Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Exceeded expectations

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: spacious room, bedding, bathroom amenities, the fast and friendly valet service, the blissful outdoor pools and beach, and the bar.
Cons: lobby smells musty and the elevators are slow
Location: This is a resort so no reason to leave, but you will need a car to enjoy Ft Lauderdale's attractions and restaurants.
Great hotel for couples and families with children. This hotel borders on 5 bars for me based on the spacious room, bedding, bathroom amenities, the fast and friendly valet service, the blissful outdoor pools and beach, and the bar. I gave it 4 bars because the lobby smells musty and the elevators are slow. Will return for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Family Friend. Crowd Pleaser

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: internet search...the reviews were spot on!
Cons: nothing
Location: We have a toddler and did not realize cabs in FL require a car seat for all children under 5. So worth renting a car.
relaxed by the pool, played tennis, enjoyed all of the ammenities for kids and family (chess board, shuffle board, lagoon pool, soda shop, etc). it was so relaxing we forgot what day it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Super resort for families with children...great pool and beach access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Weekend Trip from the cold north

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Great location on the beach, tropical setting, full amenities, friendly staff, awesome beds and bedding, deluxe suite a real treat, soda fountain and clothes shop a bonus. Cannot think of a negative! Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom northeast

Almost paradise

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Private beach makes you feel like you are in the Caribbean. However, for the price of the rooms and knowing we are at a private beach, you should not get nickel and dimed for a beach chair and umbrella.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ma

Nice beach pools very nice

Posted Mar 24, 2015
resort is very nice lots of families. Beach beautiful. Food terrible Drinks very expensive and they like to skim on liquor. The beach waitress did make it right. Bar guy had an attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Fabulous!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Everything! Location, room, staff, beach, pool! Could not have asked for better!
Cons: Maybe just the sheets, where a little worn, and bed spread slid off bed....
Location: Location was great, went to many local restuarants for dinner.
Hotel was fabulous! Beach great, pools, fabulous! Soda shop food great! Loved location easy to get other sights from! Would go stay there in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Very enjoyable. Family friendly. Breakfast was a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring Break at Lago Mar

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great for families. Wonderful beach, nice pool, good food, ping pong, volleyball. Hotel staff is fantastic - top to bottom!
Cons: If you are looking for any sort of evening activity, this is not the place for you.
This resort is great for families. We were there during one of the traditional Spring Break weeks and were outside the 'crazy' zone which was perfect for our family and larger group. The beach is great and the pool is nice. The restaurant food was good and we enjoyed ping pong and beach volleyball. Hotel staff is fantastic top to bottom from the bellman to front desk to maid service to the pool staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

A relaxing but expensive vacationing spot

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Having two bathrooms (and double of everything for them), a kitchenette, ice service and easy access to the beach.
Cons: Initial friendliness from staff; more affordability of food and other items; towels available ALL day; more activities for families with teens.
Location: The GPS on our phones got us everywhere we needed to go. We went to the nearby A1A beach strip (restaurants and tourist shops) and both malls.
We have never vacationed to a beach or a resort and, while we found this one relaxing and enjoyable, our biggest activity was lying on the beach and playing in the ocean, which was the highlight of our stay; no other activities on site appealed to us and our teens. Our first food experience at the Ocean Grill was less than impressive, though the Acquario (excellent, especially the bread and our service), room service and Soda Shop were much better though extremely expensive, not to mention having to tip for EVERYTHING. We started to claim some beach chairs that weren't locked up, only to be pounced on by employee to get our money to rent them. No, thank you; I'd rather lay on the sand for free and it was more comfortable! Also, it seemed staff abandoned the effort to keep beach towels available late in the day, so there were times when we didn't get out there until late in the afternoon that none were. The staff was nice and friendly but usually only if you were nice and friendly first; otherwise they were professional to the point of seeming cold and stand offish. We loved that there were two bathrooms, but the vents didn't work and the water was usually really hot, steaming up the place, and the beds weren't all that comfortable (I was sore every a.m.) and the comforters were thick along the edges and thin through the middle (I.E.: old). I guess we expected a little more "luxury," especially for the money, but we enjoyed ourselves anyway.