Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

booked king size bed and was given twin bed

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Had to change rooms three times because they were disorganized at the front desk and gave us twin beds after confirming king size bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Beachfront comfort at a price

Posted Feb 23, 2015
We were looking for a quick domestic getaway in a warm-weather climate on short notice and we found the Diplomat was very close to the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood airport and rated as a luxury property. Getting to the resort was easy, the pools and beachfront were beautiful/well maintained and I never had any problems finding a deck chair in either the sun or the shade. The room was clean and very comfortable (although the bathroom configuration was somewhat odd) and the hotel staff was generally friendly and helpful. For us, the drawback about the Diplomat was price/value. We chose a luxury resort in the hopes that we wouldn't have to leave the property to find everything we needed for a four day, three night stay and could get great food and drink with ease. The food at the steakhouse restaurant was terrific and priced comparably to any other steakhouse of the same quality. The sushi and drinks at the lobby bar were also very good and appropriately priced. Nearly everything else ($25/person breakfast buffet; $18 single fish taco poolside; $3.71 bottle of water at the cafe, etc.) was extremely expensive and, while of acceptable quality, was not worth the money. Certain of the restaurants and bars also automatically added an 18% gratuity to each check, which was convenient but occasionally reflected in the service provider not seeming to care as much as someone with something to gain/lose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Good hotel. Excellent location, staff not very pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Jack hammers heard by the pool/beach ALL day!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The doors between bathroom & beds were broken - had to get engineer into room for repair. Several nights the AC didn't work & would not stay on despite warm room temps. The pool repairs: jack hammers all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Really nice hotel on beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Clean, amenities, friendly staff
Cons: Check-in. Also, another on- site restaurant that is less formal than the one there.
Location: We did not venture off of the hotel grounds but were told that there were many restaurants around
Excellent hotel! The rooms are clean with great views. The hotel staff was very friendly. The only complaint was check-in. We arrived early and were told the room was not ready. We were told that we would be called when ready...check-in time is 4:00pm. At 4:30pm, we had not heard from the front desk so we went back to the desk to inquire. We were told that the room still wasn't ready and I asked about the hold up. She could not give me a reason and then went to a back room "to see what she could do " and returned to say that she found one that was ready. We checked in after 5pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything. I lodged a complaint with Hilton's corporate office.
horrible. Hilton took over this property from Westin in October. I stayed at this hotel numerous times before Hilton took over. It used to be an excellent hotel and well run. I would never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Naples, FL

Great location on the Beach

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: Late check out process.
The Diplomat needs to do a better job with late check outs, locked us out of the room twice even though they had given us late check out privileges, and this is really irritating. The Diplomat Prime steakhouse lived up to it reputation with a fantastic meal and over the top service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nassau Bahamas

Diplomat Miami

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Excellent hotel but some rooms can be noisy. We had to move. Also they still charge for WiFi!! I would think a hotel of this caliber would be offering free high speed Wifi to its guests. It's a new world Hilton. Get with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bahamas

Should be 5 Star. It's that good!

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Great location. Our new hotel when staying in Miami area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overly loud and overrated food

Posted Feb 6, 2015
the room we were in was able to hear all the rooms around us from all sides including above and below. We went to dinner at their sports bar and the food was absolutely deplorable. We spent $150 on nachos, wings, and pizza and there wasn't a single item that was worth anywhere near what we paid. Completely disappointing based on the reviews.