Ratings based on 1,241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: It's centerally located to everything.
Cons: The gym facility
Location: Restaurants, Art Deco, bars, clubs
It is located around so many great restaurants and shops. It is also really close to airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Quick in and out stay, was there less than 8 hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Under construction

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Finish upgrading rooms and common areas.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shops, close to beach
The hotel lobby, halls and entry are under construction, being painted on the busiest weekend of the year - boat show - it makes no sense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, OK

Our favorite hotel in Lauderdale.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location, views, food, bar, staff, cleanliness, everything. Free Wi-Fi in room. Dog friendly.
Cons: The computer system could be more guest friendly.
Location: Terrific shopping on Las Olas, and good food and drink across the street. Close to beach and airport.
We returned to the Hotel for a seven-day stay and were not dissappointed. A bit old tradition, but that is what we like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury and comfort

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Very clean. Quality furniture, bed, fixtures. Very comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Bed sheets were rough and scratchy--very disappointing. Room lacked full view mirror--could not check my appearance until I got into elevator. Iron kept leaking water onto my clothes even though water level was low. Otherwise--overall experience was fine but not as nice as I had expected considering the reviews I'd read. I DID appreciate the real glasses...not plastic- by the ice bucket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Barnsley UK

Nice hotel in a great location on Las Olas

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Location on Las Olas Boulevard
Cons: Room condition
Location: Las Olas is quite a long street so you are spoilt for choice with bars and restaurants. Also it's a short walk to down town.
Stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling around Florida. Right on Las Olas Boulevard so a great location for all the bars and restaurants but a good 1.5 miles to the beach. First room they gave us we asked to move as it was right next to the lift shaft. Moved us to another room that on first impressions was beautiful and newly renovated, but hadn't been quite finished. Safe didn't work, no curtains, lamp didn't work, no mirrors etc. We kept the room though as it was pretty big. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing Las Olas be warned it's noisy! I appreciate the local bars and restaurants don't want leaves all over so they employ guys with big leaf blowing machines to remove them, but they come around at 5am and it makes the most horrendous noise!! Woke us up all 3 mornings & I wear ear plugs. Self park don't bother with the Valet parking as the multi storey is right next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom RTP, NC

Best hotel not on the beach in FL

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location, price, quality, amenities, pool.
Cons: Karaoke singer near the front door was too loud most of the time.
Location: There are art shops, clothing shops, real estate offices and awesome restaurants and bars right outside the front door or water taxi to more hot spots
We've been here several times. It's our favorite hotel that's not on the beach. You can't get a better location in Ft. Lauderdale. It's in the heart of the haute couture shopping and dining district. It's near a stop for the water taxi that can take you to key areas along the waterway and harbors. There's the original hotel section with comfortable quiet rooms and the newer towers with larger rooms and great views over the city and river. The pool looks over the river and you can watch yachts slip by while sipping cold drinks. The staff is knowledgeable and always helpful. The hotel is always clean. The restaurants are very good, as they have to be considering the awesome restaurants in the immediate vicinity. They have a southwest breakfast wrap that is fantastic. If staying on the beach is not critical, this is the best hotel in Ft. Lauderdale.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ocala, FL

Don't stay in the older section of the hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Location and setting
Cons: Lobby areas should be air conditioned better during the hot months. Rooms in the older section of the hotel are small, dingy and lacking in amenities
Location: Right on Las Olas Boulevard so there is a lot of shopping and dining that you can walk to from the hotel. New River Park is beautiful
The tower rooms are very nice and for the most part, the staff are very polite and helpful. Whatever you do, though, DO NOT book or allow yourself to be given a room in the older section of the hotel. Although our room had been renovated, it was severely lacking in amenities, from no full length mirror to no wall outlet near a flat surface so we could charge our phones (although other charging options were available for those who routinely carry USB charging cables, etc -- something we had not been warned about beforehand), freezing A/C that could not be changed despite a wall thermostat and controls on the unit itself, no drinking glasses and a bathroom devoid of room for toiletries/makeup and no overhead lighting in the dingy bedroom area. The desk clerk on duty was less than helpful and said she couldn't move us because we had booked through a third party service and there was no GM on duty that day or the next day. We eventually got a call back from the GM, who offered us 50% off our next stay. Frankly we should have been credited at least a goodly part of our room fee and not held hostage by having to come back again to "claim" our discount. This was the first time we ever had a problem at this hotel. Usually it is very good. As long as you stay in the Tower and don't have any problems, you will probably have a nice stay. The setting on the New River in Ft. Lauderdale is very nice and the location excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Everything about our overnight, from the room to the staff, surpassed my expectations. I'd forgotten how nice it was to actually have a glass glass. We were in the old part of the hotel, which has been totally updated. I actually prefer it to the newer tower. And being right on Las Olas is an added plus. Try it.