Ratings based on 938 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Perfect view from the room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Close to the beach, state park, water taxi station. A bit far away from boardwalk and nice restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Personal great the only the valet i think is over price the other on that everything it was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East Coast

As Close to a Private Resort as you can get!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Staff is very attentive. We only went to one of the restaurants and it was nice for breakfast and lunch.
Cons: If I had to think of something, maybe a free shuttle that could take you over to the mall area. That would be a nice added touch.
Location: The Galleria Mall is very close. There are a number of other items to do in and around Ft. Lauderdale for a fee.
We have stayed here 2 years in a row for our wedding anniversary. The rooms are very comfortable and this hotel is a very family friendly place and there are not a lot of young people that are partying and hanging at the bar. The best part about this hotel is that it is right across the street from the beach. It is on a long strip of beach but the awesome thing is that the other hotels are not very close so for the most part the people that are on the beach are people that stay at this hotel. There is a buffer on both sides between the Sonesta and the other hotels so it is as close as you can get to being at a private resort. One tip I would tell you is to bring your own beach umbrella if you can. There are a number of stores right on the beach that will rent umbrellas and chairs to you for a price but their products are total crap. We learned our lesson the first year and the second year we brought our own umbrella that we got from Sports Authority and checked it as luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel!!!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
My husband, my 11 year old son and I really enjoyed the hotel. We stayed in the room on the 12th floor, one floor down from the penthouse. The view from the room was astonishing!! When we checked in, the front desk asked if we are okay with the room because it might be noisy from the wedding party in the penthouse that day. We did not hear the noise much. Located in the front of ocean, next to the park and some restaurants / ice cream shop. We went to the 7 Eleven near by a lot. We used to live in Ft Lauderdale and this is our first visit since 15 years ago. We really enjoyed our visit, and this hotel made our visit more special!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indy

Great hotel even better ocean views

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We certainly would return. The ocean view king room had amazing views and it was amazing waking up to such a sunrise. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Room was comfortable and a great value. The ASIA sushi restaurant was also a nice stop for us. So then the not so greats were parking- we went with valet ($28 tax )a day and the pool was small but still had a nice atmosphere. For the price we paid I enjoyed the hotel enough to share with others our experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Return again and again...

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff who remember us - good food and great location.
Cons: Sound from corridors is pretty loud.
Location: We use the hotel when we come to shop from the Bahamas. It is handy for Ikea and close to the shippers Seacor...
We have stayed in this hotel at least 8 times but this is the first time Sonesta took it over. It is still a charming friendly and stylish place to stay. We keep on coming back so it must be good !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Business stay

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Bistro food, hotel bar, room cleanliness, and ocean view from room.
Cons: Elevator speed. Cool down the pool during the summer months. Seating priority at the bistro was quite odd.
Location: Beach is across the street
Quick in, quick out trip for me. Hotel was right across from the beach. Didn't use the pool, but it isn't large by any means and should also be cooled during the summer as it felt too warm to be refreshing. Bar staff was great. Bistro food was excellent - great chef. Also close to Galleria Mall and other great restaurants. Nice room, very clean - get an ocean view room if you stay here, the view is great to wake up to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, near the beach with a wonder beach.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The view, cleanliness, and hospitality.
Cons: Nothing really, I had a great visit.
Location: The beach was across the street. Plenty of interesting places to eat within walking distance.
The staff was wonderful. Every thing was great. I like to go to different hotels for vacations, but this is one that I would like to return to more than once. My wife and I went on our 26 wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from switzerland

review of the staff

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: the rooms view , clean
Cons: Housekeeping AND their supervisor
Location: cross the street you´ll be at the beach, would be better if you have a rented car to wonder around, go to outlet mall or wonder around.
the lobby, restaurant and valet parking staff were really nice and helpful but the housekeeping ruins everything.In my daughter´s room they came 3 times in half an hour (they want to clean the room NOW, if you say later they stand outside the room give you 10 minutes and nock again ), their supervisor opened the door on my kids without even nocking on the door , lucky that my daughter had the door lock on and that was 7 a.m (apparently she wanted to check if the housekeepers clean the room well or not, but obviously she didn´t even know this room was occupied ). as for me, they nocked and opened the door in the same time... A/C very loud wakes you up every 10 minutes as it stops and starts again. never take the room next to elevator, very noisy everyone start running around 6 am.. having said that, the building is really clean, nicely decorated and the windows have a lovely view on the ocean.you just cross the street and you´re on the beach. If i had to go the same area again i would personally not take the same hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Close to the beach, well priced

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: beach
Great staff, good location, although not right in the middle of the action, but close. Good value, nice little pool bar.