Ratings based on 1,854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Overnight business trip from LA

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Wonderful facility, great pricing, ridiculous view. I had a balcony king suite with a wonderful bed, and large bath. It was a pleasure to stay there. I wish I could have stayed longer.. I will be back.. but this time for a weeks vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good - but could be much better!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The huge porch! GREAT!
Cons: No hidden fees...if you intend to charge someone for a service that should be complimentary it should be spelled out on the website!!! Clean the beach
Location: Pretty good location...lots of bars and restaurants near by!
Pretty nice Hotel but everything is too expensive...the drink prices are outrageous...except for the breakfast the food was too expensive....but what is REALLY frustrating was the hidden fees...upon arrival finding out there is a $15 a day fee for towel / lounge chair / umbrella...that not being bad enough to hit me with a $30 a day parking fee at checkout!!! I also didn't like the fact that the pool attendant didn't enforce the rules...bratty kids constantly running around jumping in the pool and lazy river, screaming and hollering...soo annoying!! Also - the seaweed problem...they really should hire someone to remove the seaweed that washes up on shore every day...not appealing at all! Terrible music in the bar! So - overall - I was disappointed to say the least!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valio from Chicago, IL

You wake up in the morning and facing ocean.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Do Not make a greatest disservice to yourself by looking elsewhere... Just Book a room at Pelican. Is that simple.. Ask for Ivan from after hours shift and tell him I sent you..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniele from Virginia Beach

Spectacular location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The views, the suite lay out and how it was the main and adjacent rooms were divided.
Cons: Room service, menu, pool side food service, servers
Location: Location was perfect. Right on the beach. Near by are the great boutiques and restaurants on Las Olas Boulevard.
The Grand Pelican Resort was EXACTLY like the pictures on their web site. We had a room with a suite with a balcony overlooking the ocean. It was PERFECT. Spacious, crisp, and clean main room with 2 queen size beds with a bathroom divided in 2 areas with an open one with a large vanity with 2 sinks and large mirror and a closed one with a bathtub/shower combination. Large closet which lit up as the doors opened. Television as part of the cabinet/dresser. Adjacent to this main room and beautifully separated from the main one with french doors like style and adjustable blinds was the suite which had another plasma TV, two couches with one of them being a fold out bed, table and chairs, coffee machine, small refrigerator, and microwave oven. Door to balcony overlooking the ocean. Pool was good but the lazy river was the best. Beach was right there and chairs and umbrella provided as part of the $15 a day resort fee. WIFI was included in the hotel cost. Food wise, the menu never changed and was not particularly varied or interesting. 2 restaurants; one formal and one informal but basically same menu. Overpriced drinks. The staff was overall not impressive. Some of them were downright rude, others were simply mechanical, and a few were great (ask for Mike if you order food from room service!). The employees working at the ice cream/gift shop were sweet and appeared happy. Room service for cleaning was poor; would not appear till 3pm and we needed to ask for fresh towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucas from Illinois

Awesome resort right on the beach!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: We loved that it was right on the beach. The rooms were very nice as well.
Cons: I wish the prices at the restaurants were a little lower.
Location: It was a short walk to many different restaurants and a few shops as well. Also, there is a nice State Park only half a mile away.
We loved this hotel. Everyone of the staff members were very nice and helpful, and the food was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by G from Mn

Perfect

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Update carpeting
Location: Near Las Olas, Galeria Mall, and of course, the beach!
Great resort type hotel.. Wonderful staff. Real 4 star hotel in a state where hotels are a bit sub par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georgia from New York

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location, room, all amenities.
Loved the hotel and the location. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the room was wonderful. Staff also very polite and helpful at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TERRY from NJ

beautiful hotel enjoyed our stay

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: oceanfront GREAT BREAKFAST
Cons: NOTHING
Location: WE WENT TO MAI KAI A HAWAIAN LUAU HAD A GREAT TIME ALSO RODE THE JUNGLE QUEEN IT WAS FUN
we loved the first room we HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE LIGHT FIXTURE IN THE BATHROOM AND ALSO THE WATER NOT DRAINING FROM TUB WE MOVED TO AN OCEAN FRONT SUITE THAT WAS ALSO BEAUTIFUL BUT IT WaS AN INCONVIENCE MOVING OTHERWISE WE ENJOYED OUR STAY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Louisville, KY

Boutique Hotel on the Ocean

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The room was beautiful, with a large sitting room and balcony overlooking the ocean.
Cons: There were some extra charges that, although expected, seemed a little high. There aren't many restaurants or stores nearby.
Location: It's perfectly situated right on the beach. However, there's not much else around -- you either need to have a car or expect to take a lot of taxis.
Pelican Grand was exactly what we were looking for. It was just out of season, so other than a wedding reception our first night, it was very quiet and private. The views of the beach from the lobby, room, verandah and pool were exquisite. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was nice but pricey, and there aren't many other restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Gorgeous view

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Beach location and pool
Cons: Really difficult to get a taxi- anywhere in Fort Lauderdale- but on the second day we figured out it was pretty convenient to book a shuttle.
Location: Lauderdale By The Sea has nice restaurants and bars!
It's so difficult to find a hotel right on the beach and this one has an amazing view. Rooms are kind of old- tube TV, plastic chairs on balcony, but so what! The pool, beach and view is what you care about. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and it was perfect! We had such a wonderful stay. Weather was awesome and a lot of fun options nearby in Fort Lauderdale.