Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NV

Peaceful hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Fans in room need to have option to turn on only the fan without the light
Location: Good restaurants, the hotel has an excellent map on the back of their policies to show locations of everything from CVS to water taxi, trolley , etc.
Quite atmosphere in an excellent location. A 2 minute walk to beach, they provide chairs and beach towels, a big plus. Good restaurants near and water taxi easily accessible. Staff friendly and very helpful with anything you may need. Courtyard is peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Perfect gem

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Beautiful hotel right next to beach. Al and Regina were winderful, they always were ready to help with anything I need. I will def be returning to this hotel. Quiet , clean with an amazing staff and prices are affordable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Lovely small hotel, great location

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Location; cleanliness; personal service
Cons: Noisy aircon; no plugs in wash bowl or bath tub.
Location: Very close to beach and Intercoastal
A perfect base from which to explore Ft Lauderdale or to recover from a cruise. Very close to beaches and restaurants (the very popular Casablanca is less than 100 yards away on the same street). Walking distance to shops and boat trips or water taxi. Extremely helpful owner, Chris, gave us a room even though we arrived well ahead of normal check-in time, then stored our luggage and gave us a room to change, ahead of of an evening flight. Breakfast in the courtyard was ideal. Wi-fi available there but hit & miss in the room. Very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Nice. Close to beach.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
This Hotel was nice, but small room. We only had three plug- ins in the whole room,with one being in the bath.Also,I am a very early riser and found it disturbing not to be able to get a cup of coffee until 8:00. Another thing would be nice is to have a microwave SOMEWHERE..Maybe a pop machine available SD well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virginia

It's the STAFF that make the experience

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Personal service, boutique feel, competitively priced for the accommodations.
Cons: Newer AC? Quieter? And an ice machine!
Lovely older property that is in excellent condition. Renovations are obvious, but some things like the in-wall air conditioners you just cannot 'update.' The property managers live on premise, and they are the loveliest couple. Regina and Al accommodated our requests, and even volunteered an umbrella when we needed to go out in the pouring rain (we left home in a snow storm, an umbrella was not in our baggage :-) ) Location is A+ - right next to the Ritz, convenient to all the beach front shopping, restaurants, etc. The property caters to adults - we were told under 25 don't rent a room there! We will stay again when we cruise next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NAPLES, FLA.

GET AWAY WEEKEND

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT! GREAT BREAKFAST TOO.
Cons: THE ROOM COULD HAVE USED A CHIC 10X12 RUG.
Location: THE BEACH WAS AT THE WND OF OUR DRIVE. COCKTAILS AT THE FAMOUS VINTAGE MAI TAI TIKI JOINT CIRCA 1956 WAS A HOOT. SO COOL...
THIS VINTAGE HOTEL WAS PERFECT! WE WERE TRAVELING FROM PALM BEACH TO MIAMI, AND THE DRIFT IN FT.LAUDERDALE HIT THE SPOT. SUPER COOL KING ROOM ON THE 2ND FLOOR, A MINI APT. COOL & CLEAN. REGINNA HELPED US WITH CHECK IN, AFTER FRESHING UP WE HEADED OUT TO DINNER AT OUTBACK, AND A QUICK DRIVE DOWN LOS OLIS BLVD, COCKTAILS AT THE MAI TAI WAS A TIKI TREAT. CLICKED ON THE WALL AIR CON. AND DRIFTED AWAY ON THE HUGE KING BED. WAIKING REFRESHED SUNDAY A.M. WE STROLLED ON THE BEACH, THEN DINED IN THE COURTYARD WITH A BREAKFAST OF COFFEE,JUICES, YOGURT, DANISH, & CEREAL. NO RUSH HERE, CHATTING WITH FELLOW TRAVELERS WHO ALSO FOUND THIS HIDE-A-WAY! THE DRIFT FEELS LIKE A TRUE VINTAGE HOTEL FROM 1940, BUT STOCKED WITH A MODERN VIBE. WE WILL MAKE THIS OUR HOTEL AGAIN, ON OUR NEXT VISIT TO LAUDERDALE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Hotel close to Beach and pre-cruise shopping

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The charm of a smaller, boutique hotel. Just what we expected and wanted!
Location: near the beach, shopping, restaurants. water trolley, lovely beach promenade, International Swimming Hall of Fame.So much more!
We relaxed here for two nights whilst getting ready to cruise. Small boutique hotel-just far enough from main strip to be quiet, but close enough to walk to beach, restaurants and shopping. Great to purchase those items you need but can't carry on the plane. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was adequate with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, coffee and tea. Just right for us. We will definitely use again when in Ft Lauderdale. Thanks Al!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My new favorite hotel in Ft Lauderdale

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Great staff!
Cons: WiFi does not work in the guest rooms only in the courtyard
Everything from the warm welcome from the owners to the super clean and inviting rooms to the free daily breakfast mad you feel at home. This is going to be my go-to hotel frm now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Nice small hotel. Very clean and quaint!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
This Hotel is a gem in the middle of a busy area. Very relaxing. A very short walk to the beach. Clean and personable. Unique!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Perfect place and nicest staff

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: loved it
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect, close to the beach, and main attractions
I NEVER write reviews because I am too lazy, but this time I really have to. The bottom line: go to this Drift, you will not regret, in particular if you are a couple and in love :) The hotel is great, and the location perfect, but the owners and staff are those making the place so unique. They were extremely nice and eager to help with everything and made us feel so comfortable. We are very strict VEGANS and they researched places for us, we wanted a lighter to light candles, and the owner drove at 10pm to the hotel (they don't live there) to assist us. Apparently, it's a fire hazard so we could not do it, but we still appreciated him coming all the way. We loved everything about this place and hope to return in the future.