Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Good location

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Small, clean, good location & a fair price! A little language barrier with the staff if you only speak English.....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Clean the rooms, update the entire property. Better equip the kitchens. Get some customer service training for the owners.
Location: The beach was beautiful & clean. Lauderdale by the Sea was charming & friendly. A great walkable downtown area. Good shopping & restaurants.
How this place stays in business is beyond me. The old couple that owns Horizon by the Sea is very rude. They failed to resolve our issues and told us to check out if we didn’t like the accommodations. Rooms have a musty smell and are in need of complete renovation. There is only one maid and she never completely cleaned our room during the week that we stayed here. There are no staff members available after 10 pm. The Horizon by the Sea towel policy is beyond ridiculous - Only one towel per guest per day. Our “Fully-Equipped” kitchen barely had enough kitchen items to cook a simple dinner. We purchased paper products so that we would have enough dishes and silverware. If we could have gotten a refund, we would have gone to another hotel. Spend your vacation somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Nice Hotel, close to the beach and good restaurant

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Location was great
Location: A two block walk to a the ocean, several restaurants and plenty of stuff to by nearby.
Quick checkin, 2 story building with stairs to the second level. Fairly quiet area. close walk to the beach and several nice restaurants. Easy access to highways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solides Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Sauberes privat geführtes Hotel in Strandnähe. Sehr schöner Strand nach 3 Minuten Gehweg. Klassische Hotelausstattung.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Josephfrom Sunrise

Good Beach property

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent beach property, reasonable rates and good parking. Limited TV
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Conniefrom Montreal, Qc

Close to beach, restaurants and shopping

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Proximity to beach, restaurants and shopping
Cons: Kitchen need to be better stocked. Usually if you are renting with a kitchenette, you plan to cook. No spatula, no dish soap.
Only stayed 3 nights. Convenient area but would probably not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carolyn Z.from Lauderdale by the Sea

Exactly what we needed...

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed a clean, quiet and comfortable place to stay while family was in town for a family reunion. We will definitely be back and we will also refer friends/family.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Markfrom Buffalo

the owners watch every move with cameras

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stove light goes on and off, tv in room is clear tv not cable or satelite poorly located on wall in corner next to front door. The owners come in your room at will and when my kids reached the room the owner saw them and opened door with metal key, old locks that can be opened by credit card. Left tv on to run to store quickly and came back the owners went in and turned off tv. tv does not have automatic shut off set. No talking outside of motel when walking up to room was shushed by owner, there like vultures, pool not clean or heated, sunscreen oil slick/ smell on top when you got out my arm hairs were like glue like sunscreen is water resistant, good news I did not get sunburn, bad news my kids are allergic to sunscreen they could not swim in it. Useless nobody in hotel except me swam in it. Wife and kids thought it was creepy felt being watched constant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would not stay there again

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: close to the beach
dresser handles dirty, nightstand had old sticky spill. rude host if you have a complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com