitchenette is small but functional so that you can prepare a simple meal easily and the grocery store is not far away. The Breakaway is not for someone that wants to be waited on hand and foot but more for the budget minded traveler who likes peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachel from New York

Lovely, low-key getaway

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place felt like home for the few days I stayed here, and I would definitely chose it again if I was ever in the Ft. Lauderdale area. Lovely grounds, immaculate rooms, very friendly owners, quiet and relaxing. It was also very convenient to have a fridge and full kitchen. My only slight complaint is the wifi - the signal doesn't really cover the rooms, which is tough when you're here on business. But other than that, this place was absolutely perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WOW !!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The beach, the fishing pier, great restaurants, shopping, Oh and did I mention, the beach....
We loved everything about the Breakaway Inn. Location, price, comfort, and the owner's were so hospitable. They even had a happy hour for all guests one evening during our stay. You can't go wrong if you stay at the Breakaway Inn. Thank you, Margaret for everything, see you next time we come to Fort Lauderdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Glenda from Flagler Beach

Walking distance to beach and restaurants

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay. The proprietor was accommodating and kind. The kitchen was convenient. I will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from London

Great deal

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is definitely a little gem in Lauderdale by the Sea. Owners are a polish family, very caring and making sure everyone feels at home. Room (28) was clean, nice bed and bedding, small bathroom but good shower and lots (lots) of towels (even small face towels in a dark color for ladies to remove their make up). The kitchen area is quite good, with big fridge and everything you may need to cook like at your own home. The town is lovely and from the hotel is a 5 minutes (if much) walk to the awesome beach. You dont need to bring beach towels here as the owner has a big collection for the guests. I ended up going one night to the Town Hall where they were showing DIrty Dancing, felt really like in one of those little places where a lot is arranged and done for the town people and that made me love it even more!