Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect Don't Ever Change

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Fabulous Hotel Great Location Genuine Happy Staff Nothing Too Much Trouble
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great long weekend place to stay on the beach. No need to go anywhere. They have it all covered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, TX

Fabulous Resort!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Very clean, fresh smelling, ambiance!
Cons: Maybe more affordable pricing on food.
Location: We didn't go into town, we were tired after flying so we wanted to just relax before getting on the ship.
We were pleasantly surprised to learn when we checked in we were upgraded to a suite and it was GORGEOUS! The pools are to die for! Everything was very clean. We loved the fact Lago Mar Resort was very secluded, we almost felt like we were on our on little private island. You could walk to the beach which was breathtaking; they even provided nice hammocks to enjoy. My husband loved watching all the iguanas running around, they are so cute! The food was a little pricey, but delicious. The staff was so kind, and made sure YOU were pleased. We stayed there before we left the next day on RC Oasis of the Seas and it was so relaxing. We will definitely stay there again when we cruise again. You won't be disappointed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic...was exactly as indicated in reviews. Very friendly and convenient to all of ft Lauderdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great facilities, private beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Great hotel, the only negatives would be the same at many places. $50 per meal for a family of 3. The beach does not allow you to use your own umbrella, cabana, or chairs so they force you to rent them, $25 per day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Private, on the beach.. What we were looking for..

Posted Aug 17, 2014
We hunted for a last second vacation with the family. Found just what we were looking for at this Private Resort. Private Resort, on the Beach, Not one of these mammoth places with to many people, Pools, food, Bars are excellent as well. Only thing that cloud have been better was a late check out as we had a late flight home... But that is asking alot as they were booked solid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lago Mar Resort & Spa

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Fantastic place to stay. The staff and the facility are both top notch. Have been there a number of times, and would return in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

A Beach hotel where we could crash out!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
A good hotel on a great stretch of beach. Beautiful gardens, great pools and plenty of places to sit in shade if required. The hotel provided comfortable loungers around the grounds - the tiki-bar providing towels and a water cooler was there to provide a cool drink for guests during the hot days, a very welcomed gesture. Meals were a bit of a disappointment in that the main restaurant menu was limited and if as we were staying for a week you would not want continual repeats. The bar meals dining was OK but we would have also preferred a greater variety of food here. The Soda Shop however was excellent and Fran (a New York Italian lady) was a hoot! She was the life and soul of the place, friendly and helpful to all. The place was such that no matter what was on the menu you would want to be there with Fran to enjoy the ambiance and happy atmosphere. One point that should be noted is that a car is essential as it is a good walk to reach the main seafront close by Las Olas Boulevard. Our stay coincided with the turtle egg-laying season ad many nests were visible on the beach. We did stay up a couple of nights in the hope of seeing one emerge from the surf or watch baby turtles scrambling down to the water but it was not to be. Our stay during hurricane season meant we did have just over two days of tropical storm Bertha to content with but we nor the hotel can control the weather!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Unimpressed

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The beach front location and the staff of the restaurant
Cons: Better customer service. Being told by the front desk it was not their problem shows an organization that has no true interest in their clients
Location: Only stayed overnight but the beach front location is great
We choose this hotel based on ratings from Expedia, but found our room rundown and shabby. The most disappointing aspect, they did not honor our reservation made through Expedia. We requested two beds but put in a room with a king bed and pull out couch. When I spoke to the front desk I was told the hotel was fully booked and if I had an issue with the room I would need to speak to Expedia as there was nothing they could do. I will give a shout out to to Marie in the restaurant who recommended a watermelon salad which was so horrible it was inedible (too much vinegar) that she took it off our menu. She is the only reason I can see to give 3 stars for service, otherwise the experience assures there is no reason to stay in this hotel again. We only needed the room for a night waiting for a flight to the Bahamas. I will say the beach location is nice and there were many families which all appeared to be having fun so may be a good choice for some. The $250 a night fee certainly was not worth the stay and on the return I booked a $120 a night Holiday Inn Express which was wonderful, clean modern room, pleasant efficient staff and 10 minutes to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Stunning old world Florida hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Beautiful hotel- we loved the feel of this old world Florida hotel as soon as we arrived in the lobby. Stayed with our 4 year old and 7 month old baby - they loved it too and were very welcomed by all the staff. Great family feel overall and the room/suite was large and spacious (quite old school but in a nice way!). Overall a very comfortable and lovely relaxing two nights - would certainly return and recommend to others.